- Find & Research
- Get Help
- Use the Library
- About
- News & Events
Set & Lighting Design
Subject:
Set & Lighting Design
Lighting Design
Theatrical Lighting Database
includes actual plots, focus charts, cue sheets and much more from landmark productions. Digitized from the collections of the New York Public Library.
[More details]
The art of light on stage : lighting in contemporary theatrePN2091.E4 A28 2016
The assistant lighting designer's toolkitPN2091.E4 M37 2014
Automated lighting : the art and science of moving light in theatre, live performance, and entertainmentPN2091.E4 C33 2010
Designing with light : an introduction to stage lightingPN2091.E4 G5 2014
Electricity for the entertainment electrician & technicianTK152 .C2185 2014
Set Design & Scenography
Technical design solutions for theatre (3 volumes)PN2091.M3 T43 2002
Fundamentals of theatrical design
From page to stage : how theatre designers make connections between scripts and imagePN2091.S8 I45 1998
Designing and drawing for the theatrePN2091.S8 P36 1995
A practical guide to greener theatre : introduce sustainability into your productions![Amy Richard (Oregon Shakespeare Festival) [CC0], via Wikimedia Commons](https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Thomas_Theatre_set_2014.jpg){kind=link}
Search the Library Catalog
Finding Books on the Shelf
Ready to find library books on the shelf? Our books are arranged in Library of Congress call number order. Below are some helpful links and just ask a librarian for help if needed.
Library of Congress Classification (LC)
Randall Library help page for Library of Congress catalog classifications.
[More details]
More Stage-setting and Scenery Books
Books from Randall Library with the Subject heading "Theaters -- Stage-setting and scenery."
[More details]Watch Filmed Productions
Digital Theatre Plus
Digital Theatre Plus reveals the world of the rehearsal room, dressing room, backstage and beyond, through documentaries and interviews introduce theatre as a vibrant, exciting art form through a familiar and accessible medium. Contains carefully selected collection of full-length plays, supporting texts and teaching guides can be used for planning lessons, teaching in the classroom and for setting homework.
[More details]contains a selections of "recent British theatre productions captured authentically onscreen in high definition."
Theatre in Video: Volume I
Theatre in Video: Volume I contains hundreds of videos, including documentaries and definitive performances of the world’s most important plays. From celebrated productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett, the collection covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances deliver an authentic, behind-the-scenes look at hundreds of productions.
[More details]contains 250+ definitive performances of the world's leading plays & 100+ film documentaries in streaming video.
Theatre in Video: Volume II
Theatre in Video: Volume II brings together classic and contemporary plays and documentaries. With a greater focus on contemporary and international productions, Theater in Video: Volume II offers a simple way for libraries to acquire highly valued and often difficult-to-find performances. Users can view the works of widely studied playwrights and theatre artists from around the globe, including many new performances from Shakespeare's Globe Theatre collection (Opus Arte), Theatre Arts Films, the BBC, and TMW Media Group.
[More details]contains "a greater focus on contemporary and international productions."
conatins 37 Shakespeare plays from the BBC.
Need Help?
Interlibrary Loan
If we do not have the full-text of the articles, or a book you need, fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form and request it. This is a free service for students, faculty, and staff.
ILL page: lib.uncw.edu/ill
Writing Help
Writing Services
The Writing Center in the University Learning Center is located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).
[More details]
Read&Write
Free to UNCW faculty, staff, and students, Read&Write is "a flexible literacy software solution that can help readers and writers...access support tools needed to reach their potential, build confidence and independence and succeed."
[More details]