Randall Library Resources on Wellness for Faculty

NOT PUBLISHED

Subject:

Library Search

Videos

One Nation Under Stress (Streaming Video, HBO Documentary Films, 2019)

Length: 1:09

From directors/producers Marc Levin and Daphne Pinkerson; explores the causes and effects of chronic stress from scientific, economic and sociological perspectives; Dr. Sanjay Gupta travels across the country, interviewing experts from a wide range of fields who share their insights on why we are experiencing so much stress, its effect on Americans, and its consequences for the health of the nation.

Find Video & DVD's in Randall Library

Shortcut to library webpage wher you can search for videos and dvd's in our library and streaming online collections.

[More details]

Randall Library provides access to many streaming videos. Use this guide to find videos on wellness (and more!)

Family Health Database

NOT PUBLISHED

Includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. It includes important general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines. Part of ProQuest Central.

Health and Wellness (Gale)

NOT PUBLISHED

Gale Health and Wellness offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.

Read more about

Faculty Specific / General

Being Well in Academia: Ways to Feel Stronger, Safer and More Connected (Petra Boynton, 2021)
Electronic

Happy, Healthy You: Your Total Wellness Toolkit for Renewing Body, Soul, and Mind (K. J. Landis, 2017)
Electronic

The Palgrave Handbook of Workplace Well-Being (Satinder Dhiman, 2020)
Electronic

Racial Battle Fatigue in Faculty: Perspectives and Lessons from Higher Education (Nicholas D. Hartlep, 2019)
Electronic

Wellbeing in Higher Education: Cultivating a Healthy Lifestyle Among Faculty and Students (Marcus A. Henning, 2018)
Electronic

Workplace Wellness that Works: 10 Steps to Infuse Well-Being and Vitality Into Any Organization (Laura Putnam, 2015)
Electronic

Fitness and Physical Health

150 Healthiest Foods on Earth: The Surprising, Unbiased Truth About What You Should Eat and Why (Jonny Bowden, 2017)
Electronic

Born to Walk: The Transformative Power of a Pedestrian Act (Dan Rubinstein, 2015)
Electronic

Eat with Intention: Nourishing Food and Meditations for Mindful Eating (Cassandra Bodzak, 2016)
Electronic

Fitness after 40: Your Strong Body at 40, 50, 60, and Beyond (Vonda Wright, 2015)
Electronic

Physical Activity in Natural Settings: Green and Blue Exercise (edited by Aoife A. Donnelly and Tadhg E. MacIntyre, 2019)
General Collection: GV481 .P478 2019

Physical Exercise for Human Health (Junjie Xiao, 2020)
Electronic

Sleep and Health (Michael A. Grandner, 2019)
Electronic

Mindfulness

A curated list of resources on a wide variety of mindfulness topics available through Randall Library: https://library.uncw.edu/guides/randall_library_resources_on_mindfulness

Topics include: popular authors, meditation, mindfulness and the brain, communication, eating, movement, self-compassion, and more.

Relaxation and Stress Reduction

The Age of Overwhelmed: Strategies for the Long Haul (Laura Van Dernoot Lipsky, 2018)
Electronic

In this Moment: Five Steps to Transcending Stress Using Mindfulness and Neuroscience (Kirk D. Strosahl and Patricia J. Robinson, 2015),
Electronic

Practical Stress Management: A Comprehensive Workbook (John Romas, 2017)
Electronic

Radical Compassion: Learning to Love Yourself and Your World with the Practice of RAIN (Tara Brach, 2019)
Electronic

Rumination and Related Constructs: Causes, Consequences, and Treatment of Thinking Too Much (Ashley Borders, 2020)
Electronic

Work and Stress: A Research Overview (Philip Dewe, 2020)
Electronic

Work-Life Supports

Balancing the Big Stuff: Finding Happiness in Work, Family, and Life (Miriam Liss, 2014)
Electronic

Boss of Busy: Combat Burn Out and Get Clear on What Matters (Alison Hill, 2019)
Electronic

Happiness at Work: Mindfulness, Analysis and Well-being (Rajaganesan Anand, 2018)
Electronic

Motivation in Organisations: Searching for a Meaningful Work-Life Balance (Manuel Guillen, 2021)
Electronic

Selected Scholarly Articles

Juberg, Michael, et al. “A Mindfulness-Based Intervention for College Students, Faculty, and Staff: A Preliminary Investigation.” Clinical Case Studies, vol. 18, no. 3, June 2019, pp. 185–199, https://doi-org.liblink.uncw.edu/10.1177/1534650119836166

Larson, Lisa M., et al. “The Academic Environment and Faculty Well-Being: The Role of Psychological Needs.” Journal of Career Assessment, vol. 27, no. 1, Feb. 2019, pp. 167–182, doi:10.1177/1069072717748667. https://journals-sagepub-com.liblink.uncw.edu/doi/full/10.1177/106907271...

Lockwood, Park, et al. "Benefits of a Community Wellness Program in a University Setting: Contributions of Students and Faculty from Multiple Disciplines." College Student Journal, vol. 54, no. 2, 2020, p. 215+. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A634682861/AONE?u=wilm99594&sid=AONE&xid=...

Rhew, Nicholas D., et al. “Shedding Light on Restorative Spaces and Faculty Well-Being.” Journal of Management Education, vol. 45, no. 1, Feb. 2021, pp. 43–64, doi:10.1177/1052562920953456. https://journals-sagepub-com.liblink.uncw.edu/doi/10.1177/1052562920953456

Seipel, Matthew T., and Lisa M. Larson. “Supporting Non-Tenure-Track Faculty Well-Being.” Journal of Career Assessment, vol. 26, no. 1, Feb. 2018, pp. 154–171, doi:10.1177/1069072716680046. https://journals-sagepub-com.liblink.uncw.edu/doi/full/10.1177/106907271...

Find many more articles (popular, trade, and scholarly) through the search box and databases available through Randall Library: http://library.uncw.edu