NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Semester and Year: 
Spring 2020
Course number: 
HST 290
Instructor: 
Zombek, Angela

Search the Library Catalog


Search by:

Use the library catalog to search for books on your topic. You can also use the catalog to find certain types of primary sources - memoirs/autobiographies, collections of primary documents, and US government documents.

Secondary Source Article Databases

America: History & Life

Provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.

[More details]
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location.

[More details]
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]

Primary Source Databases and Websites

Below are links to databases and websites containing a huge quantity of primary sources of all types that are available online that might be useful for your research for this class. Choosing where to search can be overwhelming - start by thinking about what type of source you're looking for, then read the description below each link. Remember, too, that this list is not exhaustive. If you're not finding what you're looking for, please feel free to contact me and I can try to help.

Rock 'n' Roll: Beginnings to Woodstock

Set of online primary sources on the history of rock 'n' roll.

[More details]
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.

[More details]
American Periodicals

Contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. It includes American Periodicals Series and American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries.

[More details]
Archives of African American Music and Culture

Collection from post-World War II surveying African American musical genres and topics. Also provides materials related to the documentation of Black radio.

[More details]
Cornell Hip Hop Collection

Digital collections from the Cornell Hip Hop Collection, which collects historical artifacts of hip hop culture.

[More details]
Ethnic NewsWatch

Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

[More details]
Grateful Dead Archive Online

A "socially constructed collection comprised of over 45,000 digitized items drawn from the...Grateful Dead Archive and from digital content submitted by the community and global network of Grateful Dead fans."

[More details]
Historical Newspapers

This collection of historical newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Includes:

[More details]
Library of Congress Digital Performing Arts Collection

A variety of digital collections on different musical genres.

[More details]
Times (London) Digital Archive

The Times Digital Archive, 1785–2006 makes 221 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-, and early 21st-century history, literature, culture, business, art, art history, architecture, and more. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable — every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.

[More details]
Women's Magazine Archive

An archival research resource comprising the full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines. Titles are scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.

[More details]
Women Who Rock (University of Washington Libraries)

Archive exploring "the role of women and popular music in the creation of cultural scenes and social justice movements in the Americas and beyond."

[More details]

History Librarian

Portrait of Stephanie Crowe
Stephanie
Crowe
Coordinator of Liaison Librarian Services
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2056

Twitter: @shcrowe

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED