- Find & Research
- Get Help
- Use the Library
- About
- News & Events
Practice of History: Social Justice and Liberation Struggles
Search the Library Catalog
When searching the library catalog for books, you can start with a general keyword search. Then, look at the records retrieved with your keyword search and examine the Subject Heading section of the records. These will help you find more useful books!
When you click on a subject heading in a record, you are taken to a hierarchical list of headings, so you will also find related headings.
Finding Secondary Source Articles
Below are three databases that are useful for finding secondary source journal articles on historical topics.
America: History & Life
Provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.
[More details]Covers the United States & Canada. Note: Allows 6 users at a time. Please try again later if you are not able to access this resource.
JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences.
[More details]Multidisciplinary, but contains a lot of history journals. Typically excludes the latest 3-5 years of publication.
Project MUSE
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
[More details]Includes full-text of over 300 journals (including 66 in history). Has the current issues of many titles in JSTOR.
Statistics
Historical Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States. Our access includes editions back to 1878.
[More details]
Historical Statistics of the United States
This five-volume reference work reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.
[More details]
iPOLL
The largest collection of poll data anywhere—1935 to present, all US polling firms, broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. International and US datasets available for immediate download.
[More details]Government and Legal Resources
ProQuest Congressional
Comprehensive online collection of primary source congressional publications and legislative research materials covering all topics, including government, current events, politics, economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine. Finding aid for congressional hearings, committee prints, committee reports and documents from 1970-present, and the daily Congressional Record from 1985-present. Compiled legislative histories from 1969-present.
[More details]
GovInfo
Resource provides public access to official publications from the three branches of the U.S. Federal Government.
[More details]
HeinOnline
Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S.
[More details]
Congress.gov
Official website for U.S. federal legislative information. Provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. Usually updated the morning after session adjourns.
[More details]
Westlaw Campus Research
A comprehensive database of legal materials including federal and state statutes, codes, regulations, and case law materials. Includes articles from legal journals, detailed company and financial data, as well as state, national, and international journals and newspapers.
[More details]Finding Primary Sources - Databases
The below contain a huge assortment of primary sources on a variety of topics related to Black history in the United States. Pay special attention to the collections of newspapers, as these can be a wealth of primary source information that are very accessible and easy to use.
African American Newspapers Series 1
Chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience, African American Newspapers, Series 1, features 280 newspapers from 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles. These titles published for or by African Americans constitute valuable primary sources for researchers exploring such diverse disciplines as cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies and more.
[More details]
Historical Newspapers
This collection of historical newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Includes:
[More details]
Historical Black Newspapers
This collection of historical black newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Publications include:
- The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010)
- Chicago Defender (1909-1975)
- Michigan Chronicle (1934-2010)
- New York Amsterdam News (1922 - 1993)
- Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010)
- Pittsburgh Courier (1911 - 2002)
Historical Newspapers
This collection of historical newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Includes:
[More details]Both historical Black newspapers and "mainstream" publications.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
[More details]
Federal Surveillance of African Americans
Black Americans of all political persuasions were subject to federal scrutiny, harassment, and prosecution. The FBI enlisted black "confidential special informants" to infiltrate a variety of organizations. Hundreds of documents in this collection were originated by such operatives. The reports provide a wealth of detail on "Negro" radicals and their organizations that can be found nowhere else.
[More details]
Civil Rights and Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century
Features records of NAACP, SCLC, SNCC, CORE, and federal records on the black freedom struggle. Part of the History Vault database.
[More details]Historical Newspapers
Historical Newspapers
This collection of historical newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Includes:
[More details]
African American Newspapers Series 1
Chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience, African American Newspapers, Series 1, features 280 newspapers from 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles. These titles published for or by African Americans constitute valuable primary sources for researchers exploring such diverse disciplines as cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies and more.
[More details]
African American Newspapers Series 2
African American Newspapers, Series 2, 1835-1956 complements and expands on African American Newspapers, Series 1. Published in 22 states and the District of Columbia, the more than 75 newly available newspapers in Series 2 significantly increase access to primary sources for researchers across African and African American studies; political science; ethnic studies; diaspora studies; women’s studies; and cultural, literary and social history.
[More details]
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
[More details]Finding Primary Sources - Websites
UmbraSearch
Search digitized content on African American history from over 1000 libraries and archives.
[More details]
Civil Rights Digital Library
Resource for Civil Rights Movement primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.
[More details]
NAACP: A Century in the Fight for Freedom
The NAACP: A Century in the Fight for Freedom exhibition presents a retrospective of the major personalities, events, and achievements that shaped the NAACP’s history during its first 100 years.
[More details]
Voices of Civil Rights
The exhibition Voices of Civil Rights documents events during the Civil Rights Movement in the United States.
[More details]
Searching Beyond Randall Library
is a guide to searching beyond Randall Library for hard-to-find items.
[More details]History Librarian
Kiana Webster
Kiana
Webster
Social Sciences & History Librarian
Email:
Phone Number:
Office:
RL2055
Meet with Me:
Need Help?
Writing Help
Writing Services
The Writing Center in the University Learning Center is located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).
[More details]
Read&Write
Free to UNCW faculty, staff, and students, Read&Write is "a flexible literacy software solution that can help readers and writers...access support tools needed to reach their potential, build confidence and independence and succeed."
[More details]