Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED

Citing Sources Using APSA

APSA Style Manual for Political Science

Offical style manual for political science, published in 2006.

[More details]
Guide to APSA Style Basics

Helpful guide from the Meriam Library at Cal State University, Chico.

[More details]

Resource Websites

Baldy Editorial Cartoons, 1946-1982, 1997

Collection of editorial cartoons by Clifford H. Baldowski - originals are at the University of Georgia Libraries.

[More details]
Pew Research Center

The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.  It does not take positions on policy issues.  Its work is carried out by these seven projects:  The Pew Research Center for the People & the Press, Project for Excellence in Journalism, Pew Internet & American Life Project, The Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life, Pew Hispanic Center, Pew Global Attitudes Project, Social & Demographic Trends.

[More details]

Associations and Organizations

American Political Science Association

Leading professional association for the study of political science.

[More details]
Center for Democracy & Technology

CDT describes itself as "a champion of global online civil liberties and human rights, dedicated to driving policy outcomes that keep the Internet open, innovative, and free."

[More details]
Center for Voting and Democracy

FairVote "seeks to make representative democracy fair, functional, and representative by developing the analysis and educational tools necessary for our reform partners to secure and sustain improvements to American elections.

[More details]

Data Sources

DataPlace

Housing and demographic data source for communities, regions, and the nation.

[More details]
ICPSR (Inter University Consortium for Political and Social Research)

ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, including a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminology, criminal justice, social work, sociology, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

[More details]
North Carolina State Data Center

Data about the state of North Carolina.

[More details]

Campaigns and Elections Websites

Federal Election Commission

The FEC administers and enforces the statute that governs the financing of federal elections.

[More details]
North Carolina Center for Voter Education

A "nonprofit and nonpartisan organization dedicated to helping citizens more fully participate in democracy."

[More details]
Project Vote Smart

Their mission is to provide "free, factual, unbiased information on candidates and elected officials to all Americans."

[More details]

Political Parties

Communist Party USA

Official website for the U.S. Communist Party.

[More details]
Democratic National Committee

Official website for the U.S. Democratic Party.

[More details]
Green Party USA

Official website for the U.S. Green Party.

[More details]
Libertarian Party

Official website for the U.S. Libertarian Party.

[More details]
Natural Law Party

Official website of the U.S. Natural Law Party.

[More details]
Republican National Committee

Official website for the U.S. Republican Party.

[More details]
World Socialist Web Site

Published by the leadership of the world socialist movement.

[More details]

U.S. Federal Government Websites

Congress.org

Describes itself as "a non-partisan website dedicated to building a knowledge base for professionals wishing to better engage their communities."

[More details]
U.S. House of Representatives

Official website for the United States House of Representatives.

[More details]
U.S. Senate

Official website for the United States Senate.

[More details]
White House

Official website for the White House (executive branch of federal government).

[More details]
Supreme Court

Official website of the U.S. Supreme Court.

[More details]
U.S. Federal Judiciary

Official website for the U.S. federal judicial branch.

[More details]
Department of Defense

Official website for the U.S. Department of Defense.

[More details]
U.S. Department of State

The department's mission is to shape and sustain a peaceful, prosperous, just, and democratic world and foster conditions for stability and progress for the benefit of the American people and people everywhere.

[More details]
Open Secrets

Nonpartisan guide to money's influence on U.S. elections and public policy.

[More details]

State Government Websites

National Conference of State Legislatures

Resources for state legislatures and legislators.

[More details]
North Carolina Official Website

Official website for the state of North Carolina.

[More details]
Office of the Governor

Official website of the office of the governor of North Carolina.

[More details]
Follow the Money

Describes itself as "the nation's only free, nonpartisan, verifiable archive of contributions to political campaigns in all 50 states."

[More details]

Local Government Websites

New Hanover County

Official website for New Hanover County.

[More details]
City of Wilmington

Official website for the city of Wilmington.

[More details]
Municode Library

Organization that codifies municipal laws and ordinances.

[More details]

Think Tanks

Brookings Institution

The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC.

[More details]
Cato Institute

The Cato Institute is a think tank "dedicated to the principles of individual liberty, limited government, free markets, and peace."

[More details]
Center for Law and Social Policy

CLASP seeks to improve the lives of low-income people.

[More details]
Center on Budget and Policy Priorities

CBPP pursues "federal and state policies designed both to reduce poverty and inequality and to restore fiscal responsibility in equitable and effective ways."

[More details]
RAND Corporation

A "research organization that develops solutions to public policy challenges to help make communities throughout the world safer and more secure, healthier and more prosperous."

[More details]
Heritage Foundation

The mission of the Heritage Foundation is to "formulate and promote conservative public policies based on the principles of free enterprise, limited government, individual freedom, traditional American values, and a strong national defense."

[More details]
Migration Information Source

The online journal of the Migration Policy Institute.

[More details]
Public Agenda

This non-partisan website helps citizens to understand crtiical policy issues and helps leaders understand the public's point of view.

[More details]
Urban Institute

"Urban's mission is to open minds, shape decisions, and offer solutions through economic and social policy research."

[More details]

International Affairs Organizations and Foreign Governments

Asia Society

Asia Society is an educational organization dedicated to promoting mutual understanding and strengthening partnerships among peoples, leaders and institutions of Asia and the United States in a global context.

[More details]
Constitution Finder

World constitutions.

[More details]
Government of Canada

Website for Canadian government.

[More details]
Institute for War & Peace Reporting

IWPR supports local reporters, citizen journalists and civil society activists in three dozen countries in conflict, crisis and transition around the world.

[More details]
LANIC: Latin American Network Information Center

Internet portal for Latin American Studies content.

[More details]
United Kingdom Parliament

Official website for UK Parliament.

[More details]
United Nations

The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945. It is currently made up of 193 Member States. The mission and work of the United Nations are guided by the purposes and principles contained in its founding Charter.

[More details]

Miscellaneous Websites

Foreign Consular Offices in the United States

This publication contains a complete and official listing of the foreign consular offices in the United States, and recognized consular officers.

[More details]
North Carolina General Assembly

Use this web site as a tool to track bills

[More details]
American President: A Reference Resource

Information about each American president, from the Miller Center at the University of Virginia.

[More details]
American National Election Studies

The ANES produces data from its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation.

[More details]

Suggested Databases for Public and International Affairs

Looking for articles on a topic related to Public and International Affairs? Search in the recommended databases listed below.

Need help? View our Finding Articles tutorial that will guide you through the process of finding articles using library resources, or Get Help by Email, Phone, or Chat. You can also get assistance from a librarian specializing in your research area.

ProQuest Political Science

This database provides access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. In addition, over a thousand recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics are included, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, law, public administration / policy, and public and international affairs.

[More details]
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
Public Affairs Information Services (PAIS)

The Public Affairs Information Services database provides information on business, public and international affairs, public and social policies and international relations. PAIS includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.

[More details]
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in public and international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. 

[More details]
LexisNexis Academic

News, business, communication studies, criminology, foreign languages and literatures, legal and reference information.

[More details]
Congress.gov

An essential database for criminology, and public and international affairs, Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information, such as bills, committee reports & hearings.

[More details]
CQ Political Reference Suite

An essential database for public and international affairs, CQ Press Political Reference Suite of Online Editions integrates many of CQ Press's acclaimed reference titles on government and politics into a user-friendly, electronic format

[More details]
CQ Press Library

The definitive reference resource for research in American government, current public and international affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. Search or browse across all CQ Press Library collections: CQ Almanac Online, CQ Researcher Online, CQ Weekly, Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America, and Supreme Court Yearbook.

[More details]
HeinOnline

Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S.

[More details]
OxResearch

Created by Oxford Analytica, this multi-disciplinary database helps students research and analyze the impact of probable developments on the business climate. It provides analytical articles covering world and regional economic and political developments of major significance and evaluates issues and events within a coherent political, social and economic framework. Articles are compiled by an international network of over 1,000 faculty members at Oxford and other leading universities around the world, as well as think-tanks and institutes of international standing.

[More details]
ProQuest Military

This database covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, public and international affairs, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering and more. It includes over 550 titles, with more than 370 available in full-text, allowing you to search over 3.5M records, dating back to the early 1990's. Comparable to EBSCOhost Military & Government Collection.

[More details]
ProQuest Social Science Journals

This database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology. Includes over 1000 titles, with the majority available in full text. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
SIRS Government Reporter

SIRS Government Reporter provides current and historic government documents; landmark and recent U.S. Supreme Court decisions; information about federal departments, agencies, elected leaders and more. The main database delivers thousands of carefully selected full-text documents and graphics concerning a wide variety of topics: health, science, economics, environment, politics, public and international affairs, business and industry.

[More details]

More Databases for Public and International Affairs

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts on the Web is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations, social work, and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.

[More details]
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts - (ASFA)

Premier database for literature on the marine science, technology & management of marine, freshwater, & brackish water environments & organisms.

[More details]
CenStats

CenStats provides access to several popular Census Bureau databases, including: Building Permits, Census Tract Street Locator, County Business Patterns, International Trade Data, Detailed Occupation by Race, Hispanic Origin and Sex, USA Counties, and 1990 Public Law 94-171 Data.

[More details]
Congressional Record

Service provided by GPO Access with the official record of the United States Congress.

[More details]
CQ Researcher

The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week.

[More details]
CQ Weekly

Only CQ Weekly reports on the world's most powerful legislative body completely and accurately every week.

[More details]
Current Digest of the Russian Press

The Current Digest provides comprehensive coverage of national news, current events, economic developments and cultural events in Russia.

[More details]
Digital National Security Archive - (DNSA)

This resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present.

[More details]
Environmental Impact Statements: Digests

Detailed abstracts and indexing of the hundreds of environmental impact statements issued each year by the federal government.

[More details]
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management

This multidisciplinary database, provides unparalleled and comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 6000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.

[More details]
Historical Statistics of the United States

This five-volume reference work reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.

[More details]
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences—including anthropology, archaeology, art, art history, family studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, law, music, performing arts, theatre and much more.

[More details]
LexisNexis Academic

News, business, communication studies, criminology, foreign languages and literatures, legal and reference information.

[More details]
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts (NCJRS)

Database of the National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts with summaries of more than 180,000 criminal justice publications.

[More details]
Nations of the World (nations and associated jurisdictions)

Full text of laws, regulations and court decisions for different nations of the world.

[More details]
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

57,000+ biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond. From the earliest times to the year 2000.

[More details]
Polling the Nations

Public opinion polls.

[More details]
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]
Sage Journals Online

Communication Studies, Criminology, Computer Science, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Business, Humanities, Science and Technology, and Social Work. Includes Sage Journals Backfiles 1999-2009.

[More details]
SIRS Knowledge Source

A portal to relevant, credible information selected by SIRS editorial staff. Designed to support student research, study, and homework in key curricula subjects. Includes articles, primary sources, websites and graphics. SIRS is comprised of Issues Researcher (covering the leading issues most studied and debated by students), Government Reporter (historic and government gocuments, directories and almanacs), SIRS Renaissance (current perspectives on the Arts & Humanities) and WebSelect (editorially selected web sites). Comparable to Points of View Reference Center.

[More details]
North Carolina State Data Center (SDC)

The SDC is a consortium of agencies cooperating with the US Bureau of the Census to provide the public with data about the state and its component geographic areas.

[More details]
Statistical Abstract of the United States

The Statistical Abstract is the best known and most popular single source of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. This database is designed to serve as a convenient, easy-to-use statistical reference source and as a guide to statistical publications and sources.

[More details]
UNdata

The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) has launched an internet-based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point from which users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN System.

[More details]
World Development Indicators Online

World Development Indicators Online, published by the World Bank, is a comprehensive database of development information covering more than 575 indicators, 225 countries, and 18 regional and income groups. The extensive collection includes data on population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources and environmental indicators from 1960 onwards.

[More details]
World FactBook

Database of country profiles produced by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.

[More details]
WorldCat.org

Free version of WorldCat. The world's largest network of library content and services, WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. Complete an Interlibrary Loan form (or use our easy "Worldcat - Get it from UCNW" bookmarklet) to request books.

[More details]

Quick Search for Public and International Affairs

Contact Librarian

Rudy
Leon
Associate Director, Library Research Services and Learning Spaces
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2037

Liaison to Philosophy & Religion, Political & International Affairs, and Interdisciplinary Minors

Need Help?

Chat requires JavaScript.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED