NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Semester and Year: 
Spring 2021
Course number: 
SOC 399
Instructor: 
Sarah Gaby

*MORE

On this guide, ​*MORE means that there is more information available outside of the Randall Library Digital Collections.

To explore these topics further please; 

1. Contact Adina Riggins (University Archivist), who knows of additional information in University Archives. Contact her at rigginsa@uncw.edu, to view this material.  

2. Search the Center for SENC Archives and History at Randall Library (link below).

Center for SENC Archives and History - Finding Aids

Search "Finding Aids" for Randall Library's Special Collections, University Archives, and Digital Collections. 

[More details]

Find Information about Social Movements at UNCW

Stuck? Google images -> your topic +  uncw digital collections 

Randall Library Digital Collections

Includes articles and photographs in the Seahawk Student Newspaper (1947-2009) and student organization photographs in UNCW Student Yearbook – The Fledgling (1950-1989).

[More details]
Seahawk Student Newspaper

(1947-2009)  * Watch out! There are some April Fool’s Day satirical newspapers, not always on April 1. * 

[More details]
Fledgling

UNCW Student Yearbook (1950-1989).  

[More details]
The Seahawk

UNCW newspaper  (~2000-present).

[More details]

Find Primary Sources on the Web

This video gives gives tips for finding primary sources on the open web.

Video Transcript

Collective Action by Youth and College Students in Wilmington, NC

Race 

  • Wilmington Youth Council, approx. 1970 
    • tutoring program 
  • Southern Christian Leadership Conference, 1960s-1970s 
  • Student Non-Violent Coordinating Committee (SNCC)  
  • The Wilmington Movement, 1970s  
    • not necessarily university-related; Wilmington movement involving young people 
  • Assassination of MLK Jr, 1968*MORE 
    • UNCW Students protest U.S. flag flown at half-mast on campus; others counter-demonstrate/seated by flag pole.  Seahawk student newspaper, scrapbooks in Archives, alternative student newspaper 
  • Student organization “Wantu Wazuri plans for the future,” 1970 *MORE  
    • “will work for Black representation in the student government and … [a]ddition of black faculty members.” (1970) 
  • UNCW Student Chapter of the NAACP - *MORE 
    • President in 1988 was Amos Quick: “Racial Tensions Rising at UNCW” 
  • Student Political Activities Club, 1968 
    • Formed following assassination of MLK Jr, group that had advocated for UNCW SGA to co-sponsor a visit by MLK Jr to Wilmington 
  • Black Student Action Committee, 1989 - *MORE 
    • “BSAC & Bryan Meet, Discuss Demands” 
  • Tuition increases 
    • Search Seahawk newspaper digital collection, various points including 1990s, 2000s. 

Varied topics/political/foreign policy 

  • Gag rule”/Communist Speaker Ban in North Carolina. 1960s *MORE 
    • State law, now repealed, affecting colleges and universities in North Carolina. There is also a potential tie-in to freedom of religion. Communists viewed as atheist; in the midst of the Speaker Ban debate, 1963 Student Senate scraps the opening prayer in favor of a “moment of silence.” 
  • “Young Americans For Freedom Form Local Chapter on Campus,” 1965 
    • Possibly connected to support of Speaker Ban Law 
  • Vietnam War, 1960s and 1970s *MORE 
    • “Students gather in support of U.S. Foreign policy in Vietnam”  
  • “War Moratorium/prayer vigil” 1969 - *MORE, including photographs 
    • UNCW special supplement on student unrest 1970 *MORE 
  • Other Anti-War 
  • (Peace) Rally Sparks Controversy, January 1991 
  • Wilmington Peace Meet-up, October 2007 
    • P.E.A.C.E – campus activism, April 2001 
    • UNCW Women’s Resource Center, founded 2002 *MORE 
    • Boycott Ludacris concert at UNCW, 2003 
  • “Collective for Women,” 1994  
  • NC Amendment to make gay marriage illegal 
  • Student and Faculty Anti-Apartheid Movement/Divestment from South Africa - Possibly *MORE 
  • Animal rights 
    • UNCW SETA (Students for the Ethical Treatment of Animals), 1999 

Environment 

  • Save the Whales Seaside Jam, 1980s *MORE 
  • Earth Day  
    • some activity? Biology Club Photograph Contest, 1971 

Class/Socioeconomic 

  • Hillcrest Reading program and “Community Campus” with Wilmington Housing Authority, 2000s

Other Organizing (All Ages)

Race 

  • New Hanover Human Relations Commission, 1960 – 1980s
  • Good Neighbor Council, 1960s-1970s 

Class/Socioeconomic 

  • Hillcrest Reading program and “Community Campus," 2000s 
    • With Wilmington Housing Authority, 2000s 
  • “Big Brother Movement," approximately 1921 
    • Wilmington Rotary Club involvement with this group, which is based out of NY City - approx. 1921 

University Archivist

Adina Riggins
University Archivist

Email: rigginsa@uncw.edu
Phone Number: 910-962-4233
Office: Room 2008 Randall Library – By appointment only

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.