Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Semester and Year: 
Spring 2019
Course number: 
HST 346
Instructor: 
Zombek, Angela

Secondary Sources - Suggested Databases

JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
America: History & Life

America: History & Life provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.

[More details]

Search the Library Catalog


Search by:

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

Primary Source Databases

Accessible Archives

Diverse primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and in a comprehensive databases. Includes newspapers, periodicals and books such including African American Newspapers, The Christian Recorder, The Colored American, Frederick Douglass Paper, Douglass Monthly, Freedom's Journal, HISTORY OF WOMAN SUFFRAGE, The National Era, The North Star, The Pennsylvania Gazette, The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalog, Pennsylvania Newspaper Record, The Pennsylvania Packet, Provincial Freeman, Scenes from the Life of Harriet Tubman, Twelve Years a Slave and Weekly Advocate.

[More details]
African American Newspapers, 19th century

This collection of African American newspapers contains information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. The collection also provides a great number of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.

[More details]
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection

The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) is the source for the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, giving digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.

[More details]
American Fiction, 1774-1920

American Fiction, 1774-1920 encompasses more than 17,500 works of prose fiction written by Americans from the political beginnings of the United States through World War I. 

[More details]
American Periodicals

This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Includes American Periodicals Series and American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries.

[More details]
Colonial State Papers

The Colonial State Papers offers access to over 7,000 hand-written documents and more than 40,000 bibliographic records with this incredible resource on Colonial History. In addition to Britain's colonial relations with the Americas and other European rivals for power, this collection also covers the Caribbean and Atlantic world. It is an invaluable resource for scholars of early American history, British colonial history, Caribbean history, maritime history, Atlantic trade, plantations, and slavery.

[More details]
CQ Voting and Elections Collection

A database of elections data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical materials to help researchers investigate and understand voting and elections in America from 1789-present.

[More details]
Digital Library on American Slavery

The Digital Library offers a searchable database of detailed personal information about slaves, slaveholders, and free people of color.

[More details]
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) offers a single point of access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States.

[More details]
Documenting the American South

Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a project at UNC-Chapel HIll that provides online access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.

[More details]
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800

Books, pamphlets and broadsides published in America from 1639 - 1800, based on the bibliography by Charles Evans. 

[More details]
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker 1801-1819

Books, pamphlets and broadsides published in America from 1801 - 1819. Based on the bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.

[More details]
eHRAF Archaeology

Provides a cross-cultural database of information on the world's prehistory, organized by archaeological traditions.

[More details]
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750

European Views of the Americas is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. The database contains more than 32,000 records, and covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples.

[More details]
Gale Primary Sources

Allows users to search across all of Randall Library’s Gale primary source collections:

[More details]
Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection

Find historical newspapers from across the United States and beyond. Explore newspaper articles and clippings for help with genealogy, history and other research. 5,100+ newspapers from the 1700s–2000s.

[More details]
Indian Claims Insight

A research tool that provides researchers with the opportunity to understand and analyze Native American migration and resettlement throughout U.S. history, as well as U.S. Government Indian removal policies and subsequent actions to address Native American claims. It allows researchers to search Indian claims content by keyword, full text, docket number, and more.  Content includes decisions, transcripts, docket books, journals of the Indian Claims Commission, a judicial panel for relations between the U.S.

[More details]
Library of Congress Digital Collections

Digitized, freely available primary sources from the Library of Congress (the platform replaces the American Memory Project).

[More details]
NC MOSAIC

NC government information searchable in one online location. Find maps, publications, records, and historical documents made available on the Internet by libraries, historical societies, government agencies, and corporate offices throughout North Carolina.

[More details]
North American Women's Letters and Diaries

Full text of letters and diaries. The collection includes bibliographies of women's diaries and letters yet published. It lists over 7,000 published and unpublished items from a variety of sources.

[More details]
ProQuest Congressional

Comprehensive online collection of primary source congressional publications and legislative research materials covering all topics, including government, current events, politics, economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine. Finding aid for congressional hearings, committee prints, committee reports and documents from 1970-present, and the daily Congressional Record from 1985-present. Compiled legislative histories from 1969-present.

[More details]
Sabin Americana

Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more.

[More details]
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive

Primary source materials for the study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective. Our access includes the collections Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, The Institution of Slavery, and The Age of Emancipation. Includes newspaper collections, books and a broad selection of documents from several different archives.

[More details]
Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War

Features Petitions concerning race and slavery, Southern Plantation records, and Civil War and Reconstruction Era records. Part of the History Vault database

[More details]
U.S. History in Context

Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America all to the way to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror. Content includes reference works, millions of news and periodical articles, and more than 5,000 rare and vital primary source documents that range from slave journals to presidential papers. U.S. History In Context is cross-searchable with World History In Context.

[More details]

History Librarian

Stephanie
Crowe
Coordinator of Liaison Librarian Services
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2056

Twitter: @shcrowe

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.