NOT PUBLISHED

Sources for Statistics and Data

CDC - Data and Statistics on Disability and Health

Resource providing data on topics related to disability such as healthcare cost, national surveys, and state profiles. Provides access to the Disability and Health Data System, a searchable database for disability and health statistics.

[More details]
Occupational Outlook Handbook - Recreational Therapists

Career information about Recreation Therapy.  Includes eduation requirements, median pay, job outlook, etc.

[More details]
ICPSR (Inter University Consortium for Political and Social Research)

ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, including a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminology, criminal justice, social work, sociology, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

[More details]
Statista

Statista aggregates statistical information on over 60,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources, including market research institutes, trade organizations, scientific journals, government databases, and many other private and public resources.  

[More details]

How to Conduct Research

These databases may be helpful as you design interventions and evidence-based activities suited to specific client and situation needs.

Sage Research Methods

SAGE Research Methods contains more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method.  Access includes research methods case studies and datasets.

[More details]
Mental Measurements Yearbook

Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. The MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, sociology, education, business, and leadership.

[More details]
ProQuest Research Companion

ProQuest Research Companion contains more than 80 short videos are organized into nine Learning Modules that answer questions like "How do I choose a topic?" "Where do I find information?" and "How do I evaluate sources?" Different kinds of "pre" and "post" assessment questions make the viewing experience more interactive, while allowing educators to measure students’ learning and identify gaps in their understanding.

[More details]

Choosing Credible Resources for Research

Recommended Recreation Therapy Databases

Use these databases to find scholarly and peer-reviewed material in recreation therapy, applied human services, and health and medical journals.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. A core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937.

[More details]
PubMED

Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed is the most comprehensive biomedical research database, and a key resource used by scientists. Please see the PubMed Overview Sheet.

[More details]
SPORTDiscus with Full Text

International citations on exercise, physiology, physical education and health, parks and recreation, recreation therapy, sports and sports medicine.

[More details]
APA PsycINFO

This database is the American Psychological Association (APA)'s renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed.

[More details]
Interlibrary Loan

Come across a resource that you can't find through Randall Library? You can request it through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service, where we will attempt to borrow the item from another library on your behalf. Learn more about this service here: https://library.uncw.edu/ill 

[More details]

More Helpful Databases

Check out these databases for more articles about allied health, health services, and a variety of disciplines.

Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest)

This database offers comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine and more. Sources include journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more. Provides abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations in nursing and related fields. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
Physical Therapy (Gale OneFile)

Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine covers the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.

[More details]
Health & Medical Collection

This database offers comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more. The journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others. Provides in-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications with almost 1,300 available in full text and of these, over 900 include MEDLINE indexing. Includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to medical research.

[More details]
Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, including articles, papers, theses, books, and reports. How to access full text

[More details]
Visible Body Physiology Animations

A comprehensive collection of nearly 70 high quality videos that illustrate and animate the core physiological processes of the human body.

[More details]
Health and Wellness (Gale)

Gale Health and Wellness offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.

[More details]

Professional Associations, Certification, Licensure

National Council for Therapeutic Recreation Certification

Non-profit, international organization dedicated to professional excellence for the protection of consumers through the certification of recreational therapists.

[More details]
North Carolina Board of Recreational Therapy Licensure

Recreational Therapists and Recreational Therapy Assistants in North Carolina must be licensed by the North Carolina Board of Recreational Therapy (NCBRTL).

[More details]
American Therapeutic Recreation Association

National membership organization representing the interests and needs of therapeutic recreation specialists, or recreation therapists. Provides resources on membership, education, advocacy, and research.

[More details]

Writing a Literature Review?

 

Literature Reviews: UNC Chapel Hill Writing Center

This handout will explain what literature reviews are and offer insights into the form and construction of literature reviews in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

[More details]
Literature Review Techniques: Raul Pacheco-Vega, PhD

Dr. Pacheco-Vega has created a one-stop resource for anyone creating a literature review, regardless of discipline. He shares techniques, resources, and specific and practical strategies from each stage of the process.

[More details]
SAGE Research Methods: Reviewing the Literature

The literature review is an important part of every research project. This guide takes you through the literature review process, explaining the reasons for reviewing the literature and differentiation between the types of literature available.

[More details]

Contact Your Librarian

Portrait of Meghan Wanucha Smith
Meghan
Wanucha Smith
Health and Human Services Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2053

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED