Racial and Ethnic Group Relations

This page contains helpful resources related to the Racial and Ethnic Group Relations course, especially regarding how to access various forms of media for course assignments. Other helpful resources may be found in the general subject guides for Criminology and Sociology. 

NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Semester and Year: 
Fall 2021
Course number: 
325
Instructor: 
Robinson, Candice

Popular Newspaper Resources

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Digital archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. An excellent database for history, including full-text and full-image articles. For most dates, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files. For access to recent issues, go to the New York Times online or search US Newsstream.

[More details]
Times (London) Digital Archive

The Times Digital Archive, 1785–2006 makes 221 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-, and early 21st-century history, literature, culture, business, art, art history, architecture, and more. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable — every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.

[More details]
International Newsstream

International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. ProQuest International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.

Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
Historical Newspapers

This collection of historical newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Includes:

[More details]

Accessing Photographs, Art, & Images

Helpful resources for finding freely available photographs, drawings, and images. 

Randall Library -- Resource Type -- Images

A complete list of all of the databases available through Randall Library containing photographs, images, art, etc. 

[More details]
Library of Congress -- Free to Use and Reuse Sets

This page features items from the Library's digital collections that are free to use and reuse. The Library believes that this content is either in the public domain, has no known copyright, or has been cleared by the copyright owner for public use. Each set of content is based on a theme and is first featured on the Library's home page.

[More details]
Includes some of the photographs and other content that are freely accessible through the Library of Congress.
Library of Congress - Digital Collections

Digitized, freely available primary sources from the Library of Congress. (Collection formerly known as the American Memory Project)

 
[More details]
Includes a complete record of the millions of freely accessible items in the Library of Congress's online collections, including books, articles, photographs, drawings, videos, and more.

Video Subscriptions

Randall Library -- Resource Type -- Videos

A complete list of the video content available online through Randall Library at University of North Carolina Wilmington.

[More details]
Met Opera On Demand

Enjoy more than 500 extraordinary Metropolitan Opera performances through the "Student Access" version —including dozens of Live in HD productions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, ‘80s, and ‘90s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1935

[More details]
Enjoy more than 500 extraordinary Metropolitan Opera performances through the "Student Access."
Digital Theatre Plus

Digital Theatre Plus reveals the world of the rehearsal room, dressing room, backstage and beyond, through documentaries and interviews introduce theatre as a vibrant, exciting art form through a familiar and accessible medium. Contains carefully selected collection of full-length plays, supporting texts and teaching guides can be used for planning lessons, teaching in the classroom and for setting homework.

[More details]
A unique collection of opera and symphony performances from the London Symphony Orchestra, the Royal Opera House, Gran Teatre del Liceu and Glyndebourne.
Films on Demand

This collection provides over 23,000 high quality streaming videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. The videos include BBC documentaries, Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries plus interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.

[More details]
The Music and Dance Video Collection found in the Films On Demand database, contains over 660 titles and included popular music, music history and world music.
Filmakers Library Online

An essential film studies database, Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.

[More details]
A collection of documentaries of many subjects including music, composers, musicians and the performing arts.
Docuseek2

Essential documentary films for higher education, includes over 800 streaming video titles. Searchable, interactive transcripts. Videso can be linked to or embedded in Blackboard. Features exclusive educational streaming access to content from Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, the National Film Board of Canada, Scorpion TV Sincerely Films, Terra Nova Films and Villon Films.

[More details]
Documentary films of a variety of subjects including music from a variety of genres including folk, jazz, rock and opera.

Audio Subscriptions

Randall Library -- Resource Type -- eAudio Collection

A complete list of the eAudio content available online through Randall Library at the University of North Carolina Wilmington. 

[More details]
Classical Music Library

Classical Music Library is an ever-growing database of classical music recordings. The collection includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from medieval times to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.

[More details]
Classical Music Library includes recordings from the world's greatest labels. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
Music & Performing Art Search

Searchable database of audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles.

[More details]
Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 87,860 CDs with more than 1,247,500 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CD-length recordings are added to the library every month.

[More details]
Naxos Music Library is the world´s largest online classical music library.
Naxos Music Library Jazz

Naxos Music Library Jazz [NMLJ] is one of the most comprehensive collections of jazz music available online. It offers over 65,000 tracks of jazz from more than 7,000 albums. Over 32,000 jazz artists are represented. The recordings in Naxos Music Library Jazz come from over 200 labels, and include the catalogue of Blue Note Records, Warner Jazz, EMI, Fantasy and others.

[More details]
Naxos Music Library Jazz [NMLJ] is one of the most comprehensive collections of jazz music available online. It offers over 65,000 tracks of jazz from more than 7,000 albums. Over 32,000 jazz artists are represented.

APA and ASA Citation Style Guides

APA Formatting and Style Guide

Purdue OWL guide for 7th edition APA formatting and citations. Includes example papers and citations.

[More details]
ASA Style Guide

Quick guide to citing in ASA format.

[More details]

Find Databases by Media Type

A Randall Library webpage that can be used to search the databases we have available by content format (photo, newspaper, article, etc.)

Randall Library: Find Databases

A Randall Library Webpage that allows you to find content in our databases by format type (photo, video, article, etc.)

[More details]
Find Databases page

Search the Library Catalog


Search by:

Sociology Librarian

Kiana
Webster
Social Sciences Librarian
Office: 
RL2058