This guide is meant to provide you with some starting places to look for your sources for your research papers for this class. It's a companion to the secondary and primary source modules in your Canvas course, but does not cover the same material, so make sure you spend time with those as well. Remember that these are starting points and not comprehensive, so you are always welcome to reach out to us if you need further help with your research!

NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Semester and Year: 
Fall 2020
Course number: 
HST 290
Instructor: 
McFarland, Stephen

Search the Library Catalog


Search by:

Search the library catalog for books related to your topic. Remember that you can also use the catalog to find primary sources (for example, books written by people influential in something you are writing about).

Suggested Secondary Source Article Databases

JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including art history, world history, military history, women's history, history of education, foreign languages and literatures, and more.

[More details]
If your topic is focused primarily or exclusively on the Middle East.
America: History & Life

Provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.

[More details]
If your topic focuses on the United States and its involvement in the Middle East.

Primary Source Collections (General)

These resources contain a variety of types of primary sources; see the sections below for resources with a more specific focus.

Internet History Sourcebook - Middle East Since 1944

Primary sources on the modern Middle East, under the auspices of the Internet History Sourcebook project.

[More details]
The Middle East 1916-2001: A Documentary Recrd

Contains a variety of types of primary sources documenting the modern history of the Middle East, from Yale University's law library.

[More details]
Wilson Center Digital Archive

The Wilson Center Digital Archive contains declassified historical materials from archives around the world—much of it in translation and including diplomatic cables, high level correspondence, meeting minutes and more. It focuses on the Cold War, North Korean history, and nuclear proliferation.

[More details]
Bin Laden's Bookshelf

Recovered and released documents from the compound hiding Osama bin Laden. Documents include English language books, materials regarding France, materials published by violent extremists and terror groups, and software and technical manuals.

[More details]
HathiTrust

Partnership of major research institutions and libraries that is a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

[More details]
A really useful all-purpose repository of primary sources.

Governmental and Intergovernmental Resources

Documents on the Foreign Policy of Israel

The Israeli version of FRUS, contains Cold War-related material.

[More details]
Official foreign policy documents from Israel.
United Nations Digital Library

Huge repository of UN documents.

[More details]
NATO Archives Online

The digital archive of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization.

[More details]
Digital National Security Archive - (DNSA)

This resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present.

[More details]
Documents on British Policy Overseas

A fully searchable collection of primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO), shedding light on diplomatic history throughout the 20th C. It is based on three print series which form a record of British peacetime diplomacy since the end of the 19th C: British Documents on the Origins of the War 1898-1914, Documents on British Foreign Policy 1918-1939 and Documents on British Policy Overseas. DBPO is produced in collaboration between ProQuest and the FCO.

[More details]
ProQuest Congressional

Comprehensive online collection of primary source congressional publications and legislative research materials covering all topics, including government, current events, politics, economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine. Finding aid for congressional hearings, committee prints, committee reports and documents from 1970-present, and the daily Congressional Record from 1985-present. Compiled legislative histories from 1969-present.

[More details]

Newspapers, Magazines, and Television

60 Minutes: 1997-2014

The 60 MINUTES: 1997–2014 collection grants unprecedented access to nearly two decades of television’s preeminent news program, including many episodes not widely seen since their original broadcast.

 

[More details]
Atlantic Magazine Archive

The Atlantic Magazine Archive contains indexing, abstracting and full text for the complete archive (including Covers and advertisements) of this leading monthly magazine beginning in November 1857 and ending April 2014.

[More details]
Economist Historical Archive

The Economist Historical Archive is the fully searchable facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide. Containing every issue since its launch in 1843, EHA offers full-color images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys.

[More details]
Historical Newspapers

This collection of historical newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Includes:

[More details]
Life Magazine Archive

The Life Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning from its very first issue in November, 1936 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published by Time Inc., the magazine has featured story-telling through documentary photographs and informative captions. Each issue visually and powerfully depicted national and international events and topical stories, providing intimate views of real people and their real life situations.

[More details]
News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive

An archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. These titles offer multiple perspectives on the contemporary contexts of the major events, trends, and interests in these fields throughout the twentieth century. The collection will provide valuable primary source content for researchers in fields ranging from history and political science, through to law and economics.

[More details]
Time Magazine Archive

The Time Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published weekly by Time Inc., the magazine has focused on conveying to a broad audience both domestic and international news and analysis on a spectrum of subjects. Intended to be read in under an hour, each issue of Time contains reports of national and international current events, politics, sports, and entertainment.

[More details]
Times (London) Digital Archive

The Times Digital Archive, 1785–2006 makes 221 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-, and early 21st-century history, literature, culture, business, art, art history, architecture, and more. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable — every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.

[More details]

History Librarian

Portrait of Stephanie Crowe
Stephanie
Crowe
Coordinator of Liaison Librarian Services
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2056

Twitter: @shcrowe

Special Collections Librarian

Portrait of Rebecca Baugnon
Rebecca
Baugnon
Special Collections Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2042J
chat loading...