Summary

This guide identifies collections related to the group of activists known as the Wilmington Ten, who were wrongly convicted of arson and conspiracy during the 1971 school integration protests in Wilmington, N.C. After the desegregation of the local high schools for the 1968-1969 school year, racial tensions between white and Black students reached an all-time high in early 1971 when Black students decided to boycott the schools. On the night of February 6, 1971, violence erupted downtown as members of militant white supremacist groups such as the KKK and the Rights of White People clashed with students. The student protestors were blamed and ten were arrested, convicted, and sentenced to prison. Their case drew national attention and support for their release. After several failed campaigns, their convictions were finally overturned in 1980, though they were not given full pardons until 2012. Material includes political, legal, and educational documents related to the desegregation of the schools that led to the conflict, first-hand accounts of the events surrounding 1971, oral histories from boycott participants and a member of the Wilmington Ten, and reflections on integration and the Ten in later years. For further information on related Wilmington civil rights history, please refer to the Civil Rights Movement and the Wilmington Coup D'état of 1898 subject guides, linked under Related Special Collections Subject Guides.

NOT PUBLISHED

Digital Collections

Civil Rights in Southeast North Carolina: The School, the Market, and the Ballot Box

Digital collection of primary source documents and other resources related to southeastern North Carolina school desegregation, equal employment, equal access to public accommodations, and voting rights.

[More details]
This digital collection brings together resources related to school desegregation, equal employment, equal access to public accommodations, and voting rights in Southeast North Carolina. Each individual collection described below covers many topics other than desegregation. Materials related to the Wilmington Ten can be found in the Dr. Heyward C. Bellamy Papers.
"Wilmington Ten" newspaper articles

Full-text newspaper articles published about the Wilmington Ten. List of access provided through library website.

[More details]
Seahawk Digital Newspaper Collection

"The student paper of UNCW, established 1948." The Seahawk is the student news organization and newspaper of the University of North Carolina Wilmington. It began as a four-page handout with stenciled headlines. In 1958, the Seahawk reemerged as a monthly publication after a five-year period without a student paper. For most of its run, the Seahawk informed students about campus, national and world news along with arts, entertainment, and sports once or twice a week. In 2001 the organization launched its online component: theseahawk.org.

[More details]

External Primary Source Collections

Star-News Image Archive

In 2008, the StarNews gave the majority of their image archives to the New Hanover County Public Library. The archives consist of 2,600 linear feet of photographs or approximately 150,000 photos. The newspaper divided the images into two collections: "Subjects" and "People Pixs." Most of the photographs were taken from 1975 to 1996; however, there are some earlier images. The photographs are filed alphabetically and there is no overall index. The digital collection is an ongoing project with new images added each year.

[More details]
The Wilmington Journal Collection, 1953-1977

This collection contains copies of the local, weekly African-American newspaper, The Wilmington Journal, which was founded in Wilmington, N.C. in 1901. Thirteen digital copies are included here--twelve before the paper's burning in 1971 and one after. The New Hanover County Public Library has microfilmed copies from 1974 to 1982, available at the North Carolina Room of the downtown branch. Original physical copies, from 1983 through the present, are also available at the library.

[More details]
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) offers a single point of access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States.

[More details]
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) offers a single point of access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Search for the "Wilmington Ten" to find relevant sources related to this subject.
Southern Oral History Program

This collection, housed in the Southern Historical Collection of the UNC Center for the Study of the American South, contains more than 5,000 oral histories. The Southern Oral History Program Interview Database provides detailed descriptions of the interviews in the Southern Oral History Program Collection. The interviews in this collection were conducted or collected under the auspices of the Southern Oral History Program in the Center for the Study of the American South at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

[More details]
This collection, housed in the Southern Historical Collection of the UNC Center for the Study of the American South, contains more than 5,000 oral histories. The Southern Oral History Program Interview Database provides detailed descriptions of the interviews in the Southern Oral History Program Collection. Digital transcripts and audio for many interviews are available through this database created and maintained by the University Library at UNC Chapel Hill. Analog audio recordings, paper transcripts, and supplementary files are available through the Southern Historical Collection in the Louis Round Wilson Special Collections Library at UNC Chapel Hill. An interview with Benjamin Chavis, one of the Wilmington Ten, can be found in the "U.1. Long Civil Rights Movement: Individual Biographies" series. Four additional interviews of those with contemporary experiences around the event can be found in the "B.2.2. Individual Biographies: Special Focus: Racial Violence in Wilmington, N.C." series.

Recommended Databases

American Civil Liberties (ACLU) Papers

Drawing from the records of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU), it focuses on civil rights, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court. The American Civil Liberties Union has throughout its history consistently stood at the center of controversies involving the rights of Americans. Its records offer researchers a unique view of the inner workings of the organization and the hundreds of groups with which the ACLU interacted. 

[More details]
Civil Rights and Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century

Features records of NAACP, SCLC, SNCC, CORE, and federal records on the black freedom struggle. Part of the History Vault database.

[More details]
Ethnic NewsWatch

Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

[More details]
Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection

Find historical newspapers from across the United States and beyond. Explore newspaper articles and clippings for help with genealogy, history and other research. 5,100+ newspapers from the 1700s–2000s.

[More details]

Manuscript Collections

MS 031 Alton A. Lennon Congressional Papers

This collection contains the papers of Congressman Alton Lennon during his tenure as U.S. Representative for North Carolina's 7th congressional district from 1957-1972. Included in the collection is correspondence, reports, and other documents related to legislation, district affairs, and politics during the time. Also included are three large scrapbooks documenting news coverage from Congressman Lennon's career and campaigns.

[More details]
MS 046 Dr. Hubert A Eaton, Sr. Papers

This extensive collection includes the original materials and photocopies of the legal actions instituted by Dr. Eaton and his fellow plaintiffs to compel the integration of the fundamental institutions of New Hanover County--the public schools and the hospital--in the 1960s and 1970s. Moreover, the collection also reflects the broad spectrum of Dr. Eaton's interests and activities which included medical and public health issues, education, civil rights and athletics.

[More details]
MS 108 Wilmington Movement 1971

Twenty original articles from the Wilmington Star News chronicling the events leading to and during the racial unrest centering around the three local high schools and the recent integration. Beginning about mid December 1970, and continuing throughout most of 1971, Wilmington became a national focal point of violence, burnings, looting, and magnet for outside organizers of boycotts, marches and demonstrations. Ten men and women were ultimately arrested and wrongly convincted of arson and conspiracy during the events that occurred at the time.

[More details]
MS 161 Dr. James J. Megivern Collection

This collection contains papers and publications of Dr. James J. Megivern, with emphasis on the religious nature of his work.

[More details]
MS 167 Dr. Heyward C. Bellamy Collection

The Dr. Heyward C. Bellamy Collection contains court documents and supporting exhibit materials outlining the school integration law suit, Carolyn Eaton, et al v New Hanover County Board of Education. In addition to the original Eaton case, this collection contains documents related to the restraining order the New Hanover County School Board filed against individuals who would later be implicated in the 1971 riots as part of the Wilmington Ten. This case is titled, Carolyn Eaton, et al v New Hanover County Board of Education v Ben Chavis, et al.

[More details]
MS 271 Dr. William H. Wagoner Collection

Dr. William H. Wagoner served as the Superintendent of the New Hanover county school system from 1961-1968, as the fourth President of Wilmington College from 1968-1969 and as the first Chancellor of the University of North Carolina Wilmington from 1969-1990. This collection contains correspondence, publications, newspaper clippings, agendas, photographs, maps and ephemera related to the careers of Dr. Wagoner in Wilmington as well as his personal life.

[More details]
MS 332 Dr. Walter H. Conser Jr. Papers

This collection consists of the accumulated working papers of professor, historian, and author Dr. Walter Conser Jr. between 1970 and 2014. The collection is comprised primarily of research materials, in English and German, including articles, magazines, newspapers, books in whole or part, and associated notes; also included are publishing documents, personal and professional corresondence, newsletters, serials, memorablia, personal papers, and materials documenting Dr. Walter Conser Jr.'s participation in professional and academic panels, conferences, and events.

[More details]
Special Collections Vertical Files

The Special Collections vertical files are compiled by Special Collections staff on an ongoing basis and contain material such as articles, photographs, maps, emphemera, etc. of various persons, places, organizations, and topical subjects related to UNCW and Southeastern North Carolina history.

[More details]
Upperman Center Records

University Archives collection. News clippings and subject files pertaining to local history, African American history, and race relations.

[More details]

Government Resources

Government Resources

Government Resources

[More details]
HeinOnline

Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S.

[More details]
ProQuest Congressional

Comprehensive online collection of primary source congressional publications and legislative research materials covering all topics, including government, current events, politics, economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine. Finding aid for congressional hearings, committee prints, committee reports and documents from 1970-present, and the daily Congressional Record from 1985-present. Compiled legislative histories from 1969-present.

[More details]
Congress.gov

Official website for U.S. federal legislative information. Provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. Usually updated the morning after session adjourns.

[More details]
GovInfo.gov

GveInfo offers a new, dynamic way for the public to discover and access Government information on the three branches of the Federal Government. GPO receives information from Federal agencies and organizations in all three branches of the Government. Its content feeds The Library of Congress’ www.congress.gov and the Federal Register site. 

[More details]

Oral Histories

To explore more interviews, please search the Oral History Collection.

Interview with Wayne Moore and Benjamin Wonce (Oral History)

Wayne Moore and Benjamin Wonce talk about the events that lead up to the boycott of New Hanover County Schools in February 1971. Both men participated in the boycott. Moore was arrested and was a member of the group known as the Wilmington 10. Wonce was not arrested but testified for the defense at the trial of the Wilmington 10.

[More details]
Interview with Heyward C. Bellamy (Oral History)

This 3rd interview with Dr. Bellamy focuses on the integration mandate and impact on the local schools. His memories include HEW, School Board, busing, fire bombings, suspensions and public input.

[More details]
Interview with Gilbert Burnett (Oral History)

In this interview conducted by Sherman Hayes and Michael Haas, Mr. Gilbert H. Burnett reveals the circumstances that led him to practice law and shares anecdotes from his professional history, including his focus on improving the Juvenile Court System and his memories of the Wilmington Ten hearing.

[More details]
Interview with Bertha Boykin Todd

Mrs. Bertha B. Todd was the first and last librarian at Williston High School. She discusses her career in education and librarianship in Wilmington, as well as her role in community service and race relations. Following integration and the closing of Williston, she transferred to Hoggard High. Mrs. Todd intervened to prevent riots during integration.

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Portrait of Rebecca Baugnon
Rebecca
Baugnon
Special Collections Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2042J

Contact Staff

Portrait of Nicole Yatsonsky
Nicole
Yatsonsky
Library Specialist
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2042J