- Find & Research
- Get Help
- Use the Library
- About
- News & Events
Slavery and Capitalism
This page contains a thorough list of primary sources related to black enslavement in the United States, as well as additional resources related to the social and economic history of the relationship between American slavery and capitalism. Other helpful resources may be found in the general subject guides for History and Finance, as well as the suggested guides listed in the right column.
Relevant Books
Capitalism, slavery, and republican values : antebellum political economists, 1819-1848
From slavery to agrarian capitalism in the cotton plantation South : central Georgia, 1800-1880 
The half has never been told : slavery and the making of American capitalism
Reckoning with Slavery [electronic resource] : Gender, Kinship, and Capitalism in the Early Black Atlantic
Slavery, Capitalism, and Politics in the Antebellum Republic
Slavery's Capitalism : A New History of American Economic Development
Milestone Documents in African American History
Milestone Documents in American HistoryRelevant Newspaper Databases
African American Newspapers, 19th century
This collection of African American newspapers contains information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. The collection also provides a great number of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.
[More details]
America: History & Life
Provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.
[More details]
America's Historical Newspapers
Early American Newspapers provides an unparalleled record of daily life in hundreds of diverse American communities. Through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative updates, letters, poetry, advertisements, election returns, matrimony and death notices, maps, cartoons, illustrations and more, these historical newspapers offer researchers essential local and national perspectives on American history, culture and daily life across three centuries. The collections feature more than 6,000 titles from all 50 states and Washington, D.C.
[More details]
America's Newspapers
The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community.
[More details]
American Periodicals
Contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. It includes American Periodicals Series and American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries.
[More details]
Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690 to present.
[More details]
HarpWeek
The Civil War Era and Reconstruction I and II full text of Harper's Weekly, 1857-1877.
[More details]
Historical Newspapers
This collection of historical newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Includes:
[More details]
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Resource provides searchable archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. Contains digital reproductions of every page from every issue in downloadable PDF files.
[More details]
Pennsylvania Gazette
Published in Philadelphia The Pennsylvania Gazette is considered The New York Times of the 18th century. It provides the reader with a first hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods.
[More details]Relevant Primary Source Collections
Accessible Archives
Diverse primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and in a comprehensive databases.
[More details]
American Memory Project
Images, videos, and presentations compiled by the U.S. Library of Congress related to American history.
[More details]
American Rhetoric
Database of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events.
[More details]
Archives Unbound
Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.
[More details]
Born in Slavery : Slave Narratives from the Federal Writer's Project 1936-1938 (Library of Congress)
Collection of more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. Volumes organized by state.
[More details]
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates
Full-text documents from U.S. Congress debates and legislative proceedings. Documents from 1774-1875.
[More details]
Colonial State Papers
The Colonial State Papers offers access to over 7,000 hand-written documents and more than 40,000 bibliographic records with this incredible resource on Colonial History. In addition to Britain's colonial relations with the Americas and other European rivals for power, this collection also covers the Caribbean and Atlantic world. It is an invaluable resource for scholars of early American history, British colonial history, Caribbean history, maritime history, Atlantic trade, plantations, and slavery.
[More details]
Digital Library on American Slavery
Searchable database of detailed personal information about slaves, slaveholders, and free people of color, numbering 150,000.
[More details]
Documenting the American South
Resource providing documents, images, and audio files related to the history, literature, and culture of the American South.
[More details]
HeinOnline
Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S.
[More details]
History Vault
Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections. Our collections include Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle, Southern Life and Slavery, American Politics and Society and Women’s Studies.
[More details]
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Resource includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
[More details]
Sabin Americana
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more.
[More details]
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Primary source materials for the study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective. Our access includes the collections Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, The Institution of Slavery, and The Age of Emancipation. Includes newspaper collections, books and a broad selection of documents from several different archives.
[More details]
Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War
Features Petitions concerning race and slavery, Southern Plantation records, and Civil War and Reconstruction Era records. Part of the History Vault database
[More details]
University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC)
Archival data collected by the University of Florida. Includes documents such as historical newspapers, Florida law, maps, and records and organization information related to the fields of arts, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
[More details]
U.S. History (Gale in Context)
Gale In Context: U.S. History is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. U.S. History merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. U.S. History in Context is cross-searchable with World History in Context .
[More details]
Women and Social Movements in the United States - Scholar's Edition
Women and Social Movements in the United States brings together primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, Web site reviews, and teaching tools, all documenting the multiplicity of women’s activism in public life.
[More details]Relevant Databases
America: History & Life
Provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.
[More details]
CQ Press Library
The definitive reference resource for research in American government, current public and international affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. Search or browse across all CQ Press Library collections: CQ Almanac Online, CQ Researcher Online, CQ Weekly, Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America, Voting and Elections Collection, and Supreme Court Yearbook.
[More details]
Credo Reference - US Civil War
is a collection of reference articles related to the US Civil War
[More details]
Credo Reference - US History
is a collection of reference articles related to US History.
[More details]
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including art history, world history, military history, women's history, history of education, foreign languages and literatures, and more.
[More details]
JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences.
[More details]
Making Of The Modern World
Provides digital facsimile images of primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text searching across millions of pages of works from the periods 1450-1850, 1851-1914, and 1890-1945 provides researchers access to material for research in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more. Includes books, serials, pamphlets, essays and more.
[More details]
Statista
Statista aggregates statistical information on over 60,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources, including market research institutes, trade organizations, scientific journals, government databases, and many other private and public resources.
[More details]"Runaway Slave Notice," via the George A. Smathers Libraries Digital Collections, University of Florida
History Librarian
Kiana Webster
Kiana
Webster
Social Sciences & History Librarian
Email:
Phone Number:
Office:
RL2055
Meet with Me: