- Find & Research
- Get Help
- Use the Library
- About
- News & Events
Spanish
Subject:
Finding Films in Spanish
Searching for films in foreign languages from the Randall Library collections can be tricky. Watch this tutorial on "How to Find Foreign Language Films" for suggestions:
Search the Library Catalog
Primary Sources
ARTstor Digital Library
The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 2.5+ million digital images in the arts, art history, architecture, anthropology, history, humanities, foreign languages and literatures, religion, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
[More details]
Europeana
Searchable collection of resources works with thousands of European archives, libraries, and museums to provide to users access This website gives you access to millions of books, music, artworks and more – with sophisticated search and filter tools to help you find what you’re looking for.
[More details]Useful Websites
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Bibliography of Latin American studies consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars.
[More details]
Wikipedia - Spanish-language newspapers
A Wikipedia page that lists Spanish language newspapers in alphabetical order. It usually does not indicate the country of publication, so you would have to click through to the individual newspaper page to see the origin.
[More details]Language Learning Tools
Transparent Language Online
Transparent Language Online provides a fun, effective, and engaging experience for learners of all levels looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language. Combining robust courses, supplemental vocabulary, extensive grammar resources, and mobile apps, Transparent Language Online is the most complete language-learning system. With over 110 languages to choose from, including English for speakers of over 30 languages, there is something for every learner.
[More details]
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
An essential database for foreign languages and literatures, the innovative Oxford Language Dictionaries Online site offers fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, and unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using an expanding range of languages.
[More details]Recommended Databases
Below are some recommended databases to find articles on language and Spanish topics. Most databases have ways to search for articles in the Spanish language, as well.
MLA International Bibliography
Subjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, creative writing, English, folklore, film, foreign languages and literatures, literary theory & criticism, theatre, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.
[More details]
JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences.
[More details]
Project MUSE
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
[More details]
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts, creative writing, English, humanities, foreign languages and literatures, music, philosophy, religion, and theatre. Including many art and art history articles.
[More details]
ERIC (via ProQuest)
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to augment American education by increasing and facilitating the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.
[More details]
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
Provides content in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
[More details]
Informe Académico (Gale OneFile)
Meet the research needs of Spanish-speaking users with a wide range of full-text Spanish and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America. <i>Gale OneFile: Informe Académico</i> provides quality reference material on an interface configured for Spanish speakers, allowing researchers to analyze topics and conduct research in Spanish.
[More details]
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean covers Latin American culture and society from the fifteenth century to the present day and provides access to reference, periodicals, multimedia, reports, studies, journals, newspapers, and statistical data. It also includes an archive of digitized primary documents focus on the history of Latin America and the Caribbean back to the early 1800s through the contemporary period sourced from collections in the U.S. and abroad.
[More details]International Newspapers
Access World News
Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Access World News is updated daily.
[More details]
International Newsstream
International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. ProQuest International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
Part of ProQuest Central.
[More details]
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
[More details]
Global Breaking Newswires
In the modern news world, newswires are the chief source of timely news and, with increasing pressures on the traditional news industry, newswires are often the only news coverage for many large regions of the globe.
[More details]Eva Sclippa
Eva Sclippa
Eva
Sclippa
Humanities Librarian
Email:
Phone Number:
Office:
RL1041
Meet with Me:
Need Help?
Interlibrary Loan
If we do not have the full-text of the articles, or a book you need, fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form and request it. This is a free service for students, faculty, and staff.
ILL page: lib.uncw.edu/ill
Writing Help
Writing Services
The Writing Center in the University Learning Center is located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).
[More details]
Read&Write
Free to UNCW faculty, staff, and students, Read&Write is "a flexible literacy software solution that can help readers and writers...access support tools needed to reach their potential, build confidence and independence and succeed."
[More details]