Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Course number: 
SEC 406/506
Instructor: 
Kubasko

Journal Title

Connected Science Learning

Connected Science Learning is a journal that highlights STEM education experiences that bridge the gap between in-school and out-of-school settings. The online journal features articles about highly effective programs and shares research that connects preK–12 STEM learning in schools and out-of-school settings, specifically highlighting effective mechanisms for collaboration and co-creation. Connected Science Learning is a valuable resource for the broad range of STEM education leaders who want to develop new or enhance existing “connected” STEM education programs.

[More details]

Need Help?

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

Starting Points

Credo Reference

Credo Reference is an online full-text library that covers all major subjects such as art, business geography, history, literature, music, psychology, social Sciences, and technology. It includes general reference resources such as dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to zoology. It offers easy keyword searching across the database of resources so you don’t need to know the title of a specific reference book to get started.

[More details]
Science in Context

Science in Context merges authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites. The collection includes millions of full-text articles from national and global publications as well as 200+ experiments and projects.

[More details]

Newspapers

Chicago Tribune (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Digital archive for the Chicago Tribune‎ from 1849 - 1994. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

[More details]
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Digital archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. An excellent database for history, including full-text and full-image articles. For most dates, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files. For access to recent issues, go to the New York Times online or search US Newsstream.

[More details]
Times (London) Digital Archive

The Times Digital Archive, 1785–2006 makes 221 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-, and early 21st-century history, literature, culture, business, art, art history, architecture, and more. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable — every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.

[More details]
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Digital archive for the Wall Street Journal from 1889 - 2000. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

[More details]
Washington Post (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Digital archive for the Washington Post from 1877 - 2001. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

[More details]

Melissa Raymer

Melissa
Raymer
Education and Art Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2054

Streaming Video

Films on Demand

This collection provides over 23,000 high quality streaming videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. The videos include BBC documentaries, Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries plus interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.

[More details]
PBS Video Collection

You can now view nearly 250 quality PBS programs covering a wide variety of topics. These videos are viewable from any computer running Flash Player version 9 or higher with a relatively good Internet connection (at least 175 Kbps). A great database for music studies. Unfortunately, it will not be possible to view the videos over a dial-up Internet line.

[More details]
Filmakers Library Online

An essential film studies database, Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.

[More details]
Kanopy Streaming

Access to The Media Studies & Communication Collection produced by The Media Education Foundation: This collection is tailored to address issues of media ownership and its effect on content, representation, advertising, journalism, and other issues central to media studies.

[More details]