- Find & Research
- Get Help
- Use the Library
- About
- News & Events
Practice of History: Russian Revolution
Search the Library Catalog
Russian Revolution Subject Headings
Browse these subject headings in the library catalog to find books and other materials available in Randall Library about the Russian Revolution.
[More details]
The Cost of the war to Russia. The vital statistics of European Russia during the World War, 1914-1917Article Databases
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including art history, world history, military history, women's history, history of education, foreign languages and literatures, and more.
[More details]Covers world history (excluding US & Canada) from 1450-present. Allows 6 users at a time.
JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences.
[More details]Full-text access to Full-text searching of an archive of over 165 history and 58 law journals. Typically excludes the latest 3-5 years of publication.
Primary Source Databases
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Resource provides searchable archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. Contains digital reproductions of every page from every issue in downloadable PDF files.
[More details]Covers 1851- (last 3 years not available). Via Proquest Historical Newspapers.
Times (London) Digital Archive
The Times Digital Archive, 1785–2006 makes 221 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-, and early 21st-century history, literature, culture, business, art, art history, architecture, and more. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable — every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.
[More details]Covers 1785-2006. Fully searchable, including headlines, articles, editorials, announcements, images and advertisements.
Archives Unbound
Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.
[More details]Contains digital collections on a wide range of topics. The collection "International Women's Periodicals, 1786-1933: Social & Political Issues" may be useful for this course.
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
Resource for documents related to Western European history including many primary historical documents. Documents are transcribed or translated if needed.
[More details]Western European (mainly primary) historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. If you click on "Russia," you can choose the time period.
Europeana
Searchable collection of resources works with thousands of European archives, libraries, and museums to provide to users access This website gives you access to millions of books, music, artworks and more – with sophisticated search and filter tools to help you find what you’re looking for.
[More details]
American Periodicals
Contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. It includes American Periodicals Series and American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries.
[More details]
Economist Historical Archive
The Economist Historical Archive is the fully searchable facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide. Containing every issue since its launch in 1843, EHA offers full-color images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys.
[More details]The Economist is a "weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide."
Marxists Internet Archive
Volunteer, non-profit digital library with the writings of around 850 authors representing a complete spectrum of political, philosophical, and scientific thought, generally spanning the past 200 years.
[More details]
Foreign Relations of the United States (Department of State)
Resource provides access to U.S. foreign relation documents from the Department of State's website.
[More details]
News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive
Resource provides primary source content from 15 major magazines throughout the twentieth century. The topics covered include current and major events, international relations, and public policy.
[More details]
Documents on British Policy Overseas
A fully searchable collection of primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO), shedding light on diplomatic history throughout the 20th C. It is based on three print series which form a record of British peacetime diplomacy since the end of the 19th C: British Documents on the Origins of the War 1898-1914, Documents on British Foreign Policy 1918-1939 and Documents on British Policy Overseas. DBPO is produced in collaboration between ProQuest and the FCO.
[More details]
The Nation Archive
The Nation is an important clearinghouse of primary source material in America and around the world. The archive includes perspectives on news, politics, and culture from writers, artists, novelists, and playwrights. The Nation Archive is a fully searchable electronic version of the magazine's complete backfile, dating back to the magazine's first issue from July 6, 1865.
[More details]
The New Republic Archive
The New Republic, founded in 1914, is considered of the country's leading journals of opinion on politics and the arts. It features award-winning writers and critics from many fields and from most political viewpoints. This digital archive offers a searchable full-text backfile of all issues of the magazine.
[More details]Primary Source Collections (Printed)
This is the start of a list, not meant to be exhaustive. Depending on your topic, you might consider also searching in the library catalog for an individual author (such as Lenin) to find collected works.
British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part I, from the mid-nineteenth century to the First World War. Series A, Russian, 1859-1914
British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part II, From the First to the Second World War. Series A, the Soviet Union, 1917-1939
Documents on British foreign policy, 1919-1939DA566.7 .A18
Documents of Russian history, 1914-1917DK251 .G64 1964
Calendar of Soviet treaties, 1917-1957JX756 1917
Germany and the Revolution in Russia, 1915-1918; documents from the Archives of the German Foreign Ministry
Documents on German Foreign Policy, 1918-1945
Persuasive images : posters of war and revolution from the Hoover Institution Archives
Competing voices from the Russian Revolution
Dear comrades : Menshevik reports on the Bolshevik revolution and the civil war
Dispatches from the revolution
Intervention, civil war, and communism in Russia, April-December, 1918 : documents and materials
John Reed and the Russian Revolution : uncollected articles, letters, and speeches on Russia, 1917-1920
The Russian civil war : documents from the Soviet archives
The Russian Civil War : primary sources
Revolution in danger [electronic resource] : writings from Russia, 1919/1921
The triumph of Bolshevism, 1917-1919
Voices of revolution, 1917History Librarian
Kiana Webster
Kiana
Webster
Social Sciences & History Librarian
Email:
Phone Number:
Office:
RL2055
Meet with Me:
Searching Beyond Randall Library
is a guide to searching beyond Randall Library for hard-to-find items.
[More details]Need Help?
Writing Help
Writing Services
The Writing Center in the University Learning Center is located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).
[More details]
Read&Write
Free to UNCW faculty, staff, and students, Read&Write is "a flexible literacy software solution that can help readers and writers...access support tools needed to reach their potential, build confidence and independence and succeed."
[More details]