Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Course number: 
ENG 204

Useful Websites

Communication Design Quarterly

Communication Design Quarterly (CDQ) is the peer-reviewed research publication of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Special Interest Group for Design of Communication (SIGDOC). CDQ is in the ACM Digital Library and is available online.

[More details]
Present Tense: A Journal of Rhetoric in Society

"Present Tense: A Journal of Rhetoric in Society is a peer-reviewed, blind-refereed, online journal dedicated to exploring contemporary social, cultural, political and economic issues through a rhetorical lens."

[More details]
Nielsen Norman Group

A UX research and consulting firm trusted by leading organizations world-wide to provide reliable guidance on user experience.

[More details]
Plain Language.gov

"The Plain Language Action and Information Network (PLAIN) is a group of federal employees from different agencies and specialties who support the use of clear communication in government writing. Our goal is to promote the use of plain language for all government communications."

[More details]
Usability.gov

"Usability.gov is the leading resource for user experience (UX) best practices and guidelines, serving practitioners and students in the government and private sectors.  The site provides overviews of the user-centered design process  and various UX disciplines. It also covers the related information on methodology and tools for making digital content more usable and useful."

[More details]

Professional Writing in Practice

These resources are blogs and examples of professional writing online.

DITA Writer

DITAWriter is a professional writing blog by Keith Schengili-Roberts.

[More details]
Grow Marketing Blog

"Mark Schaefer is a globally-recognized keynote speaker, educator, business consultant, and author. His blog {grow} is hailed as one of the top marketing blogs in the world."

[More details]
I'd Rather Be Writing

This blog is written by Tom Johnson who is a technical writing in San Jose, CA. It focuses mostly on technical writing with an emphasis on technical communication, Swagger, OpenAPI, Agile, information usability, and it has quick reference guides.

[More details]
Scriptorium Blog

This blog is run by Scriptorium, a content strategy consulting services group.

[More details]
TechWhirl Magazine

TechWhirl is an online magazine and blog the has resources for "technical communicators and those interested in content management".

[More details]

Professional Writing Resources

This guide is designed to help you find resources from Randall Library's print and electronic resources for professional writing. See each section for the corresponding resources.  

Please contact Lisa Coats (right-hand column) if you need any research assistance.

Recommended Databases

JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
Oxford Journals

Collections cover Life Sciences, Mathematics & Physical Sciences, Medicine, Social Sciences, Humanities, Social Work, Sociology, English, Creative Writing, Criminology, and Law, and include some of the most authoritative journals in their fields.

[More details]
Research Library

A multidisciplinary, general reference database covering covering over 150 academic disciplines. Consists of a diversified mix of over 6,000 titles - over 75% in full text - from 1971 forward, including scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
ScienceDirect

Elsevier Journal collection covering the sciences, business, child development, computer science, clinical research, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science, physical education and health, psychology, social work, sociology, and tourism.

[More details]
Web of Science

This collection of databases offers an integrated, versatile research platform, it delivers easy access to high quality, diversified scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as search and analysis tools that enhance this content. Includes Web of Science Core Collection, which consists of multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide.

[More details]
Wiley Online Library

A multidisciplinary collection of academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, social work, sociology, English, computer sciences, creative writing, engineering, psychology, law and criminology, life sciences, and business. UNCW has access to 1,600+ journals (coverage dates vary) and 21,000+ online books. 

[More details]

Search the Library Catalog

Books and print materials such as government documents can be found using the Library Catalog.

Search by:

Contact Librarian

Portrait of Lisa Coats
Lisa
Coats
Humanities Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2055

Liaison Librarian to Creative Writing, English, Film Studies, Philosophy and Religion, Women's and Gender Studies, World Languages and Cultures

Interlibrary Loan

If we do not have the full-text of the articles, or a book you need, fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form and request it. This is a free service for students, faculty, and staff. 

ILL page: http://library.uncw.edu/ill

Writing Help

Citation and Bibliography Help

Vetted & reliable tools collected by Randall Library.

[More details]
Writing Services

The Writing Center in the University Learning Center is located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).

[More details]
Read&Write Gold

Free to UNCW faculty, staff, and students, Read&Write Gold is "a flexible literacy software solution that can help readers and writers...access support tools needed to reach their potential, build confidence and independence and succeed."

[More details]

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED