Summary

This guide identifies collections that contain political and related civics material. These represent politicians at the local, state, and federal levels, as well as personal and organizational papers documenting political activity or events. Content includes presidential campaigns and elections, voting initiatives, legislation and its impacts, key communications, and foreign propaganda. A significant number are specific to Southeast North Carolina and the state at large, though they also contain national and international sources.

NOT PUBLISHED

Manuscript Collections - North Carolina

MS 005 Gore Cooper Family Papers

This collection contains photocopies of some of William Bryant Cooper’s public papers. Included is a statement of his campaign expenses in 1920 and a letter and accompanying voucher for $6.00 for Cooper’s last day of service as President of the North Carolina State Senate Session of 1925. Cooper, a Democrat from New Hanover County, served as Lieutenant Governor of North Carolina from 1921-1925. As such, he presided over the State Senate for the two regular and two special sessions.

[More details]
MS 033 John J. Burney, Jr. Legislative Papers

This collections contains the legislative papers of North Carolina State Senator John J. Burney, Jr. Senator Burney represented New Hanover County from 1966-1972. The legislative papers consist primarily of correspondence, bills, publications, printed materials and newspaper clippings, covering a broad spectrum of social, economic and political issues during his time in office. Topics include taxation, environmentalism, transportation and infrastructure, Wilmington College (now UNCW), and water resources.

[More details]
MS 035 Johnston Avery and Virginia Hall Avery Private Papers

The bulk of this collection consists of correspondence written or received by Johnston Avery, including holograph, typewritten and typewritten carbon copy letters. Important correspondents include William V.S. Tubman, President of Liberia from 1944 to 1971, and other Liberian government officials; Robert R. Reynolds, U.S. Senator from North Carolina from 1933 to 1945; J.C.B. Ehringhaus, North Carolina governor from 1933 to 1937; and various businessmen involved in the LAMCO Joint Venture.

[More details]
MS 041 Governor John W. Ellis Proclamation

A copy of a rare broadside calling the North Carolina legislature into special session was issued by Gov. John W. Ellis on April 17, 1861. The session was called as a result of Abraham Lincoln's call to arms "for the invasion of the peaceful homes of the South....." Only one original is known to exist (according to the donor) from which this copy was made.

[More details]
MS 045 Thomas E. Cooper Family Papers

The collection consists of a studio portrait of Thomas E. Cooper as a young man, two printed items, and nineteen items of correspondence. The early handwritten letters, from 1905 to 1907, are primarily from Cooper [TEC] to Jane Collins [JCC], written while Cooper was working at the bank in Mullins, South Carolina. Later letters from 1925 are typewritten to his wife while Cooper was serving time in the Federal Penitentiary in Atlanta, Georgia.

[More details]
MS 080 Abstract of Votes Collection

This collection contains two copies of "Abstract of Votes Cast At An Election Held For Governor And State Officers, On Tuesday, November 2, 1880, In The State Of North Carolina". The reverse side of the abstracts contain information regarding the "Comparative Vote of North Carolina for 1876 and 1889. Including the Vote for Members of Congress at the Late Election". The copies were certified by the Board of State Canvassers on November 27, 1880.

[More details]
MS 088 A Comparative Statement of Expenditures

This collection contains a published statement that compares expenditures in North Carolina under Republican and Democratic control for each Fiscal Year beginning 1868, ending Sept. 30, 1880.

[More details]
MS 109 The Cantwell Collection

The collection includes remarks of Alton A. Lennon of North Carolina in the U.S. Senate, requesting approval for an article from The Star News to be reprinted in The Congressional Record, Saturday, August 7, 1954. The article relates the origin of a salute to our flag with hand over heart first used by Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach resident Elizabeth Cantwell. Mrs. Cantwell describes how this idea germinated and its effect on others. Also included is a brief history of her husband's career as a Naval Aviator during two wars.

[More details]
MS 153 B. D. Schwartz Scrapbooks

The collection consists of twenty scrapbook albums containing letters, documents, news articles, awards, photos, advertisements, and brochures spanning sixty-seven years. Mr. Schwartz held many local and state offices, including State Representative, State Senator, and Mayor of Wilmington. He was involved in all facets of life in New Hanover County, donating his time to numerous philanthropic and educational organizations, including as Trustee of University of North Carolina at Wilmington. Schwartz Hall, a dormitory on UNCW's campus, was a gift of B.D. and Sylvia Wolk Schwartz.

[More details]
MS 187 Mayor Horace Whitley Collection

This collection consists of photocopies of newspaper articles, letters, certificates, photographs, and other memorabilia between 1965 - 1999 related to Horace Whitley's tenure as the mayor of Whiteville, NC.

[More details]
MS 313 North Carolina Coastal Federation Papers

The bulk of North Carolina Coastal Federation records document the activities of the organization from its formation in 1982 through 2004, reflecting the stewardship of the organization's successive presidents and the work of its staff and volunteers. The records chronicle the transformation of the North Carolina Coastal Federation from a small group concerned with coastal issues to an active, influential participant in North Carolina coastal management.

[More details]
MS 361 Lena Ritter Papers

This collection contains the work of North Carolina shell fisher turned environmental activist, Lena Ritter. Along with studies, court records that document Ritter and company’s disputes with the development firms--specifically the Onslow County Board of Commissioners, and her rewards and achievements, this collection also includes correspondence between Lena Ritter and her associates. Some of the letters also include thank you notes that were written to Mrs. Ritter from school children, which includes Duke Action: A Science Camp for Young Women.

[More details]

Manuscript Collections - Southeast North Carolina

MS 005 Gore Cooper Family Papers

This collection contains photocopies of some of William Bryant Cooper’s public papers. Included is a statement of his campaign expenses in 1920 and a letter and accompanying voucher for $6.00 for Cooper’s last day of service as President of the North Carolina State Senate Session of 1925. Cooper, a Democrat from New Hanover County, served as Lieutenant Governor of North Carolina from 1921-1925. As such, he presided over the State Senate for the two regular and two special sessions.

[More details]
MS 006 Stephen Graham Presidential Pardon

On August 21, 1865, President Andrew Johnson pardoned Stephen Graham of Duplin County, North Carolina, for “taking part in the late rebellion against the Government of the United States…” Signed in Washington D.C., by Johnson and his Acting Secretary of State, it was a “full pardon and amnesty for all offenses by him committed, arising from participation, direct or implied, in the said rebellion.”

[More details]
MS 009 Cronly Family Papers

These papers contain personal correspondence between Cronly family members and letters and petitions directed to Wilmington and New Hanover County government officials. This personal correspondence falls between the years 1888 and 1907. The letters and petitions to area officials address two concerns: first, the need for reopening a county road, and second, the proposed use of property once used as the State Guard campground. A notebook is also included in this collection, containing an unfinished story with a Civil War setting.

[More details]
MS 031 Alton A. Lennon Congressional Papers

This collection contains the papers of Congressman Alton Lennon during his tenure as U.S. Representative for North Carolina's 7th congressional district from 1957-1972. Included in the collection is correspondence, reports, and other documents related to legislation, district affairs, and politics during the time. Also included are three large scrapbooks documenting news coverage from Congressman Lennon's career and campaigns.

[More details]
MS 033 John J. Burney, Jr. Legislative Papers

This collections contains the legislative papers of North Carolina State Senator John J. Burney, Jr. Senator Burney represented New Hanover County from 1966-1972. The legislative papers consist primarily of correspondence, bills, publications, printed materials and newspaper clippings, covering a broad spectrum of social, economic and political issues during his time in office. Topics include taxation, environmentalism, transportation and infrastructure, Wilmington College (now UNCW), and water resources.

[More details]
MS 046 Dr. Hubert A Eaton, Sr. Papers

This extensive collection includes the original materials and photocopies of the legal actions instituted by Dr. Eaton and his fellow plaintiffs to compel the integration of the fundamental institutions of New Hanover County--the public schools and the hospital--in the 1960s and 1970s. Moreover, the collection also reflects the broad spectrum of Dr. Eaton's interests and activities which included medical and public health issues, education, civil rights and athletics.

[More details]
MS 077 J.E.L. Wade Political Statement

This unpublished political statement by James E.L. Wade in May, 1967 to the New Hanover County Women League of Voters covers a wide spectrum of programs he was involved with on both a local level and as a member of the General Assembly of North Carolina. Mr. Wade outlines his vision for the future of a greater Wilmington, covering improvements in all major areas from roads to parks and waterfront re-development, a convention center, preservation, recreation, city drainage, a bridge over the Cape Fear River, and the revitalization of Downtown.

[More details]
MS 106 Wallace C. Murchison Papers

The Wallace C. Murchison Papers contain personal correspdonce, financial documents, memos and programs, his political work with Senator Alton Lennon and New Hanover County polling sites, publications and correspondence regarding the Diocese of Eastern Carolina, wills and financial documents of the Diocese, publications on housing from the government and private companies, Murchison's home floor plans, and housing advertisements and handwritten specifications for additions.

[More details]
MS 108 Wilmington Movement 1971

Twenty original articles from the Wilmington Star News chronicling the events leading to and during the racial unrest centering around the three local high schools and the recent integration. Beginning about mid December 1970, and continuing throughout most of 1971, Wilmington became a national focal point of violence, burnings, looting, and magnet for outside organizers of boycotts, marches and demonstrations. Ten men and women were ultimately arrested and wrongly convincted of arson and conspiracy during the events that occurred at the time.

[More details]
MS 109 The Cantwell Collection

The collection includes remarks of Alton A. Lennon of North Carolina in the U.S. Senate, requesting approval for an article from The Star News to be reprinted in The Congressional Record, Saturday, August 7, 1954. The article relates the origin of a salute to our flag with hand over heart first used by Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach resident Elizabeth Cantwell. Mrs. Cantwell describes how this idea germinated and its effect on others. Also included is a brief history of her husband's career as a Naval Aviator during two wars.

[More details]
MS 128 Dr. William Sisson Jr. Papers

This collection contains official publications dealing with a variety of New Hanover County isssues such as housing, land use, waste management, transportation, population, public health, and the environment including groundwater and soil and drainage surveys. The collection also includes maps, correspondence dealing with proposed changes in Highway 421, and memoranda to the County Commission.

[More details]
MS 130 A Communication by Mrs. Roger Moore

In her four page letter, which appeared to be directed to the local newspaper, the Wilmington Messenger, Mrs. Roger Moore took issue with an earlier story in the Elm City Mirror which had claimed that the leader of the "revolution of 1898 in Wilmington" was Colonel Alfred M. Waddell (1834-1912). According to Moore, the leaders were in fact her husband, Colonel Roger Moore and Doctor J. E. Matthews, and that Waddell was not informed of the movement's plans until after his election as Mayor.

[More details]
MS 143 Don Betz Collection

This collection features papers, photographs, and memorabillia belonging to Don Betz, who served as mayor of Wilmington, North Carolina from 1987 to 1997. Betz's appointment books and correspondence from throughout his tenure, as both a city council member and later mayor, depict both his day-to-day duties and important local issues he discussed with officials and legislators at the state and national level.

[More details]
MS 153 B. D. Schwartz Scrapbooks

The collection consists of twenty scrapbook albums containing letters, documents, news articles, awards, photos, advertisements, and brochures spanning sixty-seven years. Mr. Schwartz held many local and state offices, including State Representative, State Senator, and Mayor of Wilmington. He was involved in all facets of life in New Hanover County, donating his time to numerous philanthropic and educational organizations, including as Trustee of University of North Carolina at Wilmington. Schwartz Hall, a dormitory on UNCW's campus, was a gift of B.D. and Sylvia Wolk Schwartz.

[More details]
MS 167 Dr. Heyward C. Bellamy Collection

The Dr. Heyward C. Bellamy Collection contains court documents and supporting exhibit materials outlining the school integration law suit, Carolyn Eaton, et al v New Hanover County Board of Education. In addition to the original Eaton case, this collection contains documents related to the restraining order the New Hanover County School Board filed against individuals who would later be implicated in the 1971 riots as part of the Wilmington Ten. This case is titled, Carolyn Eaton, et al v New Hanover County Board of Education v Ben Chavis, et al.

[More details]
MS 181 Hannah Soloman Block Collection

This collection consists of letters, cards, invitations, programs, news clippings and full length newspapers, magazines, postcards, notes, and a manuscript. Three albums of photos, political and pageant buttons, letters, and awards are included in these albums. Also included are WWII-era items such as Civil Defense ID cards, Red Cross membership materials, ration books for food and gasoline, V-mail, and information on USO dances.

[More details]
MS 183 Dorothy Buckeridge Nesbitt Papers

Materials in this collection focus on Dorothy Nesbitt's service as a student, teacher, and advocate for dance and the arts, both in the Wilmington, North Carolina area and internationally, from the 1960s to the 1990s. Papers and photographs showcasing her passion for ballet and modern dance include workshop information, brochures, performance highlights, correspondence, reports, newspaper clippings, articles, and scrapbook pages. Her educational material feature content on racial integration in the classroom, lectures, lesson plans, and essays.

[More details]
MS 264 Cyrus Hogue, Jr. Papers

This collection contains correspondence and other documents associated with Cyrus Hogue's involvement in advocating for a new bridge crossing over the Cape Fear River in Wilmington. After decades of campaigning by local citizens, the Wilmington bridge project finally came to fruition with the completion of the Cape Fear Memorial Bridge in 1969. Hogue, a local Wilmington lawyer and Chairman of the Democratic Party, was instrumental in working the State Highway Commission and Governor Terry Sanford to move the project forward.

[More details]
MS 338 Mike McIntyre Congressional Collection

Congressman Mike McIntyre served as the Representative for North Carolina's 7th Congressional district from 1997 to 2015. McIntyre's Congressional collection consists of papers and memorabilia accrued during his time in office. Materials in this collection cover a wide range of subject areas pertinent to North Carolina’s 7th district and McIntyre’s interactions as a Congressman including but not limited to agriculture, coastal issues, economic development, health care, military and veterans’ affairs, senior citizens affairs and U.S. Presidents.

[More details]
MS 347 WWAY Video News Archive

This WWAY Video News Archive contains approximately 1,744 U-matic tapes of news and locally produced footage from 1982-1999, approximately 980 DVC-Pro tapes of news and locally produced footage from 1999-2007, and approximately 3300 DVDs starting in 2007. WWAY is an ABC/CBS/CW-affiliated television station licensed to Wilmington, North Carolina, serving the Cape Fear region. Contact the Special Collections Librarian for access to this collection.

[More details]
MS 351 League of Women Voters of the Lower Cape Fear Records

This collections contains the records of the League of Women Voters of Lower Cape Fear from the early 1960s through present day, including meeting minutes, member rosters, informative guides, voter information, budget statements, publicity materials, and other business relevant to the every day operation of the organization. Based in Southeast North Carolina, of particular interest may be correspondence with government officials both in support of and in opposition to various existing and proposed legislation, as well as files specific to former League President, Jana Albritton.

[More details]
MS 361 Lena Ritter Papers

This collection contains the work of North Carolina shell fisher turned environmental activist, Lena Ritter. Along with studies, court records that document Ritter and company’s disputes with the development firms--specifically the Onslow County Board of Commissioners, and her rewards and achievements, this collection also includes correspondence between Lena Ritter and her associates. Some of the letters also include thank you notes that were written to Mrs. Ritter from school children, which includes Duke Action: A Science Camp for Young Women.

