Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Semester and Year: 
Fall 2018
Course number: 
HST 290
Instructor: 
Hart, Robert

Online Guides to Research in Environmental History

Environmental History on the Web

An annotated guide to environmental history resources online, maintained by an environmental historian.

[More details]
Nature Transformed: The Environment in American History

Resources on American environmental history maintained by the National Humanities Center.

[More details]
Learning to do Historical Research: A Primer for Environmental Historians and Others

A step-by-step guide to researching history, with specific examples in environmental history. Maintained by William Cronon, the author of Nature's Metropolis.

[More details]
National Geographic Virtual Library

This comprehensive collection includes National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-1994, National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1995-Current, National Geographic: People, Animals, and the World, and National Geographic Kids, as well as a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos.

[More details]
Historical Newspapers

This collection of historical newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Includes:

[More details]
Life Magazine Archive

The Life Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning from its very first issue in November, 1936 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published by Time Inc., the magazine has featured story-telling through documentary photographs and informative captions. Each issue visually and powerfully depicted national and international events and topical stories, providing intimate views of real people and their real life situations.

[More details]
The Nation Archive

The Nation is an important clearinghouse of primary source material in America and around the world. The archive includes perspectives on news, politics, and culture from writers, artists, novelists, and playwrights. The Nation Archive is a fully searchable electronic version of the magazine's complete backfile, dating back to the magazine's first issue from July 6, 1865. 

[More details]
Time Magazine Archive

The Time Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published weekly by Time Inc., the magazine has focused on conveying to a broad audience both domestic and international news and analysis on a spectrum of subjects. Intended to be read in under an hour, each issue of Time contains reports of national and international current events, politics, sports, and entertainment.

[More details]
National Review Archive

National Review has been an important American journal of opinion and has provides readers with well-reasoned editorial commentary on critical issues. National Review Archive offers complete indexing, abstracting and full text for the magazine from the first issue in 1955 to the present. 

[More details]
The New Republic Archive

The New Republic, founded in 1914, is considered of the country's leading journals of opinion on politics and the arts. It features award-winning writers and critics from many fields and from most political viewpoints. This digital archive offers a searchable full-text backfile of all issues of the magazine. 

[More details]
News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive

An archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. These titles offer multiple perspectives on the contemporary contexts of the major events, trends, and interests in these fields throughout the twentieth century. The collection will provide valuable primary source content for researchers in fields ranging from history and political science, through to law and economics.

[More details]

Special Collections Finding Aids

To do research in Special Collections, contact them using the phone numbers or email addresses on this page: http://library.uncw.edu/archives_special/special. Special Collections is generally open Monday-Thursday 9-5 and Friday 9-12, though that may vary.

Stuart Alexander and Sandy Cole Marks Collection

This collection is from the personal papers of Stuart A. Marks, an anthropologist who has focused much of his career on African wildlife management and conservation.

[More details]
North Carolina Coastal Federation Papers

The North Carolina Coastal Federation is a non-profit organization that focuses exclusively on protecting and restoring the state's coast through education, advocacy and habitat preservation and restoration. These records reflect the activities of the organization from its formation in 1982 through 2004. The collection is arranged in six series and includes a wide range of materials.

[More details]

General Online Collections

American Civil Liberties (ACLU) Papers

Drawing from the records of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU), it focuses on civil rights, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court. The American Civil Liberties Union has throughout its history consistently stood at the center of controversies involving the rights of Americans. Its records offer researchers a unique view of the inner workings of the organization and the hundreds of groups with which the ACLU interacted. 

[More details]
American Indians and the American West

Features records on American Indians and the American West from the 19th and 20th Centuries. Part of the History Vault database.

[More details]
American Politics and Society

Features Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon administration records as well as Thomas A. Edison Papers and immigration records. Part of the History Vault database.

[More details]
Women and Social Movements in the United States - Scholar's Edition

Women and Social Movements in the United States brings together primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, Web site reviews, and teaching tools, all documenting the multiplicity of women’s activism in public life.

[More details]

American Environmental History Collections Online

Evolution of the American Conservation Movement, 1850-1920

Part of the Library of Congress's American Memory Project, this project documents the historical formation and cultural foundations of the movement to conserve and protect America's natural heritage, through books, pamphlets, government documents, manuscripts, prints, photographs, and motion picture footage drawn from the collections of the Library of Congress.

[More details]
American Environmental Photographs, 1891-1936

The American Environmental Photographs collection from the University of Chicago consists of 4,500 photographs documenting natural environments, ecologies, and plant communities in the United States at the end of the nineteenth and the beginning of the twentieth century.

[More details]
Western Waters Digital Library

The Western Waters Digital Library (WWDL) provides free public access to a wide range of significant resources on water in the Western United States. 

[More details]
Journals of the Lewis and Clark Expedition

This site features the full text of the Lewis and Clark journals. Also included are a gallery of images, important supplemental texts, and audio files of selected passages plus Native American perspectives. 

[More details]
Gerald W. Williams Collection

This collection consists of the collected historic photographs, personal papers, and research library of Gerald "Jerry" Williams, former national historian for the U.S. Forest Service. 

[More details]
Forest History Society Databases

Databases that provide useful, detailed information about primary or secondary materials that aid research in the broad fields of forest, conservation, and environmental history. Some materials are online. The Forest History Society is located in Durham.

[More details]

Government Information

ProQuest Congressional

Comprehensive online collection of primary source congressional publications and legislative research materials covering all topics, including government, current events, politics, economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine. Finding aid for congressional hearings, committee prints, committee reports and documents from 1970-present, and the daily Congressional Record from 1985-present. Compiled legislative histories from 1969-present.

[More details]
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

(Ireland) - In Ireland, the Environmental Protection Agency protects the environment through its licensing, enforcement and monitoring activities.

[More details]
Incident News

This site has news, photos, and other information about selected oil spills (and other incidents) where NOAA's Office of Response and Restoration (OR&R) provided scientific support for the incident response. It contains information on thousands of historical incidents spanning 30 years of OR&R spill response.

[More details]
Documerica Project

For the Documerica Project (1971-1977), the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) hired freelance photographers to capture images relating to environmental problems, EPA activities, and everyday life in the 1970s. 

[More details]
American Presidency Project

The American Presidency Project (APP) at UC Santa Barbara is a good source of presidential documents on the internet. Their archives contain 123,170 documents and are growing rapidly.

[More details]
Environmental Impact Statement (EIS) Database

The Environmental Impact Statement (EIS) Database provides information about EISs prepared by federal agencies, as well as EPA's comments concerning the EISs. This database contains:

  • Records of all EISs received by EPA since 1987
  • EPA comment letters on EISs since 2001
  • Electronic (PDF) versions of EISs received by EPA since October 2012
[More details]
SuDocs Classification Scheme

Organization scheme for government publications in print.

[More details]

History Librarian

Stephanie
Crowe
Social Sciences Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2058

Twitter: @shcrowe

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED