Randall Library Home

Start Your Research: Encyclopedias & More

Credo Reference - Performing Arts

Reference ebooks on the performing arts.

[More details]

Browse for Books by Call Number

Below are the Library of Congress call number ranges for Drama. Go to the corresponding area of the library to browse for books.

  • Literature (General). Drama: PN1600-3307 
    • The Monologue: PN1530 
    • The Dialogue: PN1551
    • Drama. History: PN 1720-1861
    • Dramatic representation. The Theater: PN2000-3307 
      • By time period: PN2131-2193
    • Collections of General Literature. Drama: PN6110.5-6120
  • French Literature: PQ500-2726
    • Authors: PQ1411-2726
    • Drama Collections: PQ1211-1241
    • Drama History and Criticism: PQ500-591
  • Italian Literature: PQ4133-4926
    • Drama History and Criticism: PQ4133-4160
    • Drama Collections: PQ4227-4245
    • Authors: PQ4265-4926
  • Spanish Literature: PQ6098.7-6726
    • Drama History and Criticism: PQ6098.7-6129
    • Drama Collections: PQ6217-6241
    • Authors: PQ6271-6726
  • English Literature: PR621-6126
    • Drama History and Criticism: PR621-739
    • Drama Collections: PR1241-1273
    • Authors: PR1490-6126
  • American Literature: PS330-3626 
    • Drama History and Criticism: PS330-352
    • Drama Collections: PS623-635
    • Authors: PS700-3626
  • German Literature: PT605-2728 
    • Drama History and Criticism: PT605-709
    • Drama Collections: PT1251-1299
    • Authors: PT1501-2728
  • Greek Literature: PA3050-4505 
    • Authors: PA3818-4505
      • Sophocles: PA4413-4434

Thanks to Williams College & Wake Forest University.

Recommended Article Databases

These databases also include book chapters, conference presentations, and more.

Art Abstracts

Art Abstracts provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts for more than 450 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.

[More details]
Arts and Humanities Citation Index

Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts, creative writing, English, humanities, foreign languages and literatures, music, philosophy, religion, and theatre. Including many art and art history articles.

[More details]
Communication & Mass Media Complete

Communication & Mass Media Complete provides content in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.

[More details]
Literature Resource Center

Presents industry-leading literature content, including criticism, biographies, reference articles, reviews, primary sources, plot analysis, explication, and multimedia. Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Literature Resource Center includes selected author biographies from Contemporary Authors Online, the Dictionary of Literary Biography Online (except documentary volumes), selected author biographies, work and topic overviews from Contempor

[More details]
MLA International Bibliography

Subjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, creative writing, English, folklore, film, foreign languages and literatures, literary theory & criticism, theatre, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.

[More details]

Even More Article Databases

Didn't find what you were looking for using the databases above? Try searching these. 

Cambridge Journals Online

Cambridge Journals Online is the online Cambridge University Press’s collection of several journals across the computer sciences, sciences, social sciences and humanities.

[More details]
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
LexisNexis Academic

News, business, communication studies, criminology, foreign languages and literatures, legal and reference information.

[More details]
Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982

Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.This resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture, science and seminal developments across nearly a century.

[More details]
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences—including anthropology, archaeology, art, art history, family studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, law, music, performing arts, theatre and much more.

[More details]
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]
ProQuest Central

This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete.

[More details]
is one of our largest multidisciplinary databases.
Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, including articles, papers, theses, books, and reports.

[More details]
is a specialized Google search that broadly searches for scholarly literature, including articles, papers, theses, books, and reports. It also provides information on how often the publication is cited by other publications. Use while you are on-campus for access to Randall Library's full-text resources.
Summon (Advanced Search)

Summon allows you to search for articles from journals to which we subscribe, content from participating databases to which we subscribe, freely available content such as from open access journals or government websites, and books, ebooks, government documents, archival materials, special collection and many other types of items from our library. A simple search of one or two words will return thousands of results; use phrase searching, field searching, and facets to refine your search and return fewer results.

[More details]
is one of our largest multidisciplinary databases. Limit your search to "drama" under "discipline" (along the left-hand side of the results).

Learn About Previous Productions

Theatre in Video: Volume I

Theatre in Video: Volume I contains hundreds of videos, including documentaries and definitive performances of the world’s most important plays. From celebrated productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett, the collection covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances deliver an authentic, behind-the-scenes look at hundreds of productions.

[More details]
contains 250+ definitive performances of the world's leading plays & 100+ film documentaries in streaming video.
Theatre in Video: Volume II

Theatre in Video: Volume II brings together classic and contemporary plays and documentaries. With a greater focus on contemporary and international productions, Theater in Video: Volume II offers a simple way for libraries to acquire highly valued and often difficult-to-find performances. Users can view the works of widely studied playwrights and theatre artists from around the globe, including many new performances from Shakespeare's Globe Theatre collection (Opus Arte), Theatre Arts Films, the BBC, and TMW Media Group.

[More details]
contains "a greater focus on contemporary and international productions."
BBC Shakespeare Plays

37 Shakespeare plays from the BBC. Videos can be embedded into Blackboard. All videos are 100% closed captioned, and closed captioned searchable, and allow for unlimited simultaneous use.

[More details]
Theatrical Lighting Database

includes actual plots, focus charts, cue sheets and much more from landmark productions. Digitized from the collections of the New York Public Library.

[More details]
Internet Broadway Database

"is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today."

[More details]
Global Performing Arts Database

is a database of digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, and more related productions, performers, and creators.

[More details]

Contact Librarian

female-presenting Caucasian looking at the camera, smiling
Tammy
Ivins
Contact for: Theatre, History, & Transfer Students
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2058
Chat requires JavaScript.

Finding Books on the Shelf

Ready to find library books on the shelf? Our books are arranged in Library of Congress call number order. Below are some helpful links and just ask a librarian for help if needed. 

Writing Help

Citation and Bibliography Help

vetted & reliable tools collected by Randall Library.

[More details]
Writing Services

at the University Learning Center, located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).

[More details]
Read&Write Gold

free to UNCW faculty, staff, and students, Read&Write Gold is "a flexible literacy software solution that can help readers and writers...access support tools needed to reach their potential, build confidence and independence and succeed."

[More details]

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: