Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

Technical reports are an integral part of the scientific communication process, and are a very important means of communication in the scientific and technical fields. A search of the technical literature is an essential part of a quality literature review, yet they can be somewhat of a challenge to locate. Technical reports are produced by a large number of organizations, and are used to report research progress to sponsors. These sponsors are generally government agencies, but also corporations or academic institutions. Reports tend to be timely, succinct and detailed, making them very valuable resource in the sciences.

Websites

NOAA Library Catalog

An online catalog containing the holdings of NOAA libraries around the country. Collections consist of reports, special data files and datasets, documents, articles, and audiovisual resources related to ocean science and atmospheric sciences.

[More details]
Bibliographies of Technical Reports of Computer Science Departments

A searchable index to technical report literature sources, obtained mostly from the Computer Science Technical Report Archive.

[More details]
Defense Technical Information Center

DTIC's Technical Report Collection includes the last 11 years of unclassified, unlimited technical report citations to full text reports.

[More details]
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)

The National Aeronautics and Space Act of 1958 created the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) from the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA). As NASA's predecessor organization, NACA was chartered in 1915 and was operational from 1917 until 1958. NACA played an integral role in the development of the United States' fledgling aeronautics industry as the main research body for a collection of federal, commercial and university interests.

[More details]
Virtual Technical Reports Center

The Institutions listed here provide either full-text reports, or searchable extended abstracts of their technical reports on the World Wide Web. Because many institutions do not distinguish between technical reports and other types of research publications, this site also contains links to preprints, reprints, dissertations, theses, and research reports of all kinds.

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Peter
Fritzler
Sciences Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2060

Need Help?

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.