Philosophy

Looking for articles on a topic related to Philosophy? Search in the recommended databases listed below.

NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Department Website

UNCW Department of Philosophy and Religion

Website for the Philosophy and Religion department at UNCW

[More details]

Search the Library Catalog

Books and print materials such as government documents can be found using the Library Catalog.

Search by:

Open Access Repositories

The resources below are freely available databases that may include a variety of material: preprint (draft or preliminary) versions of articles, conference papers and/or posters, book chapters, white papers, and more. These repositories help speed up dissemination and enhance discoverability and access to early-stage scholarship across disciplines. 

It is important to note that these materials have likely not been edited or benefited from the pivotal role of peer-review, which validates and improves the quality of final published journal articles.

CORE: Open Access for the Humanities

Part of the Modern Language Association's Humanities Commons, CORE hosts articles, monographs, course materials, white papers, conference papers, code, and digital projects for and by humanities scholars and practitioners.

[More details]
MindRxiv

An open archive for research on mind and contemplative practices, from anthropology to medicine to religion to philosophy.

[More details]
Philosophy Research Network (PRN)

An open archive of early-stage academic papers in the traditional areas of philosophy, from ethics and metaphysics, to philosophy of science and art, to epistemology and ontology, and more. 

[More details]

Recommended Databases

PhilPapers with Full Text

Maintained and operated by the Center for Digital Philosophy and the Philosophy Documentation Center. It features full text access to more than 100 scholarly journals, series, and conference proceedings in the humanities and social sciences.  

[More details]
Philosopher's Index

The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy.

[More details]
Arts and Humanities Citation Index

Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts, creative writing, English, humanities, foreign languages and literatures, music, philosophy, religion, and theatre. Including many art and art history articles.

[More details]
Cambridge Core

Cambridge Core is the Cambridge University Press’s online collection of journals and books across the computer sciences, sciences, social sciences and humanities.  

[More details]
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective

Offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences—including anthropology, archaeology, art, art history, family studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, law, music, performing arts, theatre and much more.

[More details]
Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue. Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere.

[More details]
International Medieval Bibliography

International Medieval Bibliography is a multidisciplinary bibliographic database covering Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East from AD 300-1500. It aims to provide a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) published worldwide in over 35 different languages.

[More details]
JSTOR

Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences.

[More details]
Loeb Classical Library

More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease. An interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture.

[More details]
Wiley Online Library

A multidisciplinary collection of academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, social work, sociology, English, computer sciences, creative writing, engineering, psychology, law and criminology, life sciences, and business. UNCW has access to 1,600+ journals (coverage dates vary) and 21,000+ online books. 

[More details]

Eva Sclippa

Eva Sclippa

Portrait of Eva Sclippa
Eva
Sclippa
Humanities Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL1041

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Interlibrary Loan

If we do not have the full-text of the articles, or a book you need, fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form and request it. This is a free service for students, faculty, and staff. 

ILL page: lib.uncw.edu/ill

Writing Help

Citation and Bibliography Help

Vetted & reliable tools collected by Randall Library.

[More details]
Writing Services

The Writing Center in the University Learning Center is located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).

[More details]
Read&Write

Free to UNCW faculty, staff, and students, Read&Write is "a flexible literacy software solution that can help readers and writers...access support tools needed to reach their potential, build confidence and independence and succeed."

[More details]