Tests and measures are used in assessment and research and can take the form of surveys, questionnaires, instruments, scales, and more. Finding these materials can be particularly challenging. As you're navigating the resources on this page, note that:

  • No single database provides full-text versions of all tests or measures, so this means that you will likely have to look in a few different places to find them. 
  • Some researchers and test creators publish their complete tests in books and journal articles. Others have sold the “rights” to their tests to publishing companies, and now the publishers distribute (sell) the tests.
  • There are likely many options for relevant tests, depending on the people you want to study and what you want to learn about them.
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Freely Available Tests

BRFSS Questionnaires

The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the nation’s premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services.

[More details]
NIDAMED: Screening and Assessment Tools Chart

From the National Institute on Drug Abuse, this chart provides a comprehensive guide and links to evidence-based screening and assessment tools to be used with patients from adolescence to adulthood. It is organized by substance type, patient age, and administration method.

[More details]
CHIPTS Surveys and Scales

The Center for HIV Identification, Prevention, and Treatment Services (CHIPTS) is a collaboration of diverse, multi-disciplinary HIV researchers from UCLA, Charles Drew University of Medicine and Science, Friends Research Institute, and the RAND Corporation. This Resource Library features freely-available tests relating to alcohol/drug use, HIV-AIDS, and other community health issues.

[More details]
HRSA National Survey of Children's Health Questionnaires

The Health Resources & Services Administration Maternal & Child Health Bureau conducts this National Survey of Children’s Health. The survey provides national and state level estimates of key measures of child health and well-being.

[More details]
National Assessment of Educational Progress Survey Questionnaires

The NAEP questionnaires are completed by students, teachers, and school administrators who participate in a NAEP assessment and collect additional information about students' demographics and educational experiences.

[More details]
University of Pennsylvania Positive Psychology Center

Includes information about various questionnaires related to positive psychology. 

[More details]
RAND Corporation Health Surveys

Available for free in the public domain, these surveys developed by the RAND Corporation are designed for a wide range of purposes, including assessing patients' health, screening for mental health conditions, and measuring quality of care and quality of life. 

[More details]

Starting Points

Consider the following starting points when looking for tests or measures for your research projects:

  • Explore test-specific resources to find commonly used and peer reviewed tests and measures using the resources listed in the box below. 
  • Identify tests you'd like to use by exploring reviews of tests using the resources listed in the box below. (Note that you will likely find the tests themselves elsewhere.)
  • Search for published journal articles that include test questions using the resources in the box below.
APA's Guide to Finding Information About Psychological Tests

Answers to frequently asked questions are provided in this American Psychological Association guide and are divided into three topic areas: published psychological tests, unpublished psychological tests, and additional information on the proper use of tests.

[More details]

Reviews of Tests and Measures

Mental Measurements Yearbook

Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. The MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, sociology, education, business, and leadership.

[More details]
Provides critical reviews on the construction, use, and validity of more than 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. Includes measures from psychology, sociology, education, business, and leadership.
APA Testing and Assessment

APA's Testing Office offers a testing information clearinghouse with links to several full text and sale items, and a list of links to other testing sites; also offers guide to finding and using psychological tests.

[More details]
Buros Center for Testing

Resource for psychology and education research in assessment development. Provides free access to vetted testing materials and questions that can be repurposed by professionals and students for creating diagnostic or subject evaluation materials. From the publishers of the Mental Measurements Yearbook.

[More details]

Finding Measures in Published Journal Articles

If you are looking for a specific test in the databases below, search for it by name with the title in quotation marks (e.g., "Myers-Briggs Type Indicator"). If you do not have a specific test in mind, search for your topic and add terms like "questionnaires," "measures," "surveys," and "tests" to your keyword searches. After obtaining full text of an article, scroll through the article to find test questions. Typically, they will appear in the Methods section or in an Appendix at the end of the article. See below for more specific tips for each database.

APA PsycINFO

This database is the American Psychological Association (APA)'s renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed.

[More details]
If searching by topic, add the term "appended" to a separate search box from your topic keywords and change the dropdown to the right of the search box from "Anywhere" to "TM Tests and Measures." Alternatively, use the Tests & Measures filter which you will find on the left side of the search results page.
APA PsycARTICLES

APA PsycARTICLES contains full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from the American Psychological Association (APA). The database contains more than 164,000 articles from over 100 journals.

[More details]
If searching by topic, add the term "appended" to a separate search box from your topic keywords and change the dropdown to the right of the search box from "Anywhere" to "TM Tests and Measures." Alternatively, use the Tests & Measures filter which you will find on the left side of the search results page.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text

CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. A core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937.

[More details]
Use the Advanced Search: Type in keywords relevant to your topic. Scroll down the page to find the Publication Type menu box and select Questionnaire/Scale. Add additional filters as needed. Click Search to find material.
ERIC (via ProQuest)

The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to augment American education by increasing and facilitating the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.

[More details]
Use the Advanced Search: Type in keywords relevant to your topic. Under the Document Type menu box, select 160: Tests/Questionnaires. Add additional filters as needed. Click Search to find material.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global

A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.

[More details]
Google Scholar

Search engine for scholarly literature such as articles, papers, theses, books, and reports.

[More details]
Sage Research Methods

SAGE Research Methods contains more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method.  Access includes research methods case studies and datasets.

[More details]
Search for terms like "psychometrics," "assessment," "instruments," "measurement," "scaling," or "testing" to learn about conducting research with these methods and techniques.

Contact Your Librarian

Portrait of Meghan Wanucha Smith
Meghan
Wanucha Smith
Health and Human Services Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2053

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

With many thanks to the Behavioral Sciences and Education librarian at Penn State University Libraries and Social Work librarian at the University of Southern California from which information on this page is adapted:

Brissett, A. (2021). Social work. LibGuides. https://libguides.usc.edu/socialwork

Lear, B. (2021). PSYC 571: Tests and measurements (Harrisburg). LibGuides. https://guides.libraries.psu.edu/HBGpsyc571