Below are some potential resources that you can use for your research for this class. Please don't hesitate to email me if you are struggling to find sources - I'd be happy to help.

NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Semester and Year: 
Fall 2020
Course number: 
SOC 260
Instructor: 
Waity, Jill

Newspapers and Magazines

These are some databases that contain newspaper and magazine articles for finding your specific examples (in addition to what you may just be able to find online through Google or Google News.

US Newsstream

Provides access to recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Includes titles such as Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
A search engine for current U.S.-based newspapers.
North Carolina News Sources

North Carolina News Sources is a collection of more than 190 media sources from across the state,  including the Wilmington Star News, the Charlotte Observer, and the Raleigh News & Observer.

[More details]
A search engine for North Carolina news sources.
Access World News

Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Access World News is updated daily.

[More details]
A search engine for news around the world.
Star News

Coverage of the Wilmington Star News from 1994-present.

[More details]
Wilmington's newspaper of record.

Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles

You can use these databases to find peer-reviewed journal articles on your group's topic. I've labeled them by discipline in the description, so the ones you might want to focus on may depend on the group you're in (while some might be useful for all of you). 

Sociological Abstracts

Citations to sociology journals and dissertations covering sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, criminology, economics, education, medicine, community development, communication studies, philosophy, demography, gerontology, political science, religion, and social psychology.

[More details]
Standard database for sociology research.
PubMED

Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed is the most comprehensive biomedical research database, and a key resource used by scientists. Please see the PubMed Overview Sheet.

[More details]
Good database for public health research.
ABI/INFORM Collection

The business research database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. Comparable to EBSCOhost Business Source Complete.

[More details]
Database for business and economics research.
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
Good for historical research.
Social Services Abstracts

This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.

[More details]
Database for social work, human services, and community development research.

Government Resources

The government produces a huge amount of information on all sorts of topics. A few potentially useful places to find this material are below. 

Govinfo.gov

Free access to all three branches of the U.S. Federal Government

[More details]
The federal government's search engine that allows you to search for information across agencies.
U.S. Department of Agriculture Food and Nutrition Resources

Information from the USDA on food and nutrition.

[More details]
U.S. Health and Human Services Research

Reports and statistics on various topics under the purview of the U.S. Health and Human Services Agency.

[More details]

Sociology Librarian

Portrait of Stephanie Crowe
Stephanie
Crowe
Coordinator of Liaison Librarian Services
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2056

Twitter: @shcrowe

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED