Randall Library Home

The First World War

NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Get Started

Credo Reference - World War I

is a collection of reference articles related to World War I.

[More details]

Search the Library Catalog


Search by:
World War I Subject Headings

Browse these subject headings and sub-headings, which you can click-on to view books in our library collection.  You'll also want to do a keyword search to find appropriate headings for your specific topic.

[More details]

Datasets, Maps & Imagery

World War I Posters from the Elisabeth Ball Collection

World War I Posters from the Elisabeth Ball Collection

[More details]

Statistics

Historical Statistics of the United States

This five-volume reference work reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.

[More details]
HeinOnline

Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S.

[More details]
contains law journals, Treaties & Agreements, Congressional documents, and other legal information. Use Full Text Advanced Search to see more options, including a custom date range search.
Congress.gov

An essential database for criminology, and public and international affairs, Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information, such as bills, committee reports & hearings.

[More details]
is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. It provides access to Congressional documents.
Public Papers of the Presidents

Online versions of the papers of Presidents from Ronald Reagan to the present. Print copies of presidential papers back to the Teddy Roosevelt administration are in the library's General Collection J82.

[More details]
contains online versions of the papers of Presidents from Ronald Reagan to the present. Print copies of presidential papers back to the Teddy Roosevelt administration are in the General Collection J82.

Websites

- Browse chronologically for documents from the war period.
BBC: World Wars in Depth: World War One

This BBC site has assembled articles of scholarly interpretations about the war and audio versions of oral histories and dramatized diaries. An animated map of the Western front is also included.

[More details]
-
Documents of World War I

A bare bones list of links to mostly primary sources, compiled by Dr. Vincent Ferrar, Mount Holyoke College. Chronological order.

[More details]
Erste Weltkrieg

From the German Historical Museum, this site provides information on the war, politics, art, industry, propaganda and daily life. Includes recordings of Kaiser Wilhelm II speeches.

[More details]
-
First World War.com

Although created as a hobby, this site provides a rich collection of primary source documents, audio, photographs, music, art and literature.

[More details]
-
Great War -- 80 Years On

This BBC special report includes audio interviews, newsreel footage, and soldiers' letters.

[More details]
-
Great War Web Site

Organized by country and topics such as films, pacifism, and poetry, this site is maintained by a staff member at the University of Pittsburgh.

[More details]
-
Internet Modern History Sourcebook: World War I

One of a series of sourcebooks providing electronic access to documents in the public domain, the site links to documents on the origins of war, the war, resistance to war, literary responses and the aftermath.

[More details]
-
War Times Journal: The Great War Series

War times Journal is a free online magazine of military history and science, emphasizing eyewitness accounts and personal narratives.

[More details]
-
World War I Document Archive

Assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List, the list is searchable by keyword and can be browsed by year or document type.

[More details]
-
World War I: Trenches on the Web

Not as scholarly as other sites listed here, but still a valuable list of links to resources.

[More details]
-
American Memory Project

Includes images & video from American history, from 1400-present.

[More details]
- The Library of Congress digital collections contain text, photographs, audio and video on U.S. history. Be sure to look at American Leaders' Speak: Recordings from World War I and the 1920 Election and Stars and Stripes, 1918-1919.
Great War and the Shaping of the 20th Century

This website accompanies the PBS miniseries, which the library has in VHS format.

[More details]

Article Databases

These databases also contain other secondary sources such as thesis's, conference proceedings, book chapters, and more. 

In addition to the databases listed below, also consider using databases in related disciplines.  Ask yourself what disciplines besides history would be interested in the topic.  For instance, if you are researching shell-shock, the PsycInfo database may be useful.

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences—including anthropology, archaeology, art, art history, family studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, law, music, performing arts, theatre and much more.

[More details]
A companion indes to Readers' Guide, this indexes more scholarly periodicals, 1907-1984.
Public Affairs Information Services (PAIS)

The Public Affairs Information Services database provides information on business, public and international affairs, public and social policies and international relations. PAIS includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.

[More details]
Index to periodicals, books, government documents, etc., from 1915-1976.
Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including art history, world history, military history, women's history, history of education, foreign languages and literatures, and more.

[More details]
Covers world history (excluding US & Canada) from 1450-present. Allows 6 users at a time.
America: History & Life

America: History & Life provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.

[More details]
Covers the US & Canada. Allows 6 users at a time.
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
Full-text access to Full-text searching of an archive of over 165 history and 58 law journals. Typically excludes the latest 3-5 years of publication.
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]
ProQuest Central

This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete.

[More details]
Covers more than 160 subjects areas. Content includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete.

Primary Sources

- Search the Randall Library catalog (and other libraries) for history makers' names as authors. This should retrieve their memoirs, diaries and correspondence. 

- As you search subject topics in the catalog, note that the following subdivisions indicate primary source (* indicates it can be used with individuals' names,classes of persons [e.g., soldiers], and organizations) :

  • Archives *
  • Caricatures and cartoons
  • Correspondence *
  • Diaries *
  • Early works to 1800
  • Facsimilies
  • Interviews
  • Newspapers [e.g., African Americans -- Newspapers]
  • Notebooks, sketchbooks, etc.
  • Pamphlets
  • Personal narratives (used in relation to specific events only)
  • Photographs
  • Pictorial works
  • Songs and music
  • Sources
  • Speeches, addresses, etc.*
  • Treaties

​​- More suggestions can be found on the  "Primary Sources guide.

Below are some key compilations of official documents. 

No memoirs are listed here. To find memoirs:

  • use World War I Memories and A Subject Bibliography of the First World War (listed above in "Getting Started")
  • search personal names as authors in the catalog to find memoirs, and correspondence.  
  • search the catalog for the subject: World War, 1914-1918 -- Personal narratives.
Diplomatic documents relating to the outbreak of the European war, Volume 1

Google Book - Full view. Unfortunately, volume 2 is only available on Google Books in snippet view.

[More details]
Foreign Relations of the United States (University of Wisconsin Digital Collections)

is a digital facsimile of Foreign Relations of the United States, "an incomplete run from 1861-1960 with missing volumes being added as they can be acquired and processed."

[More details]
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Digital archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. An excellent database for history. For online access to recent New York Times articles, use InfoTrac Newsstand.

[More details]
Covers 1851- (last 3 years not available). Via Proquest Historical Newspapers.
The Times Digital Archive

The Times Digital Archive, 1785–2006 makes 221 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-, and early 21st-century history, literature, culture, business, art, art history, architecture, and more. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable — every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.

[More details]
Covers 1785-2006. Fully searchable, including headlines, articles, editorials, announcements, images and advertisements.
Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982

Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.This resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture, science and seminal developments across nearly a century.

[More details]
Indexes popular magazines, 1890-1982.
Archives Unbound

Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.

[More details]
Contains digital collections on a wide range of topics. The collection "International Women's Periodicals, 1786-1933: Social & Political Issues" may be useful for this course.
ARTstor Digital Library

The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 2 million digital images in the arts, art history, architecture, anthropology, history, humanities, foreign languages and literatures, religion, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.

[More details]
Registered users can download individual images from the ARTstor Digital Library so remember to register for a free user account. The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences
Foreign Relations of the United States (University of Wisconsin Digital Collections)

is a digital facsimile of Foreign Relations of the United States, "an incomplete run from 1861-1960 with missing volumes being added as they can be acquired and processed."

[More details]
1861-1960
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History

Western European (mainly primary) historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.

[More details]
Western European (mainly primary) historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.
UK Cabinet Papers 1915-1982

UK Cabinet Papers 1915-1982

[More details]
Europeana

Contains millions of digital items (texts, images, video, and sound) provided by Europe's museums and galleries, archives, libraries and audio-visual organizations.

[More details]
Export.gov

Provides access to a wide variety of country, market and industry information resources.

[More details]
Searching Beyond Randall Library

is a guide to searching beyond Randall Library for hard-to-find items.

[More details]

Need Help?

Chat requires JavaScript.

Contact Librarian

female-presenting Caucasian looking at the camera, smiling
Tammy
Ivins
Contact for: Theatre, History, & Transfer Students
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2058

Finding Books on the Shelf

Ready to find library books on the shelf? Our books are arranged in Library of Congress call number order. Below are some helpful links and just ask a librarian for help if needed. 

Writing Help

Citation and Bibliography Help

vetted & reliable tools collected by Randall Library.

[More details]
Writing Services

at the University Learning Center, located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).

[More details]
Read&Write Gold

free to UNCW faculty, staff, and students, Read&Write Gold is "a flexible literacy software solution that can help readers and writers...access support tools needed to reach their potential, build confidence and independence and succeed."

[More details]

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED