- Find & Research
- Get Help
- Use the Library
- About
- News & Events
Performance Reviews
Subject:
Performance Reviews
![Center for Scientific Review [2] [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons](https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File%3AScientificReview.jpg){kind=link}
Performance Reviews versus Scholary Critcism
The resources on this page are meant to help you find reviews of particular productions.
In contrast, you may be asked to find reviews of the play (script) itself. Such reviews can be called "scholarly criticism," and to find them you should use the scholarly databases listed on the main theatre research guide.
Find Reviews
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
Provides content in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
[More details]includes stage reviews. Hint: limit document type to "Entertainment Review."
JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences.
[More details]includes stage reviews. Hint: limit item type to "Reviews."
ProQuest Central
This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete.
[More details]includes stage reviews. Hint: limit document type to "Review."
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Resource provides searchable archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. Contains digital reproductions of every page from every issue in downloadable PDF files.
[More details]includes articles from 1851 (for access to very recent New York Times articles, use InfoTrac Newsstand). Hint: limit document type to "Review."
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
The complete online fully-searchable edition of the TLS from the first edition in 1902 onwards. An important resource for studying and researching literary activity and critical opinion makers of the 20th and 21st centuries.
[More details]includes results from the London Times, 1902-2013 Hint: limit item type to "Reviews."
Newspaper Databases
Complete list of newspaper resources accessable through Randall Library.
[More details]is a cumulative list of Randall Library's eresources for searching newspapers, many of which will have reviews.