Principles of Multimedia Journalism

NOT PUBLISHED
Semester and Year: 
Fall 2021
Course number: 
COM 268
Instructor: 
Rivenbark, Jeff

Online News Reporting Data Sources

Politics

Politwoops

Politwoops tracks deleted tweets by public officials, including people currently in office and candidates for office. 

[More details]
FOIA (Freedom of Information Act) Mapper

Search engine of offline government data (such as records) not publicly released, but legally requested

[More details]
Tracking What the President Says

The blog has visualizations with links to its data sources, it also shows how the process of fact checking of data reporting occurs.

[More details]

General

Census Reporter

Census Reporter is an independent project to make it easier for journalists to write stories using information from the U.S. Census bureau. 

[More details]
Google Dataset Search

Google Dataset Search is a search engine from Google that helps researchers locate online data that is freely available for use.

[More details]
Nasa Earth Data

Access NASA earth science data

[More details]

Crime and Violence

Police Crime Database

The Police Crime Database includes summary information on 13,214 criminal arrest cases from the years 2005-2016 involving 10,901 individual nonfederal sworn law enforcement officers, each of whom were charged with one or more crimes. The arrested officers were employed by 4,104 state, local, and special law enforcement agencies located in 1,648 counties and independent cities in all 50 states and the District of Columbia.

[More details]
Police Misconduct

Search discipline records for 1000's of cops provided by usa.com

[More details]
Gun Violence Archive

The Gun Violence Archive is an online archive of gun violence incidents collected from over 7,500  law enforcement, media, government and commercial sources daily in an effort to provide near-real time data about the results of gun violence.

[More details]
Committee to Protect Journalists

The Committee to Protect Journalists is an independent, nonprofit organization that promotes press freedom worldwide. CPJ defends the right of journalists to report the news safely and without fear of reprisal.

[More details]

Article Databases

Academic Search Ultimate

Academic Search Ultimate offers a comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. Virtually every discipline is represented, ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.Academic Search Ultimate also includes more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press. This collection of videos is updated monthly and includes footage from 1930 to the present.

[More details]
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)

Provides content in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.

[More details]
Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile)

Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media meets the needs of researchers with journal articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature.

[More details]
CQ Researcher

The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week.

[More details]
Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s important social issues. Featuring continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites, this database provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues.

[More details]

News and Media Industry Reports

IBISWorld

A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research. IBISWorld is a powerful business tool to learn about existing clients or potential clients’ core industries of involvement & how changes to those industries can have an impact on you or your organization.

[More details]
Mergent Online

Mergent Online, source for global business and financial information on over 10,000 U.S. public companies, and 17,000+ non-U.S. public companies, as well as extensive corporate and municipal bond, UIT, and dividend information.

[More details]
Statista

Statista aggregates statistical information on over 60,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources, including market research institutes, trade organizations, scientific journals, government databases, and many other private and public resources.  

[More details]

Data and Statistics

Data-Axle Reference Solutions

Reference and research tool providing instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on 24 million U.S. businesses and 235 million U.S. residents. ReferenceUSA makes it faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more.

[More details]
Data-Planet

Provides access to statistical information produced by the U.S. government, major international and intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, private companies, state government agencies, and universities. Create maps and reports from data. Compare and manipulate tens of millions of statistical data series available in the repository. Subjects include health, crime, population, finance, industry, marketing, and more.

Find guides on searching Data-Planet at https://data-planet.libguides.com/ 

[More details]
ICPSR (Inter University Consortium for Political and Social Research)

ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, including a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminology, criminal justice, social work, sociology, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

[More details]
Passport

Euromonitor's Passport database contains data for countries around the world covering consumer market sizes, market data & forecasts, consumer lifestyles, companies and brands, country risk and more.  Features millions of statistics and in-depth reports on 27 industries with demographic, macro and socioeconomic data and analysis on consumers and economies in 210 countries worldwide.

[More details]

Other Government Data Sources

CDC - National Center for Health Statistics

Division of the CDC that collects and reports accurate health statistics for better policy-making. Resource also provides information about publications, budget, and employment.

[More details]
Bureau of Justice Statistics

Governmental source for criminal justice information and statistics. Data topics include corrections, courts, Native American justice statistics, law enforcement, and victims.

[More details]
Bureau of Labor Statistics

Resource for labor market activity, working conditions, price changes, and productivity statistics in the United States. Agency historically has used data collection to inform public and private economic practices and policies.

[More details]

Ophelia Chapman

Ophelia
Chapman
Business and Communication Studies Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2060

Lynnee Argabright

Lynnee Argabright headshot
Lynnee
Argabright
Research Data Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL1029

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.