Public Health Studies

NOT PUBLISHED

Sources for Statistics and Data

CDC - National Center for Health Statistics

Division of the CDC that collects and reports accurate health statistics for better policy-making. Resource also provides information about publications, budget, and employment.

[More details]
OECD Health Data

International Health Data from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).

[More details]
CDC Fast Stats

Resource from the CDC providing health statistics, and updated data from reports and databases. Topics categorized alphabetically.

[More details]
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality: Research

Research findings, data and statistical tools, reports and publications from Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).

[More details]
State Health Facts

Health Data for states compiled by the Kaiser Family Foundation.

[More details]
North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics

The North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics is responsible for data collection, health-related research, production of reports and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics.

[More details]
Research at Health and Human Services Operating Divisions

Tools and data from the Health and Human Services Operating Divisions for scientists, researchers, and the general public.

[More details]

Struggling to Write a Literature Review?

SAGE Research Methods: Reviewing the Literature

The literature review is an important part of every research project. This guide takes you through the literature review process, explaining the reasons for reviewing the literature and differentiation between the types of literature available.

[More details]
HaPI

Provides access to information on measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes, rating scales, etc.) in the fields of medicine, nursing, public health, psychology, social work, communication, sociology, and organizational behavior/ human resources. Content in HaPI is based on published studies from peer-reviewed scholarly journals, books, technical reports, and test publishers' catalogs.

[More details]
APA PsycTests

APA PsycTests indexes a wide variety of test types and instruments including aptitude tests, personality scales and cognitive functioning measures. Research instruments are available as PDF downloads or multimedia files. Select measurements are available in more than 40 languages. Coverage spans more than 100 years, with a strong emphasis on current research instruments.

[More details]

Open Access Repositories

The resources below are freely available databases that may include a variety of material: preprint (draft or preliminary) versions of articles, conference papers and/or posters, book chapters, white papers, and more. These repositories help speed up dissemination and enhance discoverability and access to early-stage scholarship across disciplines. 

It is important to note that these materials have likely not been edited or benefited from the pivotal role of peer-review, which validates and improves the quality of final published journal articles.

Medical Research Network (MedRN)

Repository for preprints in medicine; medical education; research on infectious diseases, illnesses, and health conditions; clinical practice, diagnostic assessments, diagnoses, treatments, and health outcomes.

[More details]
SocArXiv

SocArXiv, open archive of the social sciences, provides a free, non-profit, open access platform for social scientists to upload working papers, preprints, and published papers, with the option to link data and code.

[More details]
Social Science Research Network

The Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a huge open-access repository for scholarly papers in law, the social sciences, business, and some other disciplines. Hundreds of thousands of authors have posted abstracts and papers. SSRN has over 750,000 abstracts—and most of the papers are available for free download (PDF).

 

[More details]

Recommended Article Databases

PubMED

Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed is the most comprehensive biomedical research database, and a key resource used by scientists. Please see the PubMed Overview Sheet for Quick Tours.

[More details]
Use the Article Type filters to find primary (clinical trials) or secondary (reviews, systematic reviews, meta-analysis) articles on a health or medical topic. Use Interlibrary Loan to borrow articles Randall Library doesn't have.
Health & Medical Collection

Offers comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more. The journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others. Provides in-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications with almost 1,300 available in full text and of these, over 900 include MEDLINE indexing. Includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to medical research.

[More details]
Health and Wellness (Gale)

Gale Health and Wellness offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.

[More details]
Ovid Emcare

Ovid Emcare includes nearly 5 million records of scholarly and peer-reviewed literature in nursing and allied health dating back to 1995, including abstracts. Subject coverage in clinical medicine, health professions, nursing, pharmacology and public health.

[More details]

Other Helpful Article Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. A core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937.

[More details]
Web of Science

This collection of databases offers an integrated, versatile research platform, it delivers easy access to high quality, diversified scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as search and analysis tools that enhance this content. Includes Web of Science Core Collection, which consists of multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide.

[More details]
ScienceDirect

Elsevier Journal collection covering the sciences, business, child development, computer science, clinical research, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science, physical education and health, psychology, social work, sociology, and tourism.

[More details]
Google Scholar

Search engine for scholarly literature such as articles, papers, theses, books, and reports.

[More details]

Choosing Credible Resources for Research

 

 

Course Specific Resources

PBH 400 - Health, Ethics, Policy, and Law

Helpful Links to Resources for PBH 400.

[More details]
PBH 401 - Foundations of Environmental Health

Helpful links to Resources for PBH 401.

[More details]
PBH 452 - Epidemiology

Helpful Links to Resources for PBH 452.

[More details]

Additional Online Resources

Outbreak Science

Outbreak Science, a nonprofit founded in 2016, aims to support open data, open access, and open science in the context of epidemic responses. Find preprints, data, and rapid reviews related to outbreaks.

[More details]
The Guide to Community Preventative Services

The Community Guide is a website that houses the official collection of all Community Preventive Services Task Force (Task Force) findings and the systematic reviews on which they are based.

[More details]
CDC - National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (NCCDPHP)

Division of the CDC that creates programs in the field of public health and public health education. Also provides information on the NCCDPHP's funding for other programs.

[More details]

APA Formatting and Style Guide

Excelsior Online Writing Lab - APA Style

Online citation guide to APA style. Includes 6th and 7th edition material.

[More details]
Citation and Bibliography Help

Vetted & reliable tools collected by Randall Library.

[More details]

Contact Your Librarian

Portrait of Meghan Wanucha Smith
Meghan
Wanucha Smith
Health and Human Services Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2053

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.