Respiratory Therapy

NOT PUBLISHED

Suggested Books, Readings, and Videos

Nursing Assessment in Video

Resource features training videos from Medcom Trainex. Each title features leading industry experts providing hands-on demonstrations and step-by-step instructions in fourteen assessment areas. All content was produced from 2012 to 2013.

[More details]
Nursing Education in Video: Third Edition

Nursing Education in Video: Third Edition is an up-to-date collection of demonstration and training videos designed to help students improve their clinical skills. This resource provides access to Medcom's complete collection of 300+ full-length training videos allowing for anytime, anywhere access to the latest resources available for nurse training. The third edition includes the videos available in the prior 2nd edition.

[More details]
Visible Body Human Anatomy Atlas

Includes over 5,000 interactive, medically accurate male and female anatomical structures— developed by medically trained medical illustrators and vetted by leading anatomists—covering systemic anatomy, regional anatomy, senses, muscle action, and 25 cross-sections.

[More details]
Visible Body: Physiology and Pathology

Physiology & Pathology covers 48 physiology topics and 57 conditions, with 50 lessons, more than 5,800 3D models, 38 animations, 16 illustrations, and 26 quizzes. In this database users can

[More details]

Sources for Statistics and Data

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Data & Statistics

Data, statistics, and other tools and resources from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC).

[More details]
CDC - National Center for Health Statistics

Division of the CDC that collects and reports accurate health statistics for better policy-making. Resource also provides information about publications, budget, and employment.

[More details]
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality

Homepage of AHRQ, a federal agency which works to improve safety and quality of the American healthcare system. Resource for education and training, funding and grants, tools, and data and research collection.

[More details]
North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics

The North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics is responsible for data collection, health-related research, production of reports and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics.

[More details]
State Health Facts

Health Data for states compiled by the Kaiser Family Foundation.

[More details]

Evidence-Based Medicine Resources

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, and a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases.

[More details]
TRIP Database

Trip is a free clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Also includes images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.

 

[More details]
HealthEvidence.org

Offers access to quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of public health interventions, including cost data. 

[More details]
Campbell Systematic Reviews

An open access journal prepared under the editorial control of the Campbell Collaboration. The journal publishes systematic reviews, evidence and gap maps, and methods research papers.

[More details]
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence Guidance

Based in the United Kingdom, NICE's Guidance includes evidence-based advice, standards, and guidelines for social care and public health services.

[More details]
AARC Clinical Practice Guidelines

From the American Association for Respiratory Care, this resource includes evidence-based clinical practice and expert panel reference-based guidelines, as well as guidelines from other organizations relevant to respiratory care.

[More details]

Open Access Repositories

The resources below are freely available databases that may include a variety of material: preprint (draft or preliminary) versions of articles, conference papers and/or posters, book chapters, white papers, and more. These repositories help speed up dissemination and enhance discoverability and access to early-stage scholarship across disciplines. 

It is important to note that these materials have likely not been edited or benefited from the pivotal role of peer-review, which validates and improves the quality of final published journal articles.

Medical Research Network (MedRN)

Repository for preprints in medicine; medical education; research on infectious diseases, illnesses, and health conditions; clinical practice, diagnostic assessments, diagnoses, treatments, and health outcomes.

[More details]

Recommended Databases

PubMED

Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed is the most comprehensive biomedical research database, and a key resource used by scientists. Please see the PubMed Overview Sheet for Quick Tours.

[More details]
CINAHL Plus with Full Text

CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. A core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937.

[More details]
Ovid Emcare

Ovid Emcare includes nearly 5 million records of scholarly and peer-reviewed literature in nursing and allied health dating back to 1995, including abstracts. Subject coverage in clinical medicine, health professions, nursing, pharmacology and public health.

[More details]
Health & Medical Collection

Offers comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more. The journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others. Provides in-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications with almost 1,300 available in full text and of these, over 900 include MEDLINE indexing. Includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to medical research.

[More details]

More Helpful Databases

Nursing and Allied Health Collection (Gale OneFile)

Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health includes full-text titles cited in CINAHL to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management. Nursing and Allied Health helps nursing professionals working in the field as well as students studying a nursing-focused curriculum.

[More details]
Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, and a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases.

[More details]
Web of Science

This collection of databases offers an integrated, versatile research platform, it delivers easy access to high quality, diversified scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as search and analysis tools that enhance this content. Includes Web of Science Core Collection, which consists of multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide.

[More details]
ScienceDirect

Elsevier Journal collection covering the sciences, business, child development, computer science, clinical research, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science, physical education and health, psychology, social work, sociology, and tourism.

[More details]
HaPI

Provides access to information on measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes, rating scales, etc.) in the fields of medicine, nursing, public health, psychology, social work, communication, sociology, and organizational behavior/ human resources. Content in HaPI is based on published studies from peer-reviewed scholarly journals, books, technical reports, and test publishers' catalogs.

[More details]

Writing a Literature Review?

 

SAGE Research Methods: Reviewing the Literature

The literature review is an important part of every research project. This guide takes you through the literature review process, explaining the reasons for reviewing the literature and differentiation between the types of literature available.

[More details]
Literature Review: Raul Pacheco-Vega, PhD

Collection of blog posts from Dr. Raul Pacheco-Vega on writing literature reviews.

[More details]
Literature Reviews (UNC Chapel Hill Writing Center)

Digital handout on writing literature reviews from the UNC Writing Center.

[More details]

Professional Resources

National Board for Respiratory Care

The national organization that promotes competencies and credentialing for respiratory therapists, NBRC offers resources for licensing, candidates, and education programs.

[More details]
American Association for Respiratory Care

The American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC) is the leading national and international professional association for respiratory care. The AARC encourages and promotes professional excellence, advances the science and practice of respiratory care, and serves as an advocate for patients and their families, the public, the profession and the respiratory therapist.

[More details]
Internet Journal of Allied Health Sciences and Practice

Internationally peer-reviewed, open-access, scholarly, online journal dedicated to the global exploration of allied health professional practice, research, and education.

[More details]
American Respiratory Care Foundation

Grants, research, and conference information for respiratory care professionals

[More details]
North Carolina Society for Respiratory Care

A non-profit organization that supports and benefits respiratory care practitioners of North Carolina as a chartered affiliate of the American Association for Respiratory Care.

[More details]

Contact Your Librarian

Meghan Wanucha Smith

Portrait of Meghan Wanucha Smith
Meghan
Wanucha Smith
Health and Human Services Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2053

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.