[More details]

Manuscript Collections - Federal

MS 006 Stephen Graham Presidential Pardon

On August 21, 1865, President Andrew Johnson pardoned Stephen Graham of Duplin County, North Carolina, for “taking part in the late rebellion against the Government of the United States…” Signed in Washington D.C., by Johnson and his Acting Secretary of State, it was a “full pardon and amnesty for all offenses by him committed, arising from participation, direct or implied, in the said rebellion.”

[More details]
MS 031 Alton A. Lennon Congressional Papers

This collection contains the papers of Congressman Alton Lennon during his tenure as U.S. Representative for North Carolina's 7th congressional district from 1957-1972. Included in the collection is correspondence, reports, and other documents related to legislation, district affairs, and politics during the time. Also included are three large scrapbooks documenting news coverage from Congressman Lennon's career and campaigns.

[More details]
MS 066 Dr. John D. Bellamy Family Papers

The collection consists of photocopies of land grants, deeds, and land surveys for various properties in North and South Carolina. Also of significance in this collection are photocopies of Dr. Bellamy's Oath of Allegiance (U.S. Department of State Certificate), his pardon from President Andrew Johnson, and his letter of the pardon to Secretary of State William H. Seward.

[More details]
MS 081 Democratic Congressional Committee Advance Sheet Collection

"Easily Found" is an Advance Sheet issued by the Democratic Congressional Committee ca 1880, during the campaign for President of the United States in which James Garfield (Republican) ran against Winfield S. Hancock (Democrat).

[More details]
MS 148 John F. Schrank Letters

This collection contains letters from John F. Schrank, who in 1912 attempted to assassinate President Theodore Roosevelt, to his doctor, Dr. Adin Sherman, during 1914-1918 when Schrank was committed to the Central State Hospital for the Criminally Insane in Waupun, Wisconsin. Schrank's letters contain his gratitude for and desire to maintain his friendship with Dr. Sherman, his commentary on World War I, and general observations and relevations on the current status of his life.

[More details]
MS 163 Wilbur D. Jones, Jr. Political Collection

The collection consists of political papers, photographs, notebooks, and memorabilia covering Mr. Jones's career in California and national staff politics from 1964-1978. His positions included assistant director of Republican Associates of Los Angeles County (California); field representative to Congressman Ed Reinecke (R-CA, 27th District); assistant manager, Barry M. Goldwater, Jr., congressional campaign; administrative assistant to Congressman Goldwater (R-CA., 27th District); executive director, New Hampshire Committee for the Re-election of the President (Richard M.

[More details]
MS 214 Robert J. Cooke Collection

This collection consists of material collected by Robert J. Cooke from various presidential elections from the late 1960s to the early 1990s, primarily at the respective Democratic Conventions. Items include copies of speeches, pamphlets, publications, press badges, ads, biographies, and campaign material. Candidates of note include Governor George C. Wallace, President Jimmy Carter, and President Bill Clinton. A selection of Cooke's research on the Rorison family of Wilmington, North Carolina is also included.

[More details]
MS 229 Dr. Duncan Randall Papers

This collection contains papers and memorabilia related to Dr. Duncan Randall's personal and family life, his military career with the U.S. Air Force, his academic career as a professor at Wilmington College (now UNCW), and his personal and political interests. Materials include documents, correspondence, newspaper articles and clippings, a stamp collection, emphemera, artifacts, and photographs.

[More details]
MS 247 Kennedy Family Political Memorabilia

This collection contains videocassettes, framed photographs, campaign buttons, bumper stickers, autographs and other memorabilia related to the lives and political campaigns of Robert F. Kennedy, John F. Kennedy and Kathleen Kennedy Townsend. The collection also contains an autographed Pro Set Senior PGA Tour card featuring Sam Snead.

[More details]
MS 330 Dr. Michael Smith Collection of George Wallace Memorabilia

This collection contains political memorabilia relating to George Wallace's presidential campaigns in the 1960s and 1970s. He was the American Presidential Party nominee in 1968 and a candidate for the Democratic Party nomination in 1972, and 1976. Items include campaign buttons, an autographed pamphlet, two audio records, and a large campaign sign.

[More details]
MS 338 Mike McIntyre Congressional Collection

Congressman Mike McIntyre served as the Representative for North Carolina's 7th Congressional district from 1997 to 2015. McIntyre's Congressional collection consists of papers and memorabilia accrued during his time in office. Materials in this collection cover a wide range of subject areas pertinent to North Carolina’s 7th district and McIntyre’s interactions as a Congressman including but not limited to agriculture, coastal issues, economic development, health care, military and veterans’ affairs, senior citizens affairs and U.S. Presidents.

[More details]

Manuscript Collections - General

MS 020 Thomas George Pratt Broadside

As governor of Maryland, Thomas G. Pratt issued a proclamation designating Thursday, November 16, 1846, to be observed as a day of public thanksgiving in the state of Maryland. At that time, it was customary for the governor to annually assign such a day. This proclamation is dated October 8, 1846.

[More details]
MS 035 Johnston Avery and Virginia Hall Avery Private Papers

The bulk of this collection consists of correspondence written or received by Johnston Avery, including holograph, typewritten and typewritten carbon copy letters. Important correspondents include William V.S. Tubman, President of Liberia from 1944 to 1971, and other Liberian government officials; Robert R. Reynolds, U.S. Senator from North Carolina from 1933 to 1945; J.C.B. Ehringhaus, North Carolina governor from 1933 to 1937; and various businessmen involved in the LAMCO Joint Venture.

[More details]
MS 060 Friedrich Brauer Collection

The collection consists primarily of printed materials, pamphlets, broadsides, postcards, flyers, newspapers and other ephemera, related to the study of Germany during World War I, of the post war political and economic conditions of the Weimar Republic, and of the rise of Adolf Hitler and the National Socialist Party. Part of the collection consists of German campaign materials from the late 1920s and early 1930s. Photographs include a few of the Brauer family and one of the grave site of Baron von Richthofen.

[More details]
MS 074 Governor Philip F. Thomas Proclamation

Philip Francis Thomas, the Governor of Maryland, issued a proclamation that Thursday, November 23, 1848 was a "day of thanksgiving to ALMIGHTY GOD, to be kept and observed by the good people of the State of Maryland..." The document bears no official seal but it is dated October 13, 1848. The lower left-hand corner does include the statement: By the Governor, R.C. Hollyday, Secretary of State.

[More details]
MS 163 Wilbur D. Jones, Jr. Political Collection

The collection consists of political papers, photographs, notebooks, and memorabilia covering Mr. Jones's career in California and national staff politics from 1964-1978. His positions included assistant director of Republican Associates of Los Angeles County (California); field representative to Congressman Ed Reinecke (R-CA, 27th District); assistant manager, Barry M. Goldwater, Jr., congressional campaign; administrative assistant to Congressman Goldwater (R-CA., 27th District); executive director, New Hampshire Committee for the Re-election of the President (Richard M.

[More details]
MS 184 Dr. Ralph Werner Brauer Personal Papers

This collection of Brauer papers is organized in several series. The first series to be processed focuses on Brauer's early life, from birth through the late 1940s. In addition to documenting Brauers's early life, this series contain a large amount of material about pre-WWI Germany, with items dating from the early 1900s through 1920. It also includes documentation of the political situation in Germany during Hitler's ascent. Many rare, one-of-a-kind, ephemeral newspapers, leaflets, handouts, and other items are to be found in this series.

[More details]

Oral Histories

To explore more interviews, please search the Oral History Collection.

Interview with Wilbur D. Jones, Jr. (Oral History)

In this interview, author and Wilmington notable Wilbur Jones discusses his childhood and adolescence in Wilmington, his experiences in the U.S. Navy, and his long political career, which includes doing advance work for the White House under the Nixon and Ford Administrations.

[More details]
Interview with Harper Peterson (Oral History)

Harper Peterson grew up in New York State and attended college at the University of North Carolina, where he excelled in sports. After teaching school in Thailand for two years, he returned to the United States where he settled in Wrightsville Beach, married, and began raising a family. Peterson has served on the City Council and as Mayor of Wilmington. He is active in the 1898 Council and Commemoration, as well as being a champion for the education of African American members of the community.

[More details]
Interview with Franklin & Marilyn Williams (Oral History)

Interview with retired pharmacist and former State Senator Franklin E. Williams and his wife, Marilyn. In this interview they discuss their personal histories, their involvement in local and state politics, their volunteerism, and owning and operating one of the first pharmacies to use electronic data storage.

[More details]
Interview with George Rountree III (Oral History)

Interview with George Rountree III, attorney, philanthropist, and senior partner in the law firm of Rountree, Losee & Baldwin LLP. Here, he discusses his family's prominent local history as well as his own personal narrative, which includes his political career and his work in the legal profession.

[More details]
Interview with Wallace Murchison (Oral History)

Interview with Wallace C. Murchison of Wilmington, North Carolina. Murchison began practicing law in the 1940s and married during the same time. Murchison assisted the Diocese of Eastern Carolina, where he served as Director of the Finance Department. Politically, he was involved with Senator Alton Lennon's campaign each election to register voters who would vote for Senator Lennon. He also worked with other government officials, including Governor Sanford.

[More details]
Interview with John J. Burney, Jr. (Oral History)

Mr. John J. Burney, Jr., discusses UNCW and Wilmington College from its founding to the present day. As a a graduate of New Hanover High School, Mr. Burney knew many of the first students and teachers of Wilmington College, since many of them came from the high school. He talks about them and about some of the first members of the Wilmington College Board of Trustees, including Addison Hewlett. He discusses the roles of John T. Hoggard, T.T. Hamilton, and William H. Wagoner in the development of the college and university. When Mr. Burney served as state Senator, he worked closely with Dr.

[More details]
Interview with Carolyn Justice (Oral History)

Interview with State Representative and Wilmington native Carolyn Justice.

[More details]

UNCW Resources

Civil Rights in Southeast North Carolina: The School, the Market, and the Ballot Box

Digital collection of primary source documents and other resources related to southeastern North Carolina school desegregation, equal employment, equal access to public accommodations, and voting rights.

[More details]
Government Resources

Government Resources

[More details]
Randall Library is a member of the Federal Depository Library Program and the North Carolina State Clearinghouse. We receive resources that are produced by federal and state agencies and departments. These resources include Congressional hearings and committee prints, statistics, data, laws, journals, magazines, and much more. A wide range of subjects and topics are covered and resources are available in print and online.

Contact Librarian

Portrait of Rebecca Baugnon
Rebecca
Baugnon
Special Collections Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2042J

Contact Staff

Portrait of Nicole Yatsonsky
Nicole
Yatsonsky
Library Specialist
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2042J

Recommended Databases

These databases contain material relevant to politics in Southeast North Carolina or related to topics held within our manuscript collections.

American Politics and Society

Features Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon administration records as well as Thomas A. Edison Papers and immigration records. Part of the History Vault database.

[More details]
Political Extremism & Radicalism in the 20th Century

Political Extremism and Radicalism in the Twentieth Century is a compilation of rare and unique archival collections covering a wide range of fringe political movements. The collections cover the 1900s to the 2010s when the world saw the formation of several civil rights movements for the rights of minorities, women's rights, and gay rights.

[More details]
News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive

An archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. These titles offer multiple perspectives on the contemporary contexts of the major events, trends, and interests in these fields throughout the twentieth century. The collection will provide valuable primary source content for researchers in fields ranging from history and political science, through to law and economics.

[More details]
ProQuest Congressional

Comprehensive online collection of primary source congressional publications and legislative research materials covering all topics, including government, current events, politics, economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine. Finding aid for congressional hearings, committee prints, committee reports and documents from 1970-present, and the daily Congressional Record from 1985-present. Compiled legislative histories from 1969-present.

[More details]