Randall Library Home

Music Indexes and Bibliographies

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967 to Present only)

RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and subject indexing. Types of publications and media covered by RILM include: collections of essays, conference proceedings, critical editions of music, digital media, dissertations, journal articles, monographs, online resources, reference materials, reviews, technical drawings of instruments. Sound recordings and motion pictures that present the results of scholarly research or fieldwork are also included.

[More details]
RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. There are currently over 600,000 records in RILM on traditional music, popular music, and classical music.
Music Index

Featuring digitized content from 1970 to the present, the Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals. It also provides selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.

[More details]
A subject-author index to music periodical literature. This database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.

Welcome to the Piano Page

Piano Keyboard

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These resources are a great place to start your research. You'll find information about the people, places, events and concepts that have shaped piano music.

Article Databases

Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location.

[More details]
Contains Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. Use the search box on this page for faster searching.
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
Archive of selected scholarly journals including over 80 in music.

Where to look in the library

Below are general call number ranges for Shelf Browsing.
M20- M39         Piano solo
M21                   Collections - containing works of two or more composers
M22                   Collections - containing works of one composer
M23                   Sonatas
M24                   Suites and cyclical works
M27                   Theme and variations
M200-M212       Piano, four hands
M213                 Piano, five, six, eight, etc., hands
M214-M215      Two pianos, two performers
M217-M285       Piano and one other instrument
M310-M344       Piano and two other instruments
M410-M449       Piano and three through six other instruments 
M1010                Concertos with orchestra
M1011                Concertos with orchestra (arranged)
M1110                Concertos with string orchestra
M1111                Concertos with string orchestra (arranged)
MT220-MT255   Studies and methods (includes etudes)
MT745-MT758   Instruction and study – Juvenile

Video Subscriptions

Films on Demand

This collection provides over 23,000 high quality streaming videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. The videos include BBC documentaries, Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries plus interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.

[More details]
The Music and Dance Video Collection found in the Films On Demand database, contains over 660 titles and included popular music, music history and world music.
Filmakers Library Online

An essential film studies database, Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.

[More details]
A collection of documentaries of many subjects including music, composers, musicians and the performing arts.

Need Help?

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

Contact Librarian

Beth
Thompson
Digital Formats and Metadata Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL1023D

Music Subject Librarian

Oxford Music Online




Oxford Music Online 

Audio Subscriptions

Classical Music Library

Classical Music Library is an ever-growing database of classical music recordings. The collection includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from medieval times to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.

[More details]
Classical Music Library includes recordings from the world's greatest labels. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 87,860 CDs with more than 1,247,500 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CD-length recordings are added to the library every month.

[More details]
Naxos Music Library is the world´s largest online classical music library.
Naxos Music Library Jazz

Naxos Music Library Jazz [NMLJ] is one of the most comprehensive collections of jazz music available online. It offers over 65,000 tracks of jazz from more than 7,000 albums. Over 32,000 jazz artists are represented. The recordings in Naxos Music Library Jazz come from over 200 labels, and include the catalogue of Blue Note Records, Warner Jazz, EMI, Fantasy and others.

[More details]
Naxos Music Library Jazz [NMLJ] is one of the most comprehensive collections of jazz music available online. It offers over 65,000 tracks of jazz from more than 7,000 albums. Over 32,000 jazz artists are represented.

Streamable Performances

St. Paul Chamber Orchestra

Library of full-length performances for free online streaming.

[More details]
Library of full-length performances for free online streaming.
BSO (Boston Symphony Orchestra) Media Center

Free streamable concert by the Boston Symphony Orchestra.

[More details]
Free streamable concert by the Boston Symphony Orchestra.
San Francisco Symphony

Videos, TV broadcasts, podcasts and program notes from the San Francisco Symphony are just some of the features you can find on this website.

[More details]
Videos, TV broadcasts, podcasts and program notes from the San Francisco Symphony.
PBS/Great Performances

Great Performances brings the best in the performing arts from across America and around the world to a US television audience. It presents a diverse programming portfolio of classical music, opera, popular song, musical theater, dance, drama, and performance documentaries.

[More details]
Presents a diverse programming portfolio of classical music, opera, popular song, musical theater, dance, drama, and performance documentaries.
Medici.tv

Live and archived performances, documentaries and artists profiles.

[More details]
Live and archived performances, documentaries and artists profiles.
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: