Southeast North Carolina Writers

Summary

This guide identifies collections featuring writers, authors, and others who have published or written a substantial work. Creators are largely native to Southeast North Carolina or have significant ties to the area through their work, family, or other connections, including via UNCW's highly lauded Creative Writing program. This includes material in various genres, such as fiction, non-fiction, and poetry, as well as in formats like unpublished manuscripts, correspondence, and comic books. Content favors the Wilmington area and its history, though also includes many personal stories and experiences. Collections also contain the corresponding research and notes of a particular work, with some available in their final form in either Special Collections or the General Collection. Please see the Related Works section for more information on their availability.

UNCW Publishing Resources

Ecotone

Writing and art magazine focused on place-based works. Founded at UNCW in 2005.

[More details]
Chautauqua Literary Journal

Publishes writing that speaks to Chautauqua's tradition of inquiry into questions of personal, social, political, spiritual, and aesthetic importance — and when, where, and how those values and questions intersect.

[More details]
Lookout Books

Founded in 2009 by publisher Emily Louise Smith and editor emeritus Ben George as the literary book imprint of the Department of Creative Writing at the University of North Carolina Wilmington, Lookout seeks out emerging and historically underrepresented voices, as well as overlooked gems by established writers. In a publishing landscape increasingly indifferent to literary innovation, Lookout offers a haven for books that matter.

[More details]

Manuscript Collections - Personal

MS 014 George Bernard Shaw Private Paper

This collection contains one postcard with a printed mini-essay on the value of a forty letter “alfabet” by Bernard Shaw; the address Ayot Saint Lawrence, Welwyn, Hertfordshire, is also printed at the end of the card. Added to this are further, handwritten arguments supporting the need for an expanded alphabet, which are dated December 26, 1947, and initialed “G.B.S.” The card is addressed to “William Russell M.S. Athens (Georgia) U.S. America.” The card bears an English stamp and is hand-cancelled.

[More details]
MS 046 Dr. Hubert A Eaton, Sr. Papers

This extensive collection includes the original materials and photocopies of the legal actions instituted by Dr. Eaton and his fellow plaintiffs to compel the integration of the fundamental institutions of New Hanover County--the public schools and the hospital--in the 1960s and 1970s. Moreover, the collection also reflects the broad spectrum of Dr. Eaton's interests and activities which included medical and public health issues, education, civil rights and athletics.

[More details]
MS 063 A Balkan Sketchbook by Claude Howell

This collection contains the galley, with artist's handwritten corrections for A Balkan Sketchbook by Claude Howell and fifteen (15) leaves (30 sketches) of the original sketches. The book was published as a first and only edition in December 1977. The edition was limited to 500 signed and numbered copies.

[More details]
MS 068 Jessie Rehder Collection

This collection contains papers relating to Jessie Clifford Rehder's career as a writer and academic. The collection includes the manuscripts, drafts, and edits of Rehder's writings that varied in genre from poems to novels. In addition, the collection includes documents, correspondence, journals, and newspaper clippings of Rehder's time as a lecturer at UNC Chapel Hill.

[More details]
MS 113 Will Inman Correspondence

This collection contains correspondence from Wilmington native Will Inman to Neal Thomas, as well as some of Inman's works and letters to additional recipients.

[More details]
MS 122 Susan Taylor Block Collection

This collection contains various articles and letters written by Susan Taylor Block, as well as photographs, of local and historical events of importance in the Lower Cape Fear.

[More details]
MS 136 Collected Works of Will Inman

Will Inman is a Wilmington-born poet who spent most of his time in Tuscon, Arizona. The Collected Works of Will Inman contains papers from 1945 to 2009 that provide context to Inman's life as a poet. These papers include Inman's literary work, such as poems, short stories, novel manuscripts, literary publications, and handwritten notes. In addition, this collection includes Inman's editorial work. From the early 1960s to the early 1980s, Inman edited and distributed "Kauri." "Kauri" is a little magazine created by Inman with a mimeograph that contains poetry by other authors.

[More details]
MS 144 Virginia Wright-Frierson Collection

The bulk of this collections follows the birth of an idea for books on flora and fauna, the living desert, rainforest, and waters around an island, from first thoughts and art doodles, to finished product. Most of these notes focus on A North American Rain Forest Scrapbook, which can be found in its complete form in the library's general collection. The remainder of the collection includes newspaper clippings, correspondence with publishers, and biographical information about Wright-Frierson.

[More details]
MS 145 Hugh Zachary Collection

This collection contains in depth information on the myths, legends, and customs of the North American Indian and other research material used by Hugh Zachary in his writings on Native Americans. Included is an unfinished manuscript and outline of "The Lost And The Fallen." Additional manuscripts added to this collection include The First Success Book, The Promises Of The Bible Applied To Network Marketing and an edited manuscript of Deep Freeze.

[More details]
MS 147 George Walton Papers

This collection consists of correspondence, clippings, manuscript material, photographs, interviews and questionnaires relating to the research and publication of George Walton's Devils Brigade, Faint The Trumpet Sounds, The Wasted Generation and Rome Fell Today.

[More details]
MS 152 Lou Buttino Manuscript and Film Collection

This collection contains papers related to Lou Buttino's writing career. These feature his magazine articles, newspaper columns, proposals, and manuscripts, as well as media copies of his video and film work.

[More details]
MS 158 Dr. Chris E. Fonvielle Collection

This collection contains papers and historical research of Dr. Chris E. Fonveille, a former history faculty member at UNCW.

[More details]
MS 159 Paul Wilkes Collection

This collection contains the papers, records, research, teachings, and publications of writer Paul Wilkes.

[More details]
MS 189 Bob High Collection

The collection contains letters, personal research material, newspaper clippings and memorabilia belonging to Bob High, a newspaper reporter and author, from Whiteville, North Carolina.

[More details]
MS 204 Wilbur D. Jones, Jr. Papers

This collection contains research material collected by author Wilbur D.  Jones, Jr. for his novels, including interviews, newspaper and magazine articles, photographs, author notes, correspondence with publishers, and drafts of the manuscripts.

[More details]
MS 249 Lewis J. Hardee, Jr. Family Papers

This collection represents the over twenty years of research that went into the creation of Mr. Hardee's privately published volume Three Southern Families - A History of Connecting Hardee, Jones, and Davis Families of Coastal North Carolina, published in 1994 by Southport Historical Society, Southport NC and printed by the Barefoot Publishing Company, Wilmington, NC. The papers contain letters, diaries, ledgers, notes and ephemera dating from the early 19th century and through the 20th century, relating to the Hardee, Jones, and Davis families of Southeastern North Carolina.

[More details]
MS 265 Lewis Philip Hall Papers

This collection includes personal and business letters, newspaper and magazine articles, hand-written and typed drafts, journals, maps, pictures, and research notes relating to Lewis Philip Hall's study of the history of Wilmington and the south for Land of the Golden River, Volumes I, II, and III.

[More details]
MS 281 Charles R. Calhoun Collection of Hurricane Preparedness Research

This collection contains the hurricane preparedness research done by Charles R. Calhoun, a retired U.S. Navy captain, for his corresponding book on the subject. Material in this collection includes correspondence, charts, reports, newspaper articles, published works, marketing materials, FEMA documents, and various preparedness items.

[More details]
MS 314 Rehder Family Papers

This collection contains papers relating to the history of the Rehder family in Wilmington, North Carolina. The collection includes original documents, photocopies of original documents, correspondence, and photographs that detail the lives and lineage of Johann and Johanna Rehder beginning in 1844. Rehder family history is represented through both oral history and visual materials including typescripts, genealogical documents, photographs and scrapbooks.

[More details]
MS 323 Melton McLaurin Collection

The materials in this collection are from Dr. McLaurin's personal files, and consist of correspondence, research notes, newspaper clippings, photographs and tapes regarding the 1898 Centennial, Separate Pasts, Celia: A Slave, The Marines of Montford Point documentary, and the North Carolina State Fair. This collection contains both original and photocopied material. Collection not processed. See Special Collections staff for access.

[More details]
MS 332 Dr. Walter H. Conser Jr. Papers

This collection consists of the accumulated working papers of professor, historian, and author Dr. Walter Conser Jr. between 1970 and 2014. The collection is comprised primarily of research materials, in English and German, including articles, magazines, newspapers, books in whole or part, and associated notes; also included are publishing documents, personal and professional corresondence, newsletters, serials, memorablia, personal papers, and materials documenting Dr. Walter Conser Jr.'s participation in professional and academic panels, conferences, and events.

[More details]
MS 341 Patricia O'Meara Robbins and Carroll Robbins Jones Collection

This collection features the photography of Patricia O'Meara Robbins and the family research her daughter, Carroll Robbins Jones, compiled with her husband, Wilbur D. Jones, Jr., to write their book about Patricia's life and career--"She 'Shot' Her Way to Success: How China's Empress Dowager Ci Xi Launched a Photographer's Trailblazing Career," published in 2016.

[More details]
MS 377 Phil Furia Papers

This collection contains Professor Furia's teaching documents and records, event and review materials, writings, books, VHS tapes, CDs, and a reel-to-reel tape related to his work at UNCW in the Creative Writing, English, and Theatre departments.

[More details]
MS 382 Philip Gerard Papers

This collection contains manuscript drafts and research material related to specific works of author and UNCW professor Philip Gerard, including articles, photos, and biographical information.

[More details]

Manuscript Collections - General

MS 092 From These Beginnings: Wilmington College 1946-1969

This collection includes working drafts and notes for Dr. J. Marshall Crews' book, From These Beginnings: Wilmington College, 1946-1969. This book chronicles the early development of Wilmington College, which later developed into the University of North Carolina Wilmington.

[More details]
MS 093 Sand Roots Manuscript

This collection contains the photocopy of a corrected typescript of Ben Dixon MacNeill's (1889-1960) manuscript originally titled, By So Many Roots. Although this draft is dated "11:20 A.M., Monday, October 27, 1944, Buxton, Cape Hatteras" on the final page, Sand Roots, his first and only novel, was published posthumously in 1963. MacNeil did not show the manuscript to his publisher until The Hatterasman was nearing publication in 1958. The Hatterasman was the winner of the Mayflower Cup in 1958.

[More details]
MS 094 The Black Poet Manuscript

The Black Poet was the 1865 annouced title of a work to be published that was to contain "a concise history of the life" of George Moses Horton, bard and recently freed slave. Richard Walser used the 1865 title for his 1996 work on Horton, since no evidence exists that the 1865 book was ever written. Walser wrote his "concise history" during part of a year he spent on a Guggenheim Fellowship. Claude Howell completed the drawings for the book. This collection contains the manuscript draft that was sent to Claude Howell and is not the final draft. The index is not included.

[More details]
MS 095 The Beachcomber's Handbook of Seafood Cookery Manuscript and Proofsheets

Hugh Zachery wrote and Claude Howell illustrated The Beachcomber's Handbook of Seafood Cookery in 1969. This collection contains the proof sheets and a photocopy of a corrected typescript of the book, neither of which is a final draft. An autographed copy of the final publication is available in Randall Library Special Collections. The sketches for the manuscript were retained by the author.

[More details]
MS 118 The Complete Book of Terrorism

An unpublished manuscript covering all aspects of terrorism, written by John Pynchon Holms and Thomas J. Burke. The contents include the history, definition, objectives, and motivations of terrorism and terrorists, covering training, tactics and weapons of modern revolutionaries and criminals. Also outlined is a primer on making bombs and booby traps, "silent" weapons such as knives, and recipes for biological, chemical, and nuclear tactics. Mr. Burke does include chapters on discovery and detection of terrorism, and a guide for protecting America's future against acts of treachery.

[More details]
MS 343 Charlie's Books Photographs of North Carolina Writers

This collection contains a letter and 29 photographs, 7 of which are signed, of North Carolina writers from Charlie's Books, a bookstore in Rocky Mount, North Carolina. Photographs were taken in the store. The photographs that are dated range from 1989 to 1998, while dates of some of the photographs are unknown. The letter depicts correspondence between April Andrews and an author asking for a photograph and signature for the book store.

[More details]
MS 359 Chadbourn Centennial Committee Collection

This collection contains materials related to the book, The Historic Architecture of Chadbourn North Carolina, written by Dr. Frank Ainsley and published by the Chadbourn Centennial Committee. Included are manuscript drafts, photographs, research materials, publications, and data discs and a USB flash drive.

[More details]

Oral Histories

To explore more interviews, please search the Oral History Collection.

Interview with Clyde Edgerton (Oral History)

Dr. Clyde Edgerton is a professor of Creative Writing at UNCW and the author of several novels, including Redeye, The Floatplane Notebooks, and Walking Across Egypt, and the memoir Solo: My Adventures in the Air. Many of his novels, including Killer Diller and Walking Across Egypt, have been adapted for film, and his novel Lunch at the Piccadilly became a musical production. In this interview, Dr. Edgerton discusses his background and writing life.

[More details]
Interview with Philip Furia (Oral History)

Interview with Dr. Phillip Furia, professor of creative writing at UNCW and author of several books, including Skylark: The Life and Times of Johnny Mercer and The Poets of Tin Pan Alley: A History of America's Great Lyricists.

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Portrait of Rebecca Baugnon
Rebecca
Baugnon
Special Collections Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2042J

Contact Staff

Portrait of Nicole Yatsonsky
Nicole
Yatsonsky
Library Specialist
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2042J