I've included links below to the GSS and to ANES, places where Dr. Ternes suggests that you might look for datasets to analyze. I also included links to databases that might help you as you search for sources for your literature reviews on your topics. If you have any questions, please feel free to get in touch with me (contact information is on the top right of this page). 

NOT PUBLISHED
Semester and Year: 
Fall 2020
Course number: 
SOC/CRM 301
Instructor: 
Ternes, Brock

Data Sources

General Social Survey (GSS) Data Explorer

Publicly available datasets on American society.

[More details]
American National Election Studies (ANES)

Data on voting, public opinion, and political participation.

[More details]

Databases for Literature on Your Topic

I've included some databases that might help you find academic literature on your topic. Bear in mind that the best databases will vary depending on what you are researching, so please feel free to consult me for any additional suggestions. 

Sociological Abstracts

Citations to sociology journals and dissertations covering sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, criminology, economics, education, medicine, community development, communication studies, philosophy, demography, gerontology, political science, religion, and social psychology.

[More details]
Criminal Justice Abstracts (Ebsco)

Criminal Justice Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to criminal justice, criminology, and sociology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts' coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.

[More details]
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, law, public administration / policy, and public and international affairs.

[More details]
Sage Journals Online

Communication Studies, Criminology, Computer Science, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Business, Humanities, Science and Technology, and Social Work. Includes Sage Journals Backfiles 1999-2009.

[More details]
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]

SOC/CRM Librarian

Portrait of Stephanie Crowe
Stephanie
Crowe
Coordinator of Liaison Librarian Services
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2056

Twitter: @shcrowe

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED