Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

Welcome to the Percussion Page

For more information, please see the​ Department of Music home page.

Databases

Classical Music Library

Classical Music Library is an ever-growing database of classical music recordings. The collection includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from medieval times to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.

[More details]
Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location.

[More details]
Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 87,860 CDs with more than 1,247,500 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CD-length recordings are added to the library every month.

[More details]
Naxos Music Library Jazz

Naxos Music Library Jazz [NMLJ] is one of the most comprehensive collections of jazz music available online. It offers over 65,000 tracks of jazz from more than 7,000 albums. Over 32,000 jazz artists are represented. The recordings in Naxos Music Library Jazz come from over 200 labels, and include the catalogue of Blue Note Records, Warner Jazz, EMI, Fantasy and others.

[More details]

Websites

Percussion Reference Guide

Reference guide with information on resources, call numbers, subject headings, and websites related to percussion.

[More details]
Percussive Arts Society

The Percussive Arts Society offers students, teachers and professionals many valuable learning tools to succeed. PAS provides a number of print and online resources that can be used in lessons or that can be incorporated into your daily practice routine.

[More details]
The Percussive Arts Society offers students, teachers and professionals many valuable learning tools to succeed. PAS provides a number of print and online resources that can be used in lessons or that can be incorporated into your daily practice routine.
Percussion - Grove Music Online

An article on percussion found in Groves.

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Beth
Thompson
Digital Formats and Metadata Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL1023D

Music Subject Librarian

Using the Library Catalog

Below are general call number ranges for Shelf Browsing:

M146 Solo drum [kettledrum (timpani), side drum etc.]
M147 Solo bells, glockenspiel, etc.
M175 Solo other [xylophone, marimba, vibraphone, etc.]
M284-M285 One percussion instrument with piano
M298 Duets which may include one or more percussion instruments
M1038 Concertos with orchestra
M1039 Concertos with orchestra (arranged)
M1138 Concertos with string orchestra
M1139 Concertos with string orchestra (arranged)
ML1030 Books about percussion
MT655-MT662 Studies and methods

Need Help?

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.