- Find & Research
- Get Help
- Use the Library
- About
- News & Events
United States History to 1865
United States History to 1865
Subject:
Course number:
HST 105
Get Started
Credo Reference - US History
is a collection of reference articles related to US History.
[More details]
Colonial America : an encyclopedia of social, political, cultural, and economic historyReference E162 .C68 2006
Volume 5 contains a selection of primary source documents.
Early Republic and Antebellum AmericaReference E301 .E146 2010
Encyclopedia of North American Colonial Conflicts to 1775
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War : a political, social, and military historyReference E468 .H47 2000
Volume 5 contains a selection of primary source documents.
Encyclopedia of the American Revolutionary Warebook
Volume 5 contains a selection of primary source documents.
Encyclopedia of the New American NationReference E301 .E53 2006
Encyclopedia of U.S. Political HistorySearch the Library Catalog
United States History Subject Headings
Browse these subect headings and sub-headings. Click on the headings to find library holdings such as books, government documents, movies, and more. You'll also want to do a keyword search to find appropriate headings for your specific topic.
[More details]Statistics
Historical Statistics of the United States
This five-volume reference work reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.
[More details]This resource allows you to create tables of data to track changes over time or in various locations.
Recommended Article Databases
These databases also contain other secondary sources such as theses, conference proceedings, book chapters, and more.
America: History & Life
Provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.
[More details]Covers the United States & Canada. Note: Allows 6 users at a time. Please try again later if you are not able to access this resource.
JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences.
[More details]Full-text access to an archive of over 165 history and 58 law journals. Typically excludes the latest 3-5 years of publication.
Google Scholar
Search engine for scholarly literature such as articles, papers, theses, books, and reports.
[More details]is a specialized Google search that broadly searches for scholarly literature, including articles, papers, theses, books, and reports. It also provides information on how often the publication is cited by other publications. Use while you are on-campus for access to Randall Library's full-text resources.
ProQuest Central
This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete.
[More details]A multidisciplinary database that contains scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete.
Coverage Dates: 1905 - Present
Project MUSE
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
[More details]Has the current issues of many titles in JSTOR.
Primary Sources
- Search the Randall Library catalog (and other libraries) for history makers' names as authors. This should retrieve their memoirs, diaries and correspondence.
- As you search subject topics in the catalog, note that the following subdivisions indicate primary source (* indicates it can be used with individuals' names,classes of persons [e.g., soldiers], and organizations) :
- Archives *
- Caricatures and cartoons
- Correspondence *
- Diaries *
- Early works to 1800
- Facsimilies
- Interviews
- Newspapers [e.g., African Americans -- Newspapers]
- Notebooks, sketchbooks, etc.
- Pamphlets
- Personal narratives (used in relation to specific events only)
- Photographs
- Pictorial works
- Songs and music
- Sources
- Speeches, addresses, etc.*
- Treaties
- More suggestions can be found on the "Primary Sources" guide.
War of the Rebellion : A Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies
War of the Rebellion : A Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies
[More details]
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates
Full-text documents from U.S. Congress debates and legislative proceedings. Documents from 1774-1875.
[More details]
Documenting the American South
Resource providing documents, images, and audio files related to the history, literature, and culture of the American South.
[More details]A digital collection at UNC-Chapel Hill. Contains images, oral histories, etc.
American Memory Project
Images, videos, and presentations compiled by the U.S. Library of Congress related to American history.
[More details]A digital collection of images and text by the Library of Congress.
ARTstor Digital Library
The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 2.5+ million digital images in the arts, art history, architecture, anthropology, history, humanities, foreign languages and literatures, religion, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
[More details]
Milestone documents of American leadersReference E173 .M623 2009
Milestone documents in African American historyReference E184.6 .M55 2010
Milestone documents in American history
The state records of North Carolina Reference F251 .N6
Primary Sources - Newspapers
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Resource provides searchable archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. Contains digital reproductions of every page from every issue in downloadable PDF files.
[More details]Covers 1851-3 years ago.
HarpWeek
The Civil War Era and Reconstruction I and II full text of Harper's Weekly, 1857-1877.
[More details]Full text of Harper's Weekly. Coverage Dates: 1857 - 1877.
Times (London) Digital Archive
The Times Digital Archive, 1785–2006 makes 221 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-, and early 21st-century history, literature, culture, business, art, art history, architecture, and more. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable — every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.
[More details]Provides access to the Times (London).
Pennsylvania Gazette
Published in Philadelphia The Pennsylvania Gazette is considered The New York Times of the 18th century. It provides the reader with a first hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods.
[More details]Full text of the Pennsylvania Gazette. Coverage Dates: 1728 - 1800.
Brooklyn Daily Eagle, 1841-1902
Archival documents from Brooklyn, NY newspaper. Clippings date from 1841-1963 with most collected during the early 20th century.
[More details]Government Resources
HeinOnline
Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S.
[More details]HeinOnline is the best source for legal and government documents. It includes digital versions of the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, a library of U.S. Congressional documents, U.S. Federal legislative history and much more.
Searching Beyond Randall Library
is a guide to searching beyond Randall Library for hard-to-find items.
[More details]History Librarian
Kiana Webster
Kiana
Webster
Social Sciences & History Librarian
Email:
Phone Number:
Office:
RL2055
Meet with Me:
Need Help?
Finding Books on the Shelf
Ready to find library books on the shelf? Our books are arranged in Library of Congress call number order. Below are some helpful links and just ask a librarian for help if needed.
Library of Congress Classification (LC)
Randall Library help page for Library of Congress catalog classifications.
[More details]Writing Help
Writing Services
The Writing Center in the University Learning Center is located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).
[More details]
Read&Write
Free to UNCW faculty, staff, and students, Read&Write is "a flexible literacy software solution that can help readers and writers...access support tools needed to reach their potential, build confidence and independence and succeed."
[More details]