Home > Guides >

Science and Medical Writing

Science and Medical Writing

NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
English

Selected Science and Medical Writing Journals

These journals focus on science and medical writing and are good places to find topic-specific research, as well as example texts.

Selected Professional Writing Journals

These journals deal with professional writing broadly. You will find theories and research that can be applied to medical and science contexts, as well as some of the most influential articles on science and medical writing.

Search the Library Catalog


Search by:

To find books, eBooks, and other materials in the UNCW Library Catalog, search by keyword. For example, typing "science" AND "writing" in the keyword search box will retrieve various useful materials about scientific writing.

If you are looking for a specific book, you can select "title" from the dropdown menu and type in the exact title.

Selected Books and eBooks

Mastering Scientific and Medical Writing: A Self-help Guide

This is an eBook. Click on title to access online.
Scientific Writing and Communication in Agriculture and Natural Resources

This is an eBook. Click on title to access online.
Rosetta Stone of Science: Writing for Publication in English

This is an eBook. Click on title to access online.
Explaining Research: How to Reach Key Audiences to Advance Your Work

This is an eBook. Click on title to access online.

Science and Medical Writing Resources

Recommended Databases

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, and a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases.

 [More details]
JSTOR

Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences.

 [More details]
Oxford Journals

Collections cover Life Sciences, Mathematics & Physical Sciences, Medicine, Social Sciences, Humanities, Social Work, Sociology, English, Creative Writing, Criminology, and Law, and include some of the most authoritative journals in their fields.

 [More details]
PubMED

Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed is the most comprehensive biomedical research database, and a key resource used by scientists. Please see the PubMed Overview Sheet for Quick Tours.

 [More details]
Science Database

This database features research journals in the applied and general sciences. Covers more than 1600 titles, with more than 1270 available in full text (including charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements). Part of ProQuest Central.

 [More details]
ScienceDirect

Elsevier Journal collection covering the sciences, business, child development, computer science, clinical research, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science, physical education and health, psychology, social work, sociology, and tourism.

 [More details]
Web of Science

This collection of databases offers an integrated, versatile research platform, it delivers easy access to high quality, diversified scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as search and analysis tools that enhance this content. Includes Web of Science Core Collection, which consists of multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide.

 [More details]
Wiley Online Library

A multidisciplinary collection of academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, social work, sociology, English, computer sciences, creative writing, engineering, psychology, law and criminology, life sciences, and business. UNCW has access to 1,600+ journals (coverage dates vary) and 21,000+ online books. 

 [More details]

Find Background Information in Credo Reference

Search

Helpful Websites

American Medical Writers Association: About Medical Writing

Homepage of the American Medical Writers Association, resource for education, employment, and certification.

 [More details]
Association of Health Care Journalists

Independent nonprofit for improving public knowledge and access to accurate healthcare information.

 [More details]
Council for the Advancement of Science Writing

Advocacy group of journalists, science communications specialists and scientists, working to improve the quantity and quality of science news reaching the public. CASW develops and funds programs to help reporters and writers produce accurate and informative stories about developments in science, technology, medicine, and the environment.

 [More details]
Duke Scientific Writing Resource

Resource for educators and individuals learning scientific writing. Site provides free to access lessons and worksheets.

 [More details]
National Association of Science Writers

This website provides an overview of the NASW. Includes information on news, events, awards, and grants. The website also provides guides to help students and science writers, and information on mentoring programs. In addition to writer resources.

 [More details]
Present Tense: A Journal of Rhetoric in Society

"Present Tense: A Journal of Rhetoric in Society is a peer-reviewed, blind-refereed, online journal dedicated to exploring contemporary social, cultural, political and economic issues through a rhetorical lens."

 [More details]
Rhetoricians of Health and Medicine

This site is a central online space for top scholars from Communication, Technical and Professional Communication, Composition, and English Studies to help build a community, to keep in touch, to offer support, to answer questions, and to discuss common interests and topics.

 [More details]
Science Writing Resources for Learning (ScWRL)

"The Science Writing Resources for Learning (ScWRL) project brings together students, faculty, educational strategists, specialist science writers, writing centre professionals and tutors at the University of British Columbia with a combined interest in science communication."

 [More details]
Scitable English Communication for Scientists

"Scitable is a free online teaching/learning portal combining high quality educational articles with technology-based community features to fuel a global exchange of scientific insights, teaching practices, and study resources."

 [More details]
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee PESC Guide

On PESC’s Guide, "you will find basic information on best practices for communicating about scientific and technical information with scientists, stakeholders, and larger publics. Science communication is a large and complex topic, as well as a highly active area of research and scholarship. No brief guide can teach you all that you might need to know, so the materials here should be considered a good starting place.

 [More details]

Eva Sclippa

Eva Sclippa

Portrait of Eva Sclippa
Eva
Sclippa
Humanities Librarian
Email: 
sclippae@uncw.edu
Phone Number: 
(910) 962-7994
Office: 
RL1041
Meet with Me: 
https://lib.uncw.edu/sclippae-book

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Related Guides

English
Professional Writing

Writing Help

Citation and Bibliography Help

Vetted & reliable tools collected by Randall Library.

 [More details]
Writing Services

The Writing Center in the University Learning Center is located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).

 [More details]
Read&Write

Free to UNCW faculty, staff, and students, Read&Write is "a flexible literacy software solution that can help readers and writers...access support tools needed to reach their potential, build confidence and independence and succeed."

 [More details]

Interlibrary Loan

If we do not have the full-text of the articles, or a book you need, fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form and request it. This is a free service for students, faculty, and staff. 

ILL page: lib.uncw.edu/ill