Randall Library Home

Looking for articles on a topic related to speeches? Search in the recommended databases listed below.

Need help? Visit our Get Started Researching page that will guide you through the process of finding articles using library resources, or Get Help by Email, Phone, or Chat. You can also get assistance from a librarian specializing in your research area.

NOT PUBLISHED

Search the Library Catalog


Search by:

Useful Websites

American Leaders Speak: Recordings from World War I and the 1920 Election

The Nation's Forum Collection consists of fifty-nine sound recordings of speeches by American leaders from 1918-1920. The speeches focus on issues and events surrounding the First World War and the subsequent presidential election of 1920. Speakers include: Warren G. Harding, James Cox, Calvin Coolidge, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Samuel Gompers, Henry Cabot Lodge, and John J. Pershing. Speeches range from one to five minutes.

[More details]
American Rhetoric

Database of and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events.

[More details]
Avalon Project at Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy

The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. We do not intend to mount only static text but rather to add value to the text by linking to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text.

[More details]
Feminist.com: Articles and Speeches

A collection of feminist speeches

[More details]
Gifts of Speech: Women's Speeches from Around the World

Gifts of Speech is a non-profit project, sponsored by Sweet Briar College, dedicated to preserving and creating access to speeches by inspirational, influential and contemporary, women from around the world. T

[More details]
History Channel: Famous Speeches and Audio

Video clips of speeches from the History Channel

[More details]
I Do Solemnly Swear...: Presidential Inaugurations

A Library of Congress collection of approximately 400 items or 2,000 digital files relating to inaugurations from George Washington's in 1789 to Barack Obama's inauguration of 2009. This presentation includes diaries and letters of presidents and of those who witnessed inaugurations, handwritten drafts of inaugural addresses, broadsides, inaugural tickets and programs, prints, photographs, and sheet music.

[More details]
Inaugural Addresses of the Presidents of the United States

Inaugural Addresses of the Presidents of the United States:  George Washington to Barack Obama

[More details]
Library of Congress

"is the nation’s first established cultural institution and the largest library in the world."

[More details]
Vincent Voice Library

The G. Robert Vincent Voice Library is a collection of over 100,000 hours of spoken word recordings, dating back to 1888. The collection includes the voices of over 500,000 persons from all walks of life. Political and cultural leaders and minor players in the human drama are captured and cataloged to serve the research needs of a local, national and international user base. Clients include students and faculty of Michigan State University, other scholars and researchers, broadcasting networks, news agencies and film, video, and Web production companies.

[More details]
MLK Online

Watch, read and listen to Martin Luther King's most famous speeches.

[More details]

Searching for Speeches

Speeches other types of oral communicaion can be primary sources of great importance to researchers in the fields of history, communication, religion and related disciplines. This guide identifies and describes some of the most significant indexing tools and full-text sources of speeches.

Suggested searches:

"i have a dream"
churchill and speech*
reagan and challenger and speech*
"susan b anthony" and speech*
"sojourner truth" and speech*
"barbara jordan" and (rhetoric* or speech* or orat*)
kennedy and inaugura*
"elizabeth i" and armada
"martin luther king" and (speech* or rhetoric*)
gehrig and (speech* or address*)
"malcolm x" and (speech* or rhetoric*)

  The following are databases that contain transcripts or recordings of important speeches   

Historic Documents

Contains 38 volumes of primary sources, includiing approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.

[More details]
Historical Newspapers

This collection of historical newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Includes:

[More details]

Searching the library catalog for speeches

To search for books, videos, DVDs, CDs, and other library materials containing speeches, search the catalog.

Keyword Search: to perform a "Keyword" search, try the following suggested searches:

speeches
speeches and criticism
speeches or rhetoric
(speech* or rhetoric*) and president*
(speech* or rhetoric*) and america*
(speech* or rhetoric*) and (america* or "united states")"martin luther king" and speech*
(jfk or "john f kennedy") and speech*
"margaret thatcher" and speech*
"civil right*" and (speech* or rhetoric*)
politic* and speech* and criticism
 
Subject Search: to perform a "Subject" search, try the following suggested searches:
 
Speeches Addresses Etc
Speeches Addresses Etc American
Speeches Addresses Etc American 20th Century
Speeches Addresses Etc American History And Criticism
SpeechesAddresses Etc English
Speeches Addresses Etc English History And Criticism
Orators
African American Orators
Oratory
Oratory Ancient
Oratory King Martin Luther Jr 1929 1968
Oratory Reagan Ronald
Oratory United States History

Contact Librarian

Anne
Pemberton
Associate Director, Research and Instructional Services and Library Assessment
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 1010

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED