Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Semester and Year: 
Fall 2017
Course number: 
HST 496/586
Instructor: 
Crowe, Nathan

Special Collections

Randall Library's Special Collections contains some early editions of Darwin's books, as well rare books on evolution, eugenics, and other Darwinian Revolution issues. To use Special Collections materials, search the catalog here: http://library.uncw.edu/archives_special/find and then contact Special Collections staff to make an appointment.

Primary Sources Online - Darwin

Darwin Online

Darwin Online "contains over 212,000 pages of searchable text and 220,000 electronic images, [including] at least one exemplar of all known Darwin publications both as searchable text and electronic images of the originals...This website also provides the largest collection of Darwin's private papers and manuscripts ever published: c. 20,000 items across c. 100,000 images." Much of this material comes from the Cambridge University Library.

[More details]
Darwin Correspondence Project

The Darwin Correspondence Project researches and publishes complete transcripts of letters written by and to Charles Darwin. The project is based at the University of Cambridge.

[More details]
Charles Darwin's Library

Charles Darwin’s Library is "a digital edition and virtual reconstruction of the surviving books owned by Charles Darwin," at the Biodiversity Heritage Library. The especially interesting thing about this resource is that they also include the annotations and notes that Darwin made in the books.

[More details]

Primary Sources Online - Historical Scientific Publications

JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
GeoRef

The geology of North America is covered from 1669 to the present, and global coverage dates back to 1933. Over 3,500 journals are reviewed for indexing in the GeoRef database as well as books, maps, government reports, conference papers, theses and dissertations.

[More details]
Zoological Record

Zoological Record is the world's oldest continuing database of animal biology. It is considered the world's leading taxonomic reference, and with coverage back to 1868, has long acted as the world's unofficial register of animal names. It is part of Web of Science.

[More details]
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)

Primary source collections of the “long” nineteenth century. Content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.

[More details]
Try navigating to the Science, Technology, and Medicine collection, and then scrolling down to the bottom to get to the Evolution and the Origin of Species sub-collection.

Primary Sources Online - The Victorian Context

British Library Newspapers

A comprehensive range of regional and local newspapers in Britain between the mid-eighteenth and mid-twentieth centuries, providing a range of publications to reflect the social, political and cultural events of the times. The British Library Newspapers' collections feature London national newspapers, English regional papers, home country newspapers from Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales, and titles in specialist areas such as Victorian radicalism and Chartism

[More details]
Making Of The Modern World

The Making of the Modern World provides digital facsimile images of primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text searching across millions of pages of works from the periods 1450-1850, 1851-1914, and 1890-1945 provides researchers access to material for research in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more. Includes books, serials, pamphlets, essays and more.

[More details]
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)

Primary source collections of the “long” nineteenth century. Content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.

[More details]
Victorian Popular Culture

An essential resource for the study of popular art, art history, and entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Consists of four components: Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment; and Moving pictures, optical entertainments & the advent of cinema. Includes full-text, full-color reproductions of books, ephemera, handbills, pamphlets, photos, posters, programs, scripts, and other types of materials.

[More details]
Victorian Web

"[O]ne of the oldest academic and scholarly websites," Victorian Web is an index of primary resources related to the Victorian-era Great Britain."

[More details]
Times (London) Digital Archive

The Times Digital Archive, 1785–2006 makes 221 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-, and early 21st-century history, literature, culture, business, art, art history, architecture, and more. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable — every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.

[More details]
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Digital archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. An excellent database for history, including full-text and full-image articles. For most dates, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files. For access to recent issues, go to the New York Times online or search US Newsstream.

[More details]

Primary Sources Online - The Aftermath/Public Opinion

Along with the below, if you are interested in the public response to Darwin or the theory of evolution, you might want to search newspapers and magazines for terms such as "Darwin" or "evolution" from the era that you are interested in. To check to see if Randall Library has a particular magazine or newspaper, go to the UNCW Library Catalog (http://libcat.uncw.edu/), change the drop-down to "Journal Title," and type in the publication title (e.g. New York Times, Newsweek, Time). 

Chronicling America - Darwin's Theory of Evolution

Page from the Library of Congress's Chronicling America project focusing on the coverage of Darwinism and the theory of evolution in America's newspapers. It contains suggestions on how to find additional articles, as well. 

[More details]
The Evolution Controversy in North Carolina in the 1920s

This website "presents a selection of primary source materials documenting the statewide debate over the teaching of evolution in public schools in the 1920s." It comes from Wilson Library at UNC Chapel Hill.

[More details]
Internet History of Science Sourcebook

See, especially, the section under "New Science: Darwin, Freud, Einstein" entitled "Biology: Red in Tooth and Claw" for reactions to Darwin and the theory of evolution.

[More details]
iPOLL

The largest collection of poll data anywhere—1935 to present, all US polling firms, broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. International and US datasets available for immediate download.

[More details]

History Librarian

Stephanie
Crowe
Coordinator of Liaison Librarian Services
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2072

Twitter: @shcrowe

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED