This guide is meant to get you started as you work on your research for your senior seminar. The resources on this page are not exhaustive, so please don't limit yourself to what you can find here. Also, I always encourage you to reach out to me for additional research assistance - my contact information is on the top right of this page. 

NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Semester and Year: 
Spring 2021
Course number: 
SOC 495
Instructor: 
Ternes, Brock

Starting Points - Journals

These journals specifically publish articles about the environment and society and may be good resources for you to browse through as you choose and narrow a research topic.

Environmental Sociology

 (please note that Randall Library does not have full-text access to this journal, so you would need to request individual articles via Interlibrary Loan)

[More details]

Article Databases

These are a few of the databases that are good to use for finding scholarly literature in sociology. 

Sociological Abstracts

Citations to sociology journals and dissertations covering sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, criminology, economics, education, medicine, community development, communication studies, philosophy, demography, gerontology, political science, religion, and social psychology.

[More details]
A standard database for sociological research.
Sage Journals Online

Communication Studies, Criminology, Computer Science, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Business, Humanities, Science and Technology, and Social Work. Includes Sage Journals Backfiles 1999-2009.

[More details]
A multidisciplinary database that is particularly useful for research in the social sciences.
ScienceDirect

Elsevier Journal collection covering the sciences, business, child development, computer science, clinical research, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science, physical education and health, psychology, social work, sociology, and tourism.

[More details]
Focuses on the sciences, broadly, including social sciences.

Additional Sources

Although not traditional scholarly literature, these resources contain incredibly useful information on the environment and society (several recommended by Dr. Ternes).

Yale Program on Climate Change Communication

Yale Program on Climate Change Communication

[More details]
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) Reports

Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) Reports

[More details]
Daily Climate environmental newsletter

Daily Climate environmental newsletter

[More details]
American Sociological Association (ASA)'s Section on Environmental Sociology

American Sociological Association (ASA)'s Section on Environmental Sociology

[More details]
Think Tank Search

allows you to search across the websites hundreds of "think tanks" (organizations that produce research on a variety of issues).

[More details]

Sociology Librarian

Portrait of Stephanie Crowe
Stephanie
Crowe
Coordinator of Liaison Librarian Services
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2056

Twitter: @shcrowe

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.