NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Semester and Year: 
Fall 2016
Course number: 
HST 290
Instructor: 
Seidman, Michael

Get Started

Suggested Article Databases

These databases also contain other secondary sources, such as theses, conference proceedings, book chapters, and more. 

Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including art history, world history, military history, women's history, history of education, foreign languages and literatures, and more.

[More details]
America: History & Life

Provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.

[More details]
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]
Public Affairs Information Services (PAIS)

The Public Affairs Information Services database provides information on business, public and international affairs, public and social policies and international relations. PAIS includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.

[More details]
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.

[More details]
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective

Offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences—including anthropology, archaeology, art, art history, family studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, law, music, performing arts, theatre and much more.

[More details]
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

57,000+ biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond. From the earliest times to the year 2000.

[More details]
Public Affairs Information Services (PAIS)

The Public Affairs Information Services database provides information on business, public and international affairs, public and social policies and international relations. PAIS includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.

[More details]
WorldCat [FirstSearch Interface]

Books and other materials in libraries worldwide.

[More details]

Search the Library Catalog


Search by:

The library catalog uses Library of Congress Subject Headings. The list of authorized subject headings is available online from the Library of Congress Classification/Subject Headings database. However, you can also start with keyword searches to gather some relevant titles, then look at their subject headings to discover the official terms to use.

Search Tips:

  • Case does not matter. Punctuation marks are not needed.
  • Keyword searches will likely retrieve something on your subject. This type of search looks in practically all parts of the catalog record, and is the only way to access the data in the Contents Notes field of records. However, if you are not using the terms catalogers use to identify a subject, keyword searches may actually retrieve fewer items than a subject search.
  • Subject searches use a controlled vocabulary, bring more consistency to searches and organizing records by subtopics. Library of Congress Subject Headings are used in both the local catalog and in WorldCat. Even if Randall Library does not have books listed in the catalog under these headings, you will find them in WorldCat (and perhaps in other databases using LC Subject Headings.)

The Library of Congress Subject Headings for Fascism and Antifascism are:

 

Anti-fascist movements

Under countries as subjects, you will find many chronologic subdivisions corresponding to major events in that country's history.  You will also find separate headings for specific events. 

 

 

Also consider keyword searches on personal names relevant to the fascism and antifascism. Typically, names are entered with the last name first, e.g., Mussolini, Benito. Do both Author and Subject searches to find books by and about the individual.

Primary Sources (Newspapers and Magazines)

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Digital archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. An excellent database for history, including full-text and full-image articles. For most dates, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files. For access to recent issues, go to the New York Times online or search US Newsstream.

[More details]
contains the full text of the NYT from 1851-3 years ago.
American Periodicals

Contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. It includes American Periodicals Series and American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries.

[More details]
Life Magazine Archive

The Life Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning from its very first issue in November, 1936 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published by Time Inc., the magazine has featured story-telling through documentary photographs and informative captions. Each issue visually and powerfully depicted national and international events and topical stories, providing intimate views of real people and their real life situations.

[More details]
Historical Newspapers

This collection of historical newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Includes:

[More details]
Time Magazine Archive

The Time Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published weekly by Time Inc., the magazine has focused on conveying to a broad audience both domestic and international news and analysis on a spectrum of subjects. Intended to be read in under an hour, each issue of Time contains reports of national and international current events, politics, sports, and entertainment.

[More details]
Times (London) Digital Archive

The Times Digital Archive, 1785–2006 makes 221 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-, and early 21st-century history, literature, culture, business, art, art history, architecture, and more. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable — every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.

[More details]
International Newsstream

International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. ProQuest International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.

Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982

Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.This resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture, science and seminal developments across nearly a century.

[More details]
indexes popular magazines, 1890-1982.

Primary Sources (Digital Collections)

American Memory Project

Images, videos, and presentations compiled by the U.S. Library of Congress related to American history.

[More details]
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History

Resource for documents related to Western European history including many primary historical documents. Documents are transcribed or translated if needed.

[More details]
Internet Modern History Sourcebook: Fascism in Europe

Collection of resources related to the study of fascism in Europe. Guide is divided by country.

[More details]
Women and Social Movements in the United States - Scholar's Edition

Women and Social Movements in the United States brings together primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, Web site reviews, and teaching tools, all documenting the multiplicity of women’s activism in public life.

[More details]
North American Women's Letters and Diaries

Full text of letters and diaries. The collection includes bibliographies of women's diaries and letters yet published. It lists over 7,000 published and unpublished items from a variety of sources.

[More details]
CQ Historic Documents Series Online

Published annually since 1972, the Historic Documents Series now contains 38 volumes of primary sources. Each volume includes approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.

[More details]
German Propaganda Archive

Resource for studying visual and audio propaganda materials.

[More details]
Archives Unbound

Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.

[More details]

Primary Sources (Statistics)

iPOLL

The largest collection of poll data anywhere—1935 to present, all US polling firms, broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. International and US datasets available for immediate download.

[More details]
Historical Statistical Abstract of the U.S.

The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States. Our access includes editions back to 1878. Need help? Visit Quick Start: Statistical Abstract of the United States

[More details]
Statesman's YearBook

The Statesman’s Yearbook is an annual hardback publication covering the politics, cultures and economies of all of the countries of the world plus major international organizations. It is authoritative and up-to-date; meticulously compiled by a dedicated in-house editorial team since 1864.

[More details]

Primary Sources (Government Resources)

Remember to also search the UNCW Library Catalog and Google for government resources.

Foreign Relations of the United States

Resource provides access to U.S. foreign relation documents from 1861 to 1996.

[More details]
ProQuest Congressional

Comprehensive online collection of primary source congressional publications and legislative research materials covering all topics, including government, current events, politics, economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine. Finding aid for congressional hearings, committee prints, committee reports and documents from 1970-present, and the daily Congressional Record from 1985-present. Compiled legislative histories from 1969-present.

[More details]
Congress.gov

Official website for U.S. federal legislative information. Provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. Usually updated the morning after session adjourns.

[More details]
Searching Beyond Randall Library

is a guide to searching beyond Randall Library for hard-to-find items.

[More details]
chat loading...

Contact Librarian

Portrait of Stephanie Crowe
Stephanie
Crowe
Coordinator of Liaison Librarian Services
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2056

Twitter: @shcrowe