Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Course number: 
HST 290
Instructor: 
Bredbenner, Candice
Credo Reference - Political Science

is a collection of reference books on Political Science (includes politics outside of the United States).

[More details]
is a collection of reference books on politics and history, published by Congressional Quarterly.
Sage Knowledge

Search through reference collections from Sage Publications, Inc.

[More details]

Recommended Article Databases

These databases also contain other secondary sources, such as theses, conference proceedings, book chapters, and more. 

When searching article databases, remember to...

  • break your search into keywords / concepts
  • put each concept into a different box (go to Advanced Search if needed)
  • use "quotation" marks around multi-work phrases 
  • inside each search box, use OR to add synonyms and similar concepts
  • use an asterisk (*) as a wildcard at the end of a word.

Example: 

demonstration of advanced database searching techniques


America: History & Life

America: History & Life provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.

[More details]
covers the United States & Canada.
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
is an archive of selected scholarly journals in ecology, economics, history, mathematics, music, political science, statistics, and other humanities and social sciences.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)

Communication & Mass Media Complete provides content in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.

[More details]
provides journals related to communication, mass media, and related fields.
CQ Press Library

The definitive reference resource for research in American government, current public and international affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. Search or browse across all CQ Press Library collections: CQ Almanac Online, CQ Researcher Online, CQ Weekly, Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America, Voting and Elections Collection, and Supreme Court Yearbook.

[More details]
provides a combined search of Congressional Quarterly resource, including CQ Almanac Online, CQ Historic Documents Series Online Edition, The CQ Researcher Online, CQ Weekly
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences—including anthropology, archaeology, art, art history, family studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, law, music, performing arts, theatre and much more.

[More details]
offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage Dates: 1907-1984
Public Affairs Information Services (PAIS)

The Public Affairs Information Services database provides information on business, public and international affairs, public and social policies and international relations. PAIS includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.

[More details]
ProQuest Central

This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete.

[More details]

Search the Library Catalog


Search by:
Summon (Advanced Search)

Summon allows you to search for articles from journals to which we subscribe, content from participating databases to which we subscribe, freely available content such as from open access journals or government websites, and books, ebooks, government documents, archival materials, special collection and many other types of items from our library. A simple search of one or two words will return thousands of results; use phrase searching, field searching, and facets to refine your search and return fewer results.

[More details]
Use instead of the catalog (above) to have more search options and to include book results from outside your library's collection. Note that Summon also includes article results, which you can exclude using the facets along the right-hand side of the results OR by limiting your results to "Book / eBook" on the search page.
WorldCat [FirstSearch Interface]

Books and other materials in libraries worldwide.

[More details]

When searching the library catalog for books, you can start with a general keyword search. Then, look at the records retrieved with your keyword search and examine the Subject Heading section of the records. These will help you find more useful books!

Some useful headings for your class may include:

Primary Sources: Law Resources

HeinOnline

Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S.

[More details]
contains law journals, Congressional documents, and other legal and government documents. TIPS: to search for case reports, first select "U.S. Supreme Court Library" (from the options at the bottom of the page) before searching. To search for law journal articles, first select "Law Journal Library" (from the options at the bottom of the page) before searching.

Primary Sources: Government Resources

Randall Library maintains an extensive collection of federal and North Carolina government documents that are available to check out. You can find many of them in the UNCW Library Catalog. You can also find government resources on WorldCat or online via the various government agencies. Some additional websites and databases are listed below.

HeinOnline

Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S.

[More details]
contains law journals, Congressional documents, and other legal and government documents, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety. TIP: to search the Congressional Record, first select "U.S. Congressional Documents" (from the options at the bottom of the page) before searching.
Congress.gov

An essential database for criminology, and public and international affairs, Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information, such as bills, committee reports & hearings.

[More details]
is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. It provides access to Congressional documents.
Office for Civil Rights

"OCR’s mission is to ensure equal access to education and to promote educational excellence through vigorous enforcement of civil rights in our nation’s schools."

[More details]
FBI Records -- The Vault

Provides online access to selected FBI files. Particularly useful for researching groups or individuals who may have come under FBI scrutiny.

[More details]
provides online access to FBI files, some of which may apply to certain civil liberties topics.
ProQuest Congressional

Comprehensive online collection of primary source congressional publications and legislative research materials covering all topics, including government, current events, politics, economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine. Finding aid for congressional hearings, committee prints, committee reports and documents from 1970-present, and the daily Congressional Record from 1985-present. Compiled legislative histories from 1969-present.

[More details]
is an extensive collection of government documents ranging from 1789 to the present.
GovInfo.gov

GveInfo offers a new, dynamic way for the public to discover and access Government information on the three branches of the Federal Government. GPO receives information from Federal agencies and organizations in all three branches of the Government. Its content feeds The Library of Congress’ www.congress.gov and the Federal Register site. 

[More details]

Primary Sources : Newspapers & Magazines

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Digital archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. An excellent database for history, including full-text and full-image articles. For most dates, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files. For access to recent issues, go to the New York Times online or search US Newsstream.

[More details]
Coverage Dates: 1690-1922
Chronicling America

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

[More details]
Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982

Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.This resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture, science and seminal developments across nearly a century.

[More details]
CQ Researcher

The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week.

[More details]
American Periodicals

This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Includes American Periodicals Series and American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries.

[More details]
Accessible Archives

Diverse primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and in a comprehensive databases. Includes newspapers, periodicals and books such including African American Newspapers, The Christian Recorder, The Colored American, Frederick Douglass Paper, Douglass Monthly, Freedom's Journal, HISTORY OF WOMAN SUFFRAGE, The National Era, The North Star, The Pennsylvania Gazette, The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalog, Pennsylvania Newspaper Record, The Pennsylvania Packet, Provincial Freeman, Scenes from the Life of Harriet Tubman, Twelve Years a Slave and Weekly Advocate.

[More details]
African American Newspapers, 19th century

This collection of African American newspapers contains information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. The collection also provides a great number of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.

[More details]
Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers

NewspaperCat is an online database providing links to over 1000 full-text digital newspapers in the United States and Caribbean.

[More details]
Historical Newspapers

This collection of historical newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Includes:

[More details]
HarpWeek

Harper's Weekly; the Civil War Era and Reconstruction I and II

[More details]

Primary Sources: Digital Collections

See the  Primary Sources  guide.

Suggested resources: 

Archives Unbound

Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.

[More details]
History Vault

Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections. Our collections include Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle, Southern Life and Slavery, American Politics and Society and Women’s Studies.

[More details]
American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography

"American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography" is a collection of the life histories of former slaves in the United States complied from nearly 4,000 interviews with ex-slaves.

[More details]
ArchiveGrid

ArchiveGrid is a collection of over two million archival material descriptions, providing access to detailed archival collection descriptions, making information available about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and other archival materials. It also provides contact information for the institutions where the collections are kept. Archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives are represented in ArchiveGrid.

[More details]
Archives of Sexuality and Gender

The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis.

[More details]
CQ Historic Documents Series Online

Published annually since 1972, the Historic Documents Series now contains 38 volumes of primary sources. Each volume includes approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.

[More details]
Federal Surveillance of African Americans

Black Americans of all political persuasions were subject to federal scrutiny, harassment, and prosecution. The FBI enlisted black "confidential special informants" to infiltrate a variety of organizations. Hundreds of documents in this collection were originated by such operatives. The reports provide a wealth of detail on "Negro" radicals and their organizations that can be found nowhere else.

[More details]
North American Women's Letters and Diaries

Full text of letters and diaries. The collection includes bibliographies of women's diaries and letters yet published. It lists over 7,000 published and unpublished items from a variety of sources.

[More details]
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)

Primary source collections of the “long” nineteenth century. Content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.

[More details]
Women and Social Movements in the United States - Scholar's Edition

Women and Social Movements in the United States brings together primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, Web site reviews, and teaching tools, all documenting the multiplicity of women’s activism in public life.

[More details]
Searching Beyond Randall Library

is a guide to searching beyond Randall Library for hard-to-find items.

[More details]
Government Resources

Government Resources

[More details]

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Contact Librarian

Stephanie
Crowe
Coordinator of Liaison Librarian Services
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2072

Twitter: @shcrowe

Finding Books on the Shelf

Ready to find library books on the shelf? Our books are arranged in Library of Congress call number order. Below are some helpful links and just ask a librarian for help if needed. 

Writing Help

Citation and Bibliography Help

Vetted & reliable tools collected by Randall Library.

[More details]
Writing Services

The Writing Center in the University Learning Center is located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).

[More details]
Read&Write Gold

Free to UNCW faculty, staff, and students, Read&Write Gold is "a flexible literacy software solution that can help readers and writers...access support tools needed to reach their potential, build confidence and independence and succeed."

[More details]

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED