- Find & Research
- Get Help
- Use the Library
- About
- News & Events
Sociology
Subject:
Statistics
ICPSR (Inter University Consortium for Political and Social Research)
ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, including a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminology, criminal justice, social work, sociology, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
[More details]
Statista
Statista aggregates statistical information on over 60,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources, including market research institutes, trade organizations, scientific journals, government databases, and many other private and public resources.
[More details]
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract is the best known and most popular single source of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. This database is designed to serve as a convenient, easy-to-use statistical reference source and as a guide to statistical publications and sources.
[More details]
Data Citation Index
Discover research data, including data studies, data sets from a wide range of international data repositories and connect them with the scientific literature to track data citation. Part of Web of Science.
[More details]
iPOLL
The largest collection of poll data anywhere—1935 to present, all US polling firms, broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. International and US datasets available for immediate download.
[More details]
Roper Center
The largest collection of poll data anywhere—1935 to present, all US polling firms, broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. International and US datasets available for immediate download.
[More details]Open Access Repositories
The resources below are freely available databases that may include a variety of material: preprint (draft or preliminary) versions of articles, conference papers and/or posters, book chapters, white papers, and more. These repositories help speed up dissemination and enhance discoverability and access to early-stage scholarship across disciplines.
It is important to note that these materials have likely not been edited or benefited from the pivotal role of peer-review, which validates and improves the quality of final published journal articles.
Race and Social Inequity hub
Open access repository includes early-stage research related to systemic racism, racial violence, law enforcement reform, and social justice movements.
[More details]
SocArXiv
SocArXiv, open archive of the social sciences, provides a free, non-profit, open access platform for social scientists to upload working papers, preprints, and published papers, with the option to link data and code.
[More details]
Social Science Research Network
The Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a huge open-access repository for scholarly papers in law, the social sciences, business, and some other disciplines. Hundreds of thousands of authors have posted abstracts and papers. SSRN has over 750,000 abstracts—and most of the papers are available for free download (PDF).
[More details]
Sociology Research Network (SociologyRN)
Open access preprint server that provides a venue for sociology scholarship.
[More details]Recommended Databases
Sociological Abstracts
Citations to sociology journals and dissertations covering sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, criminology, economics, education, medicine, community development, communication studies, philosophy, demography, gerontology, political science, religion, and social psychology.
[More details]
Sociology Database
This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, religion, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts. As well as hundreds of full text scholarly journals, the database also includes over 500 recent full-text doctoral dissertations on sociology. Part of ProQuest Central.
[More details]
Criminal Justice Abstracts (Ebsco)
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to criminal justice, criminology, and sociology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts' coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.
[More details]
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest)
A comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields. The database includes abstract and indexing for 250 titles, with more than 100 available in full-text. Part of ProQuest Central.
[More details]
APA PsycINFO
This database is the American Psychological Association (APA)'s renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed.
[More details]
Web of Science
This collection of databases offers an integrated, versatile research platform, it delivers easy access to high quality, diversified scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as search and analysis tools that enhance this content. Includes Web of Science Core Collection, which consists of multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide.
[More details]
SpringerLink
SpringerLink offers online access to over 1400 fully peer reviewed journals and hundreds of ebooks in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, social work, sociology, and economics.
[More details]
Sage Journals Online
Communication Studies, Criminology, Computer Science, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Business, Humanities, Science and Technology, and Social Work. Includes Sage Journals Backfiles 1999-2009.
[More details]
ScienceDirect
Elsevier Journal collection covering the sciences, business, child development, computer science, clinical research, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science, physical education and health, psychology, social work, sociology, and tourism.
[More details]
JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences.
[More details]
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts on the Web is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations, social work, and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.
[More details]Other Databases
Anthropological Literature
Anthropological Literature is a comprehensive international resource for the fields of anthropology, archaeology and related interdisciplinary research. Specifically, this includes social and cultural anthropology, Old and New World archaeology, physical anthropology and anthropological aspects of related subjects, emphasizing Mesoamerican, Native American and Andean archaeology and ethnology.
[More details]
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
Provides content in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
[More details]
Congress.gov
Official website for U.S. federal legislative information. Provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. Usually updated the morning after session adjourns.
[More details]
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
[More details]
HeinOnline
Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S.
[More details]
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. The MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, sociology, education, business, and leadership.
[More details]
PILOTS: Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress
The PILOTS bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress, is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont. The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.
[More details]
Project MUSE
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
[More details]
Social Science Database
This database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology. Includes over 1000 titles, with the majority available in full text. Part of ProQuest Central.
[More details]
Social Sciences Databases
Search 29 databases related to the Social Sciences simultaneously.
[More details]
APA PsycARTICLES
APA PsycARTICLES contains full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from the American Psychological Association (APA). The database contains more than 164,000 articles from over 100 journals.
[More details]
Women and Social Movements in the United States - Scholar's Edition
Women and Social Movements in the United States brings together primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, Web site reviews, and teaching tools, all documenting the multiplicity of women’s activism in public life.
[More details]Sociology Librarian
Kiana Webster
Kiana
Webster
Social Sciences & History Librarian
Email:
Phone Number:
Office:
RL2055
Meet with Me:
Need Help?
Helpful Websites
Quick Tips for ASA Style
Style sheet with information from the American Sociological Association style guide.
[More details]
APA Formatting and Style Guide
Purdue OWL guide for 7th edition APA formatting and citations. Includes example papers and citations.
[More details]
Web Center for Social Research Methods
Website with resources and links for people involved in applied social research and evaluation.
[More details]
Resources for Sociology
Links to sociology resources from the University of New England's social work program.
[More details]
Clippings
Resource linking social science research in blog format, curated by The Society Pages at the University of Minnesota. (Formerly called Context Crawler)
[More details]