Sources for Statistics and Data

CDC Healthy Schools

Division of the CDC that aims to reduce chronic disease and improve health and wellness education in children.

[More details]
CDC Division of Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Obesity - Data and Statistics

Ongoing systematic collection, analysis, and interpretation of outcome-specific data for use in planning, interpretation, and evaluation of public health practice.

[More details]
President's Council on Fitness, Sports, and Nutrition - Facts & Statistics

Facts & statistics on physical activity, nutrition, and obesity.

[More details]
North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics

The North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics is responsible for data collection, health-related research, production of reports and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics.

[More details]
Research at Health and Human Services Operating Divisions

Tools and data from the Health and Human Services Operating Divisions for scientists, researchers, and the general public.

[More details]

Choosing Credible Resources for Research

ProQuest Search Widget and Recommended Databases

SPORTDiscus with Full Text

International citations on exercise, physiology, physical education and health, parks and recreation, recreation therapy, sports and sports medicine.

[More details]
ERIC (via ProQuest)

The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to augment American education by increasing and facilitating the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.

[More details]
Health & Medical Collection

This database offers comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more. The journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others. Provides in-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications with almost 1,300 available in full text and of these, over 900 include MEDLINE indexing. Includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to medical research.

[More details]
Health and Wellness (Gale)

Gale Health and Wellness offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.

[More details]
Physical Therapy (Gale OneFile)

Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine covers the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.

[More details]

Additional Databases

ScienceDirect

Elsevier Journal collection covering the sciences, business, child development, computer science, clinical research, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science, physical education and health, psychology, social work, sociology, and tourism.

[More details]
APA PsycINFO

This database is the American Psychological Association (APA)'s renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed.

[More details]
Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, including articles, papers, theses, books, and reports. How to access full text

[More details]
Visible Body Physiology Animations

A comprehensive collection of nearly 70 high quality videos that illustrate and animate the core physiological processes of the human body.

[More details]
Visible Body Muscle Premium

Allows users to learn about muscles, their attachments, and their actions. Includes 3D versions of 20+ common pathologies, including sciatica, rotator cuff tear, shin splints, and more.

[More details]

Contact Your Librarian

Portrait of Meghan Wanucha Smith
Meghan
Wanucha Smith
Health and Human Services Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2053

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

NOT PUBLISHED