Tourism, Recreation, and Sport

NOT PUBLISHED

Sources for Statistics and Data

Statista

Statista aggregates statistical information on over 60,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources, including market research institutes, trade organizations, scientific journals, government databases, and many other private and public resources.  

[More details]
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS): Industries at a Glance - Accommodation

Industry data and statistics related to lodging and accomodation services. BLS data includes workforce statistics, earnings, hours, injuries, and workplace trends.

[More details]
BLS Industries at a Glance - Food Services and Drinking Places

Provides data on workforce statistics, earnings and hours, fatalities, injuries, and illnesses, and workplace trends from the US Bureau of Labor Statistics.

[More details]
BLS Industries at a Glance - Arts, Entertainment, and Recreation

Provides data on workforce statistics, earnings and hours, fatalities, injuries, and illnesses, and workplace trends from the US Bureau of Labor Statistics.

[More details]

Choosing Credible Resources for Research

Recommended Databases

Summon (Advanced Search)

Summon allows you to search for articles from journals to which we subscribe, content from participating databases to which we subscribe, freely available content such as from open access journals or government websites, and books, ebooks, government documents, archival materials, special collection and many other types of items from our library. A simple search of one or two words will return thousands of results; use phrase searching, field searching, and facets to refine your search and return fewer results.

[More details]
ProQuest Central

This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete.

[More details]
This database includes more than 160 subject areas and serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports, and videos.
Hospitality and Tourism (Gale OneFile)

Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism provides access to topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. Hospitality and Tourism offers current and relevant content on both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries.

[More details]
SPORTDiscus with Full Text

International citations on exercise, physiology, physical education and health, parks and recreation, recreation therapy, sports and sports medicine.

[More details]
International citations on exercise, physiology, physical education and health, parks and recreation, recreation therapy, sports and sports medicine. Note that access is limited to four users at a time. If you are unable to access the database, please try again shortly.

More Article Databases

Google Scholar

Search engine for scholarly literature such as articles, papers, theses, books, and reports.

[More details]
OAIster

A freely-accessible site for searching millions of metadata records in OAIster, a worldwide union catalog of digital resources.

[More details]
JSTOR

Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences.

[More details]
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database

CBCA is a comprehensive Canadian reference collection covering current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada. Features a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers and magazines. Contains over 4.5 million records and 1,665 titles. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
Canadian reference collection covering current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada. Includes scholarly journals, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers and magazines.

APA Formatting and Style Guide

Excelsior Online Writing Lab - APA Style

Online citation guide to APA style. Includes 6th and 7th edition material.

[More details]
Citation and Bibliography Help

Vetted & reliable tools collected by Randall Library.

[More details]

Contact Your Librarian

Portrait of Meghan Wanucha Smith
Meghan
Wanucha Smith
Health and Human Services Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2053