Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Course number: 
SOC 460
Instructor: 
Waity, Jill

Websites

FactCheck

The Annenberg Public Policy Center provides this service to fact check the claims made in articles, speeches, debates, etc.

[More details]
PolitiFact

A project of the St. Petersburg (FL) Times, this website grades articles, speeches, etc. on a "Truth-O-Meter."

[More details]
Pew Research Center

The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.  It does not take positions on policy issues.  Its work is carried out by these seven projects:  The Pew Research Center for the People & the Press, Project for Excellence in Journalism, Pew Internet & American Life Project, The Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life, Pew Hispanic Center, Pew Global Attitudes Project, Social & Demographic Trends.

[More details]
Public Agenda

This non-partisan website helps citizens to understand crtiical policy issues and helps leaders understand the public's point of view.

[More details]
Policy Archive

This digital library of public policy research is a joint effort of the Center for Governmental Studies and Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis.

[More details]
Nelson A. Rockefeller Institute of Government

Although its focus is on New York State, this site provides information on many important public policy issues, e.g., state and local finance, health care, education, employment, and social services.

[More details]
Think Tanks and Civil Societies Program

The International Relations Program at the University of Pennsylvania hosts this site. Here you will find an annual survey of the best think tanks (on various criteria) and a growing database of think tanks.

[More details]
NIRA World Directory of Think Tanks

This directory, updated in 2005, arranged by name and country, provides descriptions of think tanks and links to their websites.

[More details]

Datasets, Maps, and Imagery

Data.gov

The official U.S. government website that provides increased public access to federal government datasets.

[More details]
ICPSR (Inter University Consortium for Political and Social Research)

ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, including a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminology, criminal justice, social work, sociology, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

[More details]
SimplyAnalytics

Web-based mapping application that lets you create professional-quality maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data.

[More details]

Databases

CQ Researcher

The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week.

[More details]
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
Public Affairs Information Services (PAIS)

The Public Affairs Information Services database provides information on business, public and international affairs, public and social policies and international relations. PAIS includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.

[More details]
Social Services Abstracts

This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.

[More details]

Government Resources

Randall Library is a partial depository of the US Depository Library System, receiving over 70% of documents issued through the system. Since 1990, each item has been added to the library catalog. For earlier documents, please ask for assistance. You can search some of the finding aids listed below to get the SuDoc call number, but we are happy to help you determine if we have the item. Interlibrary Loan can be used to request documents we do not have. 

More and more documents are "born digital." We have links to electronic versions in our catalog, but you may also find them through a Google search.

HeinOnline

Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S.

[More details]
USA.gov

As the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web. USA.gov also serves as the catalyst for a growing electronic government.

[More details]
FDsys

GPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys) is an advanced digital system that will enable GPO to manage Government information from all three branches of the U.S. Government.

[More details]
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance

Describes federal grant funding opportunities.

[More details]
North Carolina Official Website

Official website for the state of North Carolina.

[More details]
New Hanover County

Official website for New Hanover County.

[More details]
City of Wilmington

Official website for the city of Wilmington.

[More details]
Bladen County

Official website for Bladen County.

[More details]
Brunswick County

Official website for Brunswick County.

[More details]
Columbus County

Official website for Columbus County.

[More details]
Duplin County

Official website for Duplin County.

[More details]
Onslow County

Official website for Onslow County.

[More details]
Sampson County

Official website for Sampson County.

[More details]

Statistics

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States

The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

[More details]
American FactFinder

American FactFinder is a search engine that provides access to the population, housing and economic data collected by the Census Bureau. American FactFinder can be used to retrieve data from the 1990 and 2000 Census, Population Estimates, Economic Census and Surveys and American Community Survey (ACS). Some of the data from these programs will not be available for rural communities.

[More details]
States Perform

The Council of State Governments provides this tool to compare the performance of state on measures such as economics, public safety, energy and the environment, transportation, health, education, etc.

[More details]
Bureau of Justice Statistics

The United States' primary source for criminal justice statistics.

[More details]
Bureau of Labor Statistics

The Bureau of Labor Statistics has provided essential economic information to support public and private decision-making since 1884.

[More details]
National Center for Health Statistics (CDC)

Provides US public health statistics including diseases, pregnancies, births, aging, and mortality. Public use data files are available for download.

[More details]
National Center for Education Statistics

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) collects, analyzes, and makes available data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.

[More details]
Agricultural Statistics

Statistics on agricultural production, consumption, prices, costs, etc.

[More details]
LINC

Over 1300 data items from state and federal agencies for North Carolina.  Historical data and projections, 1960s to 2030.  State, county, municipality, township, tract, block group, and block coverage.  Statistics in these areas:  Population and Housing, Vital Statistics and Health, Social and Human Services, Law Enforcement, Courts, and Corrections, Environment, Recreation, and Resources, Energy and Utilities, Government, Employment and Income, Business and Industry, Agriculture, Transportation.

[More details]
Statista

Statista aggregates statistical information on over 60,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources, including market research institutes, trade organizations, scientific journals, government databases, and many other private and public resources.  

[More details]

Search the Library Catalog

Books and print materials such as government documents can be found using the Library Catalog.

Search by:

Contact Librarian

Stephanie
Crowe
Coordinator of Liaison Librarian Services
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2072

Twitter: @shcrowe

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED