NOT PUBLISHED
Course number: 
ART 476
Instructor: 
Toll, Pam; Steele, Andi; Johnson, Courtney

Select Websites

Grants.gov

Resource for learning about grants and the application process, as well as a portal to search for grant opportunities across federal agencies.

[More details]
Occupational Outlook Handbook

Website from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics with information about careers.

[More details]
National Endowment for the Arts

The National Endowment for the Arts is an independent federal agency that funds, promotes, and strengthens the creative capacity of our communities by providing all Americans with diverse opportunities for arts participation.

[More details]
UNCW Career Center

For Students and Alumni

[More details]

Starting Points

Oxford Art Online

Oxford Art Online is an innovative new gateway that offers users the ability to access and search the vast content of Grove Art Online and Oxford art reference in one location. Including eBooks on art and art history.

[More details]
Allows one user access at a time. Please try again later if you are not able to access this resource. Oxford Art Online is an innovative new gateway that offers users the ability to access and search the vast content of Grove Art Online and Oxford art reference in one location.
Credo Reference

Credo Reference is an online full-text library that covers all major subjects such as art, business geography, history, literature, music, psychology, social Sciences, and technology. It includes general reference resources such as dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to zoology. It offers easy keyword searching across the database of resources so you don’t need to know the title of a specific reference book to get started.

[More details]

Select Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection

The business research database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. Comparable to EBSCOhost Business Source Complete.

[More details]
Career & Technical Education Database

Source for vocational information. The database includes nearly 600 titles, with more than 500 available in full text for quick access to research on virtually any technical topic. Includes information on careers & vocations, trade & industry, technical resources, and job search. Comparable to Job & Career Accelerator.

[More details]
Fine Arts and Music (Gale OneFile)

Gale OneFile: Fine Arts places millions of articles at the fingertips of serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.

[More details]
JSTOR

Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences.

[More details]
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]
ProQuest Central

This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete.

[More details]
Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile)

Gale OneFile: Vocations and Careers aids users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. Vocations and Careers offers hundreds of current and applicable periodicals ranging from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

[More details]
Academic Search Ultimate

Academic Search Ultimate offers a comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. Virtually every discipline is represented, ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.Academic Search Ultimate also includes more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press. This collection of videos is updated monthly and includes footage from 1930 to the present.

[More details]
Art & Architecture Complete

Art & Architecture Complete is a robust art research database providing full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts. Useful for artists, art scholars and designers, it covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design.

[More details]

Select Image Databases

ARTstor Digital Library

The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 2.5+ million digital images in the arts, art history, architecture, anthropology, history, humanities, foreign languages and literatures, religion, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.

[More details]
Shared Shelf Commons

A great database for art and art history, Shared Shelf Commons is a free, open-access library of images. Search and browse collections with tools to zoom, print, export, and share images. Institutions that subscribe to Shared Shelf, a Web-based service for cataloging and managing digital collections, can share their images with the world via the Commons.

[More details]
New York Public Library Digital Collections

Explore well over a half a million items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections. Spanning a wide range of historical eras, geography, and media, NYPL Digital Collections offers drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, videos, audio, and more. Encompassing the subject strengths of the vast collections of The Library, these materials represent the applied sciences, fine and decorative arts, history, performing arts, and social sciences.

[More details]
Getty Publications Virtual Library

Publisher of materials that cover art, photography, archaeology, architecture, conservation, and the humanities for both the general public and specialists. The Virtual Library contains over 250 free and downloadable titles.

[More details]
Paris Musées Collections Portal

From Smithsonian Magazine:

Now, in a sign of the changing times, the public institution that oversees 14 major museums in Paris is helping audiences around the world easily access and enjoy Courbet’s notorious painting—along with a trove of other important artworks. As Valentina Di Liscia reports for Hyperallergic, Paris Musées has made 100,000 digital reproductions of works held by the city’s museums available free of charge.

[More details]
MoMA Exhibition History

Digital catalog of exhibitions held by the Museum of Modern Art from 1929 to present.

[More details]
Open Access at the Met

On February 7, 2017, The Met made all images of public-domain works in its collection available under Creative Commons Zero (CC0). Whether you're an artist or a designer, an educator or a student, a professional or a hobbyist, you now have more than 406,000 images of artworks from The Met collection to use, share, and remix—without restriction.

[More details]
World Digital Library

The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world.

[More details]

Search the Library Catalog

Books and print materials such as government documents can be found using the Library Catalog.

Search by:

Melissa Raymer

Portrait of Melissa Raymer
Melissa
Raymer
Education and Art Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2054

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.