Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Drama Online

Drama Online is Randall Library's largest collection of digital play scripts. You can by the number of men & women characters, word count, genre and more. Most of the plays are available in full-text, otherwise you can request the play via interlibrary loan

Drama Online

A digital library of the most studied, performed, and critically acclaimed plays from the last 2,500 years. Visit Drama Online to explore play texts and read "context & criticism."

Please note that our access privileges do not include all of the play texts; if access to a particular play is not available, please request a copy via interlibrary loan.   Our privileges also do not include the audio plays or filmed productions.

[More details]

Resources to help you pick a script

Use these books, databases, and websites to pick a scriptThen, search the library catalog to see if Randall Library has a copy.  If Randall Library doesn't have the script, use interlibrary loan to request a copy. 

 

English Drama in Randall Library

Browse these subject headings to find English plays held in Randall Library.

[More details]
American Drama in Randall Library

Browse these subject headings to find American plays held in Randall Library. 

[More details]
African American Drama in Randall Library

Browse these results to find scripts by African American playrights held in Randall Library (also see American Drama).

[More details]
Play Index

Play Index enables users to search some 44,000 plays published individually or in collections from 1949 to the present. The database covers a wide range of plays written or translated into English, including one-act plays, pageants, radio and television plays, and classic drama.

[More details]
indexes 44,000 plays published from 1949 to the present (including one-act plays, pageants, radio & television plays, and classic drama).
Dramatists Play Service, Inc.

Select the number of men and women and size of total cast to begin searching

[More details]
searches by the number of men & women and size of total cast.
Doollee

Select the number of male & female parts to generate a list of plays.

[More details]
searches by the number of male & female parts to generate a list of plays.

Browse for Scripts in the Library By Call Number

Below are the Library of Congress call number ranges that likely include scripts. Go to the corresponding area of the library's general collection (2nd floor) to browse the shelves.

  • Literature (General). Drama: PN1600-3307 
    • The Monologue: PN1530 
    • The Dialogue: PN1551
    • Dramatic representation. The Theater: PN2000-3307 
      • By time period: PN2131-2193
    • Collections of General Literature. Drama: PN6110.5-6120
  • French Literature: PQ500-2726
    • Authors: PQ1411-2726
    • Drama Collections: PQ1211-1241
  • Italian Literature: PQ4133-4926
    • Drama Collections: PQ4227-4245
    • Authors: PQ4265-4926
  • Spanish Literature: PQ6098.7-6726
    • Drama Collections: PQ6217-6241
    • Authors: PQ6271-6726
  • English Literature: PR621-6126
    • Drama Collections: PR1241-1273
    • Authors: PR1490-6126
  • American Literature: PS330-3626 
    • Drama Collections: PS623-635
    • Authors: PS700-3626
  • German Literature: PT605-2728 
    • Drama Collections: PT1251-1299
    • Authors: PT1501-2728
  • Greek Literature: PA3050-4505 
    • Authors: PA3818-4505
      • Sophocles: PA4413-4434

Thanks to Williams College & Wake Forest University.

Searching Beyond Randall Library

is a guide to searching beyond Randall Library for hard-to-find items.

[More details]

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Contact Librarian

Tammy
Ivins
Online & Distance Education Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2053

Finding Books on the Shelf

Ready to find library books on the shelf? Our books are arranged in Library of Congress call number order. Below are some helpful links and just ask a librarian for help if needed. 

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED