Psychology

NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Data Studies, Data Sets, & NC Research Repository

The links below are starting points to research data sets and NC DOCKS, the institutional repository for faculty and graduate student research within the UNC system.

Data Citation Index

Discover research data, including data studies, data sets from a wide range of international data repositories and connect them with the scientific literature to track data citation. Part of Web of Science.

[More details]
ICPSR (Inter University Consortium for Political and Social Research)

ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, including a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminology, criminal justice, social work, sociology, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

[More details]
NC DOCKS

NC DOCKS (Digital Online Collection of Knowledge and Scholarhsip) is a digital repository providing information on NC Universities. Includes theses, dissertations, and recently published articles.

[More details]

North Carolina Health Resources

NC Health Info

Resource provides information on topics like health conditions, low and no-cost treatment options, and where to find providers and services in North Carolina.

[More details]

Open Access Repositories

The resources below are freely available databases that may include a variety of material: preprint (draft or preliminary) versions of articles, conference papers and/or posters, book chapters, white papers, and more. These repositories help speed up dissemination and enhance discoverability and access to early-stage scholarship across disciplines. 

It is important to note that these materials have likely not been edited or benefited from the pivotal role of peer-review, which validates and improves the quality of final published journal articles.

Cognitive Science Network (CSN)

Open access repository for cognitive science scholarship, the  study of aspects of human and other animal behavior through the lens of mental operations and the brain.

[More details]
MindRxiv

An open archive for research on mind and contemplative practices, from anthropology to medicine to religion to philosophy.

[More details]
Organizational Behavior Preprints (ORG)

Open access preprint repository for organizational behavior scholarship.

[More details]
PsyArXiv

Repository for the psychological sciences, maintained by the Society for the Improvement of Psychological Science.

[More details]
Psychology Research Network (PsychRN)

Repository for research in psychology.

[More details]
SocArXiv

SocArXiv, open archive of the social sciences, provides a free, non-profit, open access platform for social scientists to upload working papers, preprints, and published papers, with the option to link data and code.

[More details]
Social Science Research Network

The Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a huge open-access repository for scholarly papers in law, the social sciences, business, and some other disciplines. Hundreds of thousands of authors have posted abstracts and papers. SSRN has over 750,000 abstracts—and most of the papers are available for free download (PDF).

 

[More details]

Recommended Article Databases

These are the go-to databases for scholarly and peer reviewed literature focusing on the field of psychology.

APA PsycINFO

This database is the American Psychological Association (APA)'s renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed.

[More details]
APA PsycARTICLES

APA PsycARTICLES contains full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from the American Psychological Association (APA). The database contains more than 164,000 articles from over 100 journals.

[More details]
PubMED

Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed is the most comprehensive biomedical research database, and a key resource used by scientists. Please see the PubMed Overview Sheet for Quick Tours.

[More details]
Web of Science

This collection of databases offers an integrated, versatile research platform, it delivers easy access to high quality, diversified scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as search and analysis tools that enhance this content. Includes Web of Science Core Collection, which consists of multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide.

[More details]

More Helpful Databases

Consider searching one of the databases below for additional material for your psychology research needs.

Psychology Database (ProQuest)

This database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 psychology related titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
Psychology (Gale OneFile)

Gale OneFile: Psychology supports research in all fields of psychology: abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social, and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.

[More details]
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works

Contains more than 2,000 transcripts of actual therapy sessions, 44,000 pages of client narratives and 25,000 pages of major reference works. There are diaries, letters, autobiographies, oral histories, and personal memoirs along with the full text of therapy and counseling sessions themselves. All accounts are non-fiction, delivered in the first person and, where possible, contemporaneous.

[More details]
PILOTS: Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress

The PILOTS bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress, is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont. The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.

[More details]
ScienceDirect

Elsevier Journal collection covering the sciences, business, child development, computer science, clinical research, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science, physical education and health, psychology, social work, sociology, and tourism.

[More details]
JoVE Neuroscience

JoVE Neuroscience presents scientific research on the brain and nervous system, as well as potential treatments for neurological diseases.

[More details]
Henry Stewart Talks: Neurodegenerative Diseases

Seminar style audio-visual talks (over 1,000) presented by leading world experts on the latest developments in the study and understanding of neurodegenerative diseases. The talks will deal with the major neurodegenerative diseases notably Alzheimer's disease, frontotemporal dementia, Parkinson's disease, Huntington's disease and motor neurone disease.

[More details]

Helpful Websites

American Psychological Association

American Psychological Association website. Provides resources such as publications, membership, and educational resources.

[More details]
National Institute of Mental Health

NIMH provides information about mental health, including statistics, descriptions of mental disorders, and information regarding NIMH conducted and funded research.

[More details]
Association for Psychological Science

Membership program for psychological science professionals. Provides resources and information on membership, publications, and employment.

[More details]
Social Psychology Network

Social Psychology Network (SPN) is an educational organization with over 3,500 members worldwide. Includes searchable links and three affiliated partner sites: the Society of Experimental Social Psychology (SESP.org); the Society for Personality and Social Psychology (SPSP.org); and Research Randomizer (Randomizer.org, a web-based tool for random sampling and random assignment). 

[More details]
Whole Brain Atlas

Atlas of the human brain by Harvard Medical School. Older website but informative.

[More details]
Mental Measurements Yearbook

Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. The MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, sociology, education, business, and leadership.

[More details]
Assessment Psychology Online

Reference for clinicians, students, and educators regarding psychological assessment, testing, and practice management.

[More details]

Sociological Associated Resources

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts on the Web is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations, social work, and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.

[More details]
Cambridge Core

Cambridge Core is the Cambridge University Press’s online collection of journals and books across the computer sciences, sciences, social sciences and humanities.  

[More details]
Social Services Abstracts

This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.

[More details]
Sociological Abstracts

Citations to sociology journals and dissertations covering sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, criminology, economics, education, medicine, community development, communication studies, philosophy, demography, gerontology, political science, religion, and social psychology.

[More details]
Wiley Online Library

A multidisciplinary collection of academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, social work, sociology, English, computer sciences, creative writing, engineering, psychology, law and criminology, life sciences, and business. UNCW has access to 1,600+ journals (coverage dates vary) and 21,000+ online books. 

[More details]

Psychology Librarian

Kiana Webster

Kiana
Webster
Social Sciences & History Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2055

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.