Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Semester and Year: 
Spring 2019
Course number: 
SOC 304
Instructor: 
King, Donna

Gender Studies

Gender Studies Collection

Gender Studies Collection provides coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.

[More details]
GenderWatch

GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.

[More details]
Contemporary Women's Issues

Contemporary Women's Issues features current full text and pertinent backfile coverage of topics relevant to women around the world, including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.

[More details]

Race and Ethnicity Studies

Ethnic NewsWatch

Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

[More details]
Diversity Studies Collection

Diversity Studies Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. The collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.

[More details]

Other Miscellaneous Databases

These are ones that didn't fit into another category that might still be useful depending on your topic.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text

International citations on exercise, physiology, physical education and health, parks and recreation, recreation therapy, sports and sports medicine.

[More details]
Victorian Popular Culture

An essential resource for the study of popular art, art history, and entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Consists of four components: Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment; and Moving pictures, optical entertainments & the advent of cinema. Includes full-text, full-color reproductions of books, ephemera, handbills, pamphlets, photos, posters, programs, scripts, and other types of materials.

[More details]
Bloomsbury Food Library

Bloomsbury Food Library reflects the interdisciplinary nature of food studies, making it an essential resource for students and scholars studying food, on courses as wide-ranging as history, sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, human geography, sustainability, agriculture, culinary arts, literary studies, political science, and development studies. It offers cross-searchable access to a broad and expanding range of encyclopedias, references works, e-books, images, and more.

[More details]

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

Starting Points

These databases will probably be useful for most of you - one is a general popular culture database and two are good databases for sociology research.

Pop Culture Collection

Popular Culture Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database is useful for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.

[More details]
Sociological Abstracts

Citations to sociology journals and dissertations covering sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, criminology, economics, education, medicine, community development, communication studies, philosophy, demography, gerontology, political science, religion, and social psychology.

[More details]
Sage Journals Online

Communication Studies, Criminology, Computer Science, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Business, Humanities, Science and Technology, and Social Work. Includes Sage Journals Backfiles 1999-2009.

[More details]

Film, Television, and Music

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.

[More details]
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is a comprehensive bibliographic and full text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film studies. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, screenwriting and reviews.

[More details]
Film Scripts Online

The Film Scripts Online Series contains over 1,100 scripts and makes available accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays. Film scholars can compare the writer’s vision with the producer’s and director’s interpretations from page to screen.

[More details]
Rock's Backpages

Rock's Backpages is an archive of content about music and popular culture, a library of primary source, full text articles and audio interviews.

[More details]
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)

Communication & Mass Media Complete provides content in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.

[More details]

News Sources

InfoTrac Newsstand

InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts. Local newspapers from North Carolina are included in this resource.

[More details]
Vanderbilt Television News Archive

The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. They have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. 

[More details]

Sociology Librarian

Stephanie
Crowe
Coordinator of Liaison Librarian Services
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2056

Twitter: @shcrowe

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.