Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Semester and Year: 
Spring 2018
Course number: 
HST 290
Instructor: 
Tanny, Jarrod

Secondary Source Databases

JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
America: History & Life

America: History & Life provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.

[More details]
Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including art history, world history, military history, women's history, history of education, foreign languages and literatures, and more.

[More details]

Finding Additional Books

It is likely that all of you will use books as references, whether as primary or secondary sources. One really good way to find books is to use the library catalog (libcat.uncw.edu) and use the subjects to navigate around the catalog. You might do an initial search for your topic, and then once you find a relevant book, click on related subjects on the page describing the book and see what other books have been assigned that subject. A few subjects that might be useful for this class are

  • Ethnic wit and humor -- United States -- History and criticism
  • Jewish comedians -- United States
  • Jewish comedians -- United States -- Biography
  • Jewish comedians -- United States -- History
  • Jewish wit and humor -- History and criticism

If you're researching an individual, her/his name might be used as a subjects as well. For example:

  • Sherman, Allan, 1924-1973

Finding Primary Sources

The primary sources that will be useful to you depend greatly on the topic you write about. For example, if you are researching a director or actor, you will probably want to watch their movies. If you are researching a comedian, look for their comedy routines. 

The places you will go for these sources also differ greatly. For some modern material, YouTube or the internet in general might be the best place to look. Below, I'm going to include a few places you can go within the library and its databases for things you likely can't find through Google.

Library Catalog

Randall Library's online catalog. Search for books, journals, dvds, cds, government documents and many other resources held by Randall Library.

[More details]
Look here for movies, autobiographies/memoirs, and other published primary sources.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.

[More details]
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Digital archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. An excellent database for history, including full-text and full-image articles. For most dates, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files. For access to recent issues, go to the New York Times online or search US Newsstream.

[More details]
US Newsstream

Provides access to recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Includes titles such as Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]

Citing Your Sources

Chicago/Turabian Documentation Style (U of Wisconsin - Madison)

Chicago/Turabian Documentation Style (U of Wisconsin - Madison)

[More details]
Citing Primary Sources in Chicago Style

Guide to citing primary sources in Chicago (notes-bibliography) format.

[More details]

History Librarian

Stephanie
Crowe
Social Sciences Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2058

Twitter: @shcrowe

Need Help?

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED