Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Semester and Year: 
Spring 2020
Course number: 
HST 290
Instructor: 
Seidman, Michael

Search the Library Catalog


Search by:

Use the library catalog to search for books on your topic. You can also use the catalog to find certain types of primary sources - memoirs/autobiographies, collections of primary documents, and US government documents.

Secondary Source Article Databases

Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including art history, world history, military history, women's history, history of education, foreign languages and literatures, and more.

[More details]
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]

Primary Source Databases and Websites

Below are links to databases and websites containing a huge quantity of primary sources of all types that are available online that might be useful for your research for this class. Choosing where to search can be overwhelming - start by thinking about what type of source you're looking for, then read the description below each link. Remember, too, that this list is not exhaustive. If you're not finding what you're looking for, please feel free to contact me and I can try to help.

American Politics and Society

Features Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon administration records as well as Thomas A. Edison Papers and immigration records. Part of the History Vault database.

[More details]
British Library Newspapers

A comprehensive range of regional and local newspapers in Britain between the mid-eighteenth and mid-twentieth centuries, providing a range of publications to reflect the social, political and cultural events of the times. The British Library Newspapers' collections feature London national newspapers, English regional papers, home country newspapers from Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales, and titles in specialist areas such as Victorian radicalism and Chartism

[More details]
Current Digest of the Russian Press

The Current Digest provides comprehensive coverage of national news, current events, economic developments and cultural events in Russia.

[More details]
Digital National Security Archive - (DNSA)

This resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present.

[More details]
Documents on British Policy Overseas

A fully searchable collection of primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO), shedding light on diplomatic history throughout the 20th C. It is based on three print series which form a record of British peacetime diplomacy since the end of the 19th C: British Documents on the Origins of the War 1898-1914, Documents on British Foreign Policy 1918-1939 and Documents on British Policy Overseas. DBPO is produced in collaboration between ProQuest and the FCO.

[More details]
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History

Western European (mainly primary) historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.

[More details]
Foreign Relations of the United States

from the University of Wisconsin Digital Collections.

[More details]
German Propaganda Archive

"is a growing collection of English translations of propaganda material from Nazi Germany and the German Democratic Republic."

[More details]
Historical Newspapers

This collection of historical newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Includes:

[More details]
Internet Modern History Sourcebook

Guide to finding modern history online primary sources subdivided by topic, location, and date.

[More details]
Making Of The Modern World

The Making of the Modern World provides digital facsimile images of primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text searching across millions of pages of works from the periods 1450-1850, 1851-1914, and 1890-1945 provides researchers access to material for research in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more. Includes books, serials, pamphlets, essays and more.

[More details]
News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive

An archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. These titles offer multiple perspectives on the contemporary contexts of the major events, trends, and interests in these fields throughout the twentieth century. The collection will provide valuable primary source content for researchers in fields ranging from history and political science, through to law and economics.

[More details]
Political Extremism & Radicalism in the 20th Century

Political Extremism and Radicalism in the Twentieth Century is a compilation of rare and unique archival collections covering a wide range of fringe political movements. The collections cover the 1900s to the 2010s when the world saw the formation of several civil rights movements for the rights of minorities, women's rights, and gay rights.

[More details]
Times (London) Digital Archive

The Times Digital Archive, 1785–2006 makes 221 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-, and early 21st-century history, literature, culture, business, art, art history, architecture, and more. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable — every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.

[More details]
USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive

USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive allows users to search through and view more than 54,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide.

[More details]

History Librarian

Stephanie
Crowe
Coordinator of Liaison Librarian Services
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2056

Twitter: @shcrowe

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED