Summary

This guide identifies collections that focus on all aspects of fine arts, including both the visual and performing arts, especially dance, music, and theatre, as well as written works within each. Collections represent arts councils and associations, art collections, theatre companies, and individual artists, musicians, and choreographers. Material mostly covers, though is not limited to, arts in Wilmington and North Carolina. Content includes personal papers, business records, samples of work, published works, exhibit information, event materials, interviews, teaching resources, and sheet music.

Due to the large number of collections related to Film and Writers, these have each been given their own subject guides. Please refer to those pages, linked under Related Special Collections Subject Guides, for more information. 

NOT PUBLISHED

Manuscript Collections - Theatre

MS 102 Doug Swink Theater Collection

This collection contains theatre memorabilia from Wilmington College during the 1960s. It includes slides, lecture series programs and tickets, photos, graduation programs, faculty newsletters, and student information bulletins encompassing many facets of student and faculty happenings both on and off campus.

[More details]
MS 115 Edwin Booth Collection

This collection includes extensive biographical data on the actor, producer, and teacher, Edwin Booth. He was renowned in Europe, and the U.S.--with his brothers Junius and John Wilkes--for his interpretation of Shakespeare's tragedies. Edwin Booth's career spanned from the years 1849, to his last performance as Hamlet at the Academy of Music in 1891, in Brooklyn N.Y.

[More details]
MS 202 Tapestry Theatre Company Archive

This collection contains papers, cassette tapes, VHS tapes, photographs, and slides related to the operations of Tapestry Theatre Company, primarily dating from the 1980s-1990s.

[More details]
MS 305 Thalian Association Papers

The Thalian Association is an amateur theatre company located in Wilmington, North Carolina. The Association has long had an important presence in the region and considers its founding date to be 1788. The present iteration of the Thalian Association was formed in 1929 and continues to operate today.

[More details]
MS 358 Bill Jessup Theatre Collection

This collection contains VHS and cassette tapes of local Wilmington, NC theatre and dance productions from the 1990s. Companies include Tapestry Theatre Company, Dance Theatre of Wilmington, Grace Theatre, Stageworks, and Celebration Theatre.

[More details]
MS 362 Steve E. Cooper Script Collection

This collection is comprised of produced and unproduced playscripts written by playwright and former Wilmington resident, Steven E. Cooper, which range in date from 1981 to 1994. Drafts and final scripts of The Lambda series are prominently featured. Set at a gay bar in Carolina Beach in 1979, The Lambda unfolds through the perspective of rising college freshman, Eric, and his interactions with other men in the bar.

[More details]
MS 377 Phil Furia Papers

This collection contains Professor Furia's teaching documents and records, event and review materials, writings, books, VHS tapes, CDs, and a reel-to-reel tape related to his work at UNCW in the Creative Writing, English, and Theatre departments.

[More details]
Special Collections Vertical Files

The Special Collections vertical files are compiled by Special Collections staff on an ongoing basis and contain material such as articles, photographs, maps, emphemera, etc. of various persons, places, organizations, and topical subjects related to UNCW and Southeastern North Carolina history.

[More details]

Recommended Databases

Arts & Humanities Database

This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM.

[More details]
Fine Arts and Music (Gale OneFile)

Gale OneFile: Fine Arts places millions of articles at the fingertips of serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.

[More details]
Music & Performing Art Search

Music & Performing Arts combines audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles to provide an unparalleled learning environment for the teaching of music.

[More details]
Oxford Art Online

Oxford Art Online is an innovative new gateway that offers users the ability to access and search the vast content of Grove Art Online and Oxford art reference in one location. Including eBooks on art and art history.

[More details]
Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location.

[More details]

Recommended Video

Dance in Video, Vols. I and II

Dance in Video: Volume I lays the foundation for the study of dance in all its forms with 500 hours of content in modern dance, ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and more. Films feature many of the greatest dance companies and performers worldwide, including Agnes de Mille, Mark Morris, Lestor Horton, Anna Sokolow, Anthony Tudor, Jose Limon, Paul Draper, and Chuck Green.

[More details]
Digital Theatre Plus

Digital Theatre Plus is an excellent resource that reveals the world of the rehearsal room, dressing room, backstage and beyond, our documentaries and interviews introduce theatre as a vibrant, exciting art form through a familiar and accessible medium.

[More details]
Films on Demand

This collection provides over 23,000 high quality streaming videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. The videos include BBC documentaries, Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries plus interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.

[More details]
Performance Design Archive

Includes costume design documents from 1930 to the present, mostly from Europe and the United States

[More details]
Victorian Popular Culture

An essential resource for the study of popular art, art history, and entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Consists of four components: Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment; and Moving pictures, optical entertainments & the advent of cinema. Includes full-text, full-color reproductions of books, ephemera, handbills, pamphlets, photos, posters, programs, scripts, and other types of materials.

[More details]

Manuscript Collections - General

MS 024 North Carolina Azalea Festival Collection

This collection contains various souvenir books, programs, brochures, magazines, newspaper clippings and other ephemera related to the North Carolina Azalea Festival from 1948-2004. The Azalea Festival began in 1948 at the instigation of Dr. Houston Moore of Wilmington, NC. The first president was Hugh Morton, and Queen Azalea I was Jacqueline White, a movie actress with RKO Studios.

[More details]
MS 084 The Printer's Art Collection

This collection contains six groupings representing the printed book. The six series are: Choice Examples of Early Printing and Engraving [Facsimiles from Rare and Curious Books]; Choice Examples of Oriental Printing and Engraving; Choice Examples of Paleography [Facsimiles from Rare and Curious Manuscripts of Oriental Countries]; Choice Examples of Book Illumination [Facsimiles from illuminated manuscripts and illuminated books of early date]; Ancient Bible Pages [Facsimiles of Title Pages and Original Leaves]; and Parchment pages.

[More details]
MS 149 North Carolina Living Treasures

This collection contains a variety of materials related to the planning, administration, and celebrations for the North Carolina Living Treasure awards.

[More details]
MS 200 Dr. Ralph W. Brauer Print Collection

Collection of prints dating from the 16th century forward, with the bulk from the 1800s, including representations of the print art form by Francisco Goya, William Hogarth, Honoré Daumier, Fritz Eichenberg, Käthe Kollwitz, and others. To view the prints, please refer to the library catalog.

[More details]
MS 216 Paul Clifford Collection of African and Pre-Columbian Art

The Clifford Collection of African (Ghana, Cameroon, Zaire, Liberia, Angola, Guinea), Pre-Columbian and early Mayan art includes figures, craft work, utensils, bowls, weapons, paintings, drawings, textiles, religious icons and photos of individual art pieces noting origin, composition, and approximate age, and appraised value.

[More details]
MS 231 Orton Plantation Art Collection

This collection contains late 18th, 19th century, and early 20th century artwork and prints from Orton Plantation.

[More details]
MS 306 Arts Council of the Lower Cape Fear Papers

This collection contains the records of the Art Council of the Lower Cape Fear (ACLCF). Established as a non-profit organization in 1972, the ACLCF was dedicated to "the living arts and to the enrichment of heritage of the Cape Fear region" until it disbanded in 2002. Records date predominately from the late 1980s through 2002.

[More details]
MS 349 St. John's Art Gallery Papers

This collection contains museum documents and personal papers of Alan Aiches from his time as the director of the St. John's Art Gallery--also known as St. John's Museum of Art, now the Cameron Art Museum in Wilmington, North Carolina. Papers include administrative documents, meeting minutes, policies, correspondence, reports, project notes, exhibition information, publications, and two over-sized architectural prints.

[More details]
Special Collections Vertical Files

The Special Collections vertical files are compiled by Special Collections staff on an ongoing basis and contain material such as articles, photographs, maps, emphemera, etc. of various persons, places, organizations, and topical subjects related to UNCW and Southeastern North Carolina history.

[More details]

Manuscript Collections - Artists

MS 076 Claude Howell's Classification of Art Prints

A complete art history guide to art prints classified by country of origin, artist and year. This history covers prehistoric monuments, bronzes, tools, stone sculptures and coins as expressions of art to the modern day works of the western culture.

[More details]
MS 125 Harry Lee Davis Papers

This collection contains the papers of Wilmington artist Harry Lee Davis, including correspondence, publicity materials, and prints.

[More details]
MS 129 Ben Long Sketch

This crayon sketch on paper [9"x 11 3/4"] is of three images of male heads: a profile and back side view of an adult and a profile of an adolescent. It is initialed by the artist; the date is on a corner which has been broken off and may be 1968 or 1969. The word "studies" has been penciled at the bottom of the paper.

[More details]
MS 144 Virginia Wright-Frierson Collection

The bulk of this collections follows the birth of an idea for books on flora and fauna, the living desert, rainforest, and waters around an island, from first thoughts and art doodles, to finished product. Most of these notes focus on A North American Rain Forest Scrapbook, which can be found in its complete form in the library's general collection. The remainder of the collection includes newspaper clippings, correspondence with publishers, and biographical information about Wright-Frierson.

[More details]
MS 171 No Boundaries Artists' Colony Collection

This collection consists of operational records, artist participant documents, photographs, correspondence, newspaper clippings and assorted promotional material from the bi-annual No Boundaries International Art Colony held in Bald Head, North Carolina.

[More details]
MS 212 Jack Berkman Collection

This collection contains Jack Berkman's photo records, handwritten records, an album of his work and personal photographs, gallery announcements, copies of letters with sketches from post-WWII, numerous color slides of his art, exhibits, and family, newspaper articles, and twenty sheets (back to back) of ink sketches of nudes.

[More details]
MS 213 Fritzi Huber Collection

This collection contains correspondence, photographs, sketches, and memorabilia from artist Fritzi Huber’s career.

[More details]
MS 221 Gayle Tustin Collection

The collection includes sketchbooks, sketches, corresppondence, and other materials from Gayle Tustin’s early career as an artist.

[More details]
MS 257 Billie Ruth Sudduth Collection

Scrapbooks, newspaper articles, brochures, catalogs, announcements, videotapes, photographs and slides relating to career of artist Billie Ruth Sudduth.

[More details]
MS 259 Hiroshi Sueyoshi Collection

Correspondence, brochures, announcements, newspaper articles and reviews relating to career of Hiroshi Sueyoshi.

[More details]
MS 278 Pam Toll Papers

This collection documents Pam Toll's work with Acme Studios and as a working artist in the community. Included are personal correspondence, event announcements, certificates, planning and promotional materials for exhibits, news articles and cards. The majority of the material dates from the early 1980s to the early 2000s. Noteable projects represented in the collection include Toll's work with No Boundaries (inspiration for), Paint a Future and Acme Art Studios.

[More details]
MS 282 Samuel D. Bissette Collection

This collection contains Bissette's papers, photographs, artwork and record of his artistic career.

[More details]
MS 290 Consuelo Berkman Papers

Consuelo "Connie" Berkman was an artist and photographer in Wilmington, North Carolina and the adopted daughter of well-known artist, Jack Berkman. The Consuelo Berkman Papers contain artwork, correspondence, personal journals, photographs, yearbooks, and other materials dating from 1968 to her death in 1996. The bulk of the collection is comprised of Berkman's photography and includes thousands of prints, slides, negatives, and contact sheets documenting daily life in and around the Wilmington area.

[More details]
MS 301 Hester Donnelly Prints

Contains prints of artist Hester Donnelly, mostly depicting men, women, and children in various situations.

[More details]
MS 310 Jane Baldrige Papers

The collection consists of Baldridge's diaries, journals, personal correspondence, clippings, and slides of artwork. Most of the material in this collection is original.

[More details]
MS 326 Claude Howell Christmas Cards

This collection contains 16 prints of hand drawn Christmas cards by Claude Howell from 1977 to 1994. Many are illustrations of downtown Wilmington, North Carolina, specifically of St. James Episcopal Church. Christian imagery is consistent throughout this collection of cards, including angels, baby Jesus, and the Three Wise Men, along with other biblical scenes. Some cards were drawn abroad and highlight the culture of the country Howell was visiting. All are pen and ink illustrations.

[More details]
Special Collections Vertical Files

The Special Collections vertical files are compiled by Special Collections staff on an ongoing basis and contain material such as articles, photographs, maps, emphemera, etc. of various persons, places, organizations, and topical subjects related to UNCW and Southeastern North Carolina history.

[More details]

Manuscript Collections - Music

MS 030 Alfred Harding Yopp Papers

This collection consists of music scores and sheet music primarly composed by Alfred Harding Yopp, Wilmington musician and businessman, as well as correspondence, newspaper clippings, and programs.

[More details]
MS 036 Thursday Morning Music Club Records

This collection documents the activities Wilmington's Thursday Morning Music Club from its origin in 1892 to 2014, including the club's affiliation with the North Carolina and National Federations of Music Clubs. Represented in the records are minutes, bylaws, banking records, reports, correspondence, member directories, programs, and yearbooks. Of historical significance are the minutes of the club's first meetings documenting its founding members, meeting locations and songs practiced.

[More details]
MS 042 Edwin E. Kirton Family Private Papers

This collection contains correspondence, newspaper clippings, church programs and scrapbooks as well as a large collection of sheet music that belonged to Mrs. Kirton. The scrapbooks in this collection highlight Father Kirton's career and other family events and the social column written by Mrs. Kirton for the Afro American newspaper.

[More details]
MS 056 Scheetz Music Collection

This collection includes sheet music and songbooks of popular music during the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Most of the selections are written for piano, however there are several arrangments for the ukelele and guitar.

[More details]
MS 096 Rabbi Thurman Collection

This collection contains oversized volumes of cantor's music in Hebrew, loose leaves of printed music, Yiddish posters, Hebrew choral manuscripts in parts Haggadah (Hebrew-English), an oral history with Trudi Rosenthal of the Holocaust, and Rabbi Thurman's last sermon.

[More details]
MS 097 Fanny B. DeRosset Music Collection

Original sheet music, mostly of the the late nineteenth century, for voice and piano.

[More details]
MS 098 Laura Harriss Howell Music Collection

This collection contains the personal music library of Laura Harriss Howell and includes opera librettos, music books, and sheet music meant to be sung and played on piano, organ or guitar by musicians in the home. Published primarily in the first half of the nineteenth century but including some Confederate imprints, the music reflects the parlor music tastes of the period and contains popular part-singing classics of the day.

[More details]
MS 140 Pono's Jazz Collection

This collection contains 1,297 (78 rpm) sound recordings.

[More details]
MS 239 BEAT Magazine Archive

BEAT Magazine was a local publication in Wilmington, North Carolina that was devoted to music and the performing arts in the Wimington area. Mike Raab started the magazine in 1992 and sold it in 2006 to Jeff Reid, who continued publication until 2011. The magazine featured local artists, events, and reviews of new musicians. This collection contains both audio and video recordings of local musicians collected by BEAT magazine, including 58 cassette tapes, 83 CDs, and 37 VHS tapes. Also included are photographs of musicians from two BEAT magazine sponsored events. 

[More details]
MS 240 Wilmington Rock Music Collection

This collection contains publications, posters, and photographs relating to the music of Billy James, otherwise known as ANT-BEE, and other local Wilmington musicians. James authored several publications including Bizarticles Vol. 1-3 and the Dictionary of Rhythm Vol. 1 contained in these papers. Also included are photographs of James with other musicians and posters advertising local concerts. 

[More details]
MS 248 James C. Burke Papers

The collection is comprised of original music scores for chorus and organ, as well as revisions of other compositions.

[More details]
MS 291 John Callum Ragtime Trio Collection

This collection contains memorabilia relating to the John Callum Ragtime Trio, a musical group that performed at local Wilmington venues during the late 1970s and early 1980s. Included are photographs, music lists and lyrics, and newspaper clippings.

[More details]
MS 334 Karen Swenson Collection

Karen Swenson's book projects focused on Greta Garbo, Barbra Streisand, Deanna Durbin, Liza Minelli, Judy Garland, Marilyn Monroe, Stevie Nicks, and US Gymnasts. Her research material spans items such as personal correspondence, fan mail, newspaper and magazine articles, photographs, audio visual material, related books and essays, and manuscript drafts.

[More details]
MS 369 Elli Klein Sheet Music Collection

This collection is composed of undated piano and choral sheet music consisting of music from play productions and operas, official United States military songs, and other songs of the era. Well-known pieces such as People Will Say We Are In Love from the musical Oklahoma and the musical score from Gone With The Wind are contained within this sheet music collection. The only dated source, The Marine's Hymn, is from 1942 and is the oldest and official song of the United State Marine Corps.

[More details]
MS 370 Janet McGee Sheet Music Collection

Collection of sheet music, both vocal and instrumental, from the early to mid 20th century.

[More details]

Manuscript Collections - Dance

MS 183 Dorothy Buckeridge Nesbitt Papers

Materials in this collection focus on Dorothy Nesbitt's service as a student, teacher, and advocate for dance and the arts, both in the Wilmington, North Carolina area and internationally, from the 1960s to the 1990s. Papers and photographs showcasing her passion for ballet and modern dance include workshop information, brochures, performance highlights, correspondence, reports, newspaper clippings, articles, and scrapbook pages. Her educational material feature content on racial integration in the classroom, lectures, lesson plans, and essays.

[More details]
MS 199 Sara Mildred Strauss Newman Collection

This collection consists of memorabilia from the career of Sara Mildred Strauss Newman, including outlines of dance, manuscripts of techniques, photos, news articles and reviews.

[More details]
MS 358 Bill Jessup Theatre Collection

This collection contains VHS and cassette tapes of local Wilmington, NC theatre and dance productions from the 1990s. Companies include Tapestry Theatre Company, Dance Theatre of Wilmington, Grace Theatre, Stageworks, and Celebration Theatre.

[More details]

Digital Collections

Art in Randall Library

This is a collection of nearly 500 pieces of art found in University of North Carolina Wilmington's Randall Library. Most of the artwork is from regionally located artists.

[More details]
Art in Public Spaces

This collection features a sampling of art found in public spaces around the Wilmington, NC area.

[More details]
Cameron Art Museum

The Cameron Art Museum of Wilmington, NC presents changing exhibitions comprised of fine arts, crafts and design. This digital exhibit features a portion of the museum's permanent collection.

[More details]
Jack Berman Collection

Jack Berkman was a teacher, artist and leading member of the North Carolina art community for more than forty years. This segment has a sample of his work that was donated by his estate. Many of his pieces are on display throughout the campus as well as being held in Randall Library Special Collections.

[More details]
Orton Plantation Art

A collection of prints from Europe that were purchased in the early 1900's. They were purchased for the Sprunt family and held at the Orton Plantation until given recently to UNCW.

[More details]
Dr. Ralph Brauer Collection (Art)

A portion of the personal art collection donated by Dr. Ralph Brauer. Dr. Brauer was widely traveled and was the founder of the UNCW Center of Marine Science.

[More details]

Oral Histories

These are a sampling of oral histories from those involved with the Arts. To explore more interviews, please search the Oral History Collection.

Interview with Fritzi Huber (Oral History)

Interview with Wilmington artist Fritzi Huber, in which she discusses her background, her mentors in the arts, the history and techniques of hand papermaking, and some of her projects for the local community.

[More details]
Interview with Gayle Tustin (Oral History)

In this interview, local ceramics artist Gayle Tustin discusses her craft, her education and training, her preferred techniques, and the individuals and life experiences that have inspired her as an artist.

[More details]
Interview with Jane Baldridge (Oral History)

Interview with artist Jane Baldridge in which she discusses her background and arts education, her aesthetic, current projects and highlights from her artistic career, and the local arts community in Wilmington.

[More details]
Interview with Pamela Toll (Oral History)

Interview with local artist Pam Toll, President of No Boundaries International Art Colony located on Bald Head Island, NC.

[More details]
Interview with Virginia Wright-Frierson (Oral History)

Interview with Virginia Wright-Frierson, artist and author/illustrator of such children's books as An Island Scrapbook and A North American Rainforest Scrapbook. Here, she discusses her arts education and aesthetic sense, her career as an illustrator, and specific projects she has completed, which includes creating a mural at Columbine High School.

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Portrait of Rebecca Baugnon
Rebecca
Baugnon
Special Collections Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2042J

Contact Staff

Portrait of Nicole Yatsonsky
Nicole
Yatsonsky
Library Specialist
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2042